We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24th July 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV to your Saves list
Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 avenue Denfert Rochereau, 42000 Saint-Etienne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“24th July 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Easy to find, difficult entrance to car park, which is gated. Difficult access to lift to get up to Reception. Room clean, but no air handling. Window opens onto terrace with no stay on the window to prevent access from outside. Breakfast good. Good value for the money, but with no fresh air or air handling, it made for a restless and hot night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    62
    53
    27
    4
See reviews for
10
45
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is spartan but clean. It is directly across the street from the train station and is easy to find. Breakfast was ok but hardly worth the fee. I asked for an iron and I received an iron....without an ironing board. Was a little tricky using the small desk to iron my dress shirt.
All in all - the price was fair and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
234 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Very few hotels in the center of St. Entienne, so there is not much to choose from. However, I would certainly pick elsewhere than this IBIS. Have stayed at IBIS hotels for 25+ years all over France & other parts of Europe, & am disappointed to see a continued decline in consistency. It seems that the only thing consistent about IBIS, "is" their inconsistency. You never, ever know what to expect until you walk through the front door.It is too much to ask for at least 1 hand towel in a double room that costs $90+ US? Perhaps a trash can in the room, rather than just 1 in the bathroom? Perhaps that the walls be painted at least once every decade? Maybe a bright lightbulb in the bathroom fixture? Pathetic. The hotel is located directly across the street from the train station, which is not in the best part of the central city. It is a good 15-20 minute walk to the historic district where all the shopping/restaurants/bars/etc are located. And I would not want to make the walk between that part of town & this hotel late at night. As mentioned in my review of IBIS Roanne (formerly Terminus Hotel), IBIS is no longer a valid budget option, at prices ranging from $90US +++++, & many of the hotels are well below quality standards. This property still had nice clean linens & the staff were helpful & professional. Otherwise, it would just be another old dumpy run-down hotel. And "always keep in mind" that a LARGE percentage of IBIS properties, including this one, ARE NOT air conditioned. So if you don't want to sleep in a hot room, this is not your selection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel is located in front of the train station and at walking distance to business area, perfect for business traveler.
Very friendly staff.
Room has a good size, wifi connection worked fine.
Breakfast was OK for the price, but please add some more selection to the hot plates.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I came on business trip from the UK and needed to be meeting a company 5 minutes away from the IBIS hotel. I stayed here without much choice and was concerned about my impending stay after seeing many negative reviews on TA and can confirm that they are correct.

I will write the good and the bad.

The bed room is very small, so is the bathroom. Bathroom has no bath but a good shower. Bedroom and bathroom both were very clean. Wall décor is old fashioned. No electric points at all other than one for the TV so you must unplug your TV if you wish to charge up your mobile.

Check-in lady was very helpful. Location is excellent, can’t be more central. The hotel is directly opposite the entrance the St Etienne train station.

I was given Room 404 which stank of smoke. I asked to be changed and the lady immediately offered Room 303 which is a non-smoking room.

The heater was not working, basically just missing one of the two switches. The lady on reception came to my room with a pair of scissors and pushed up the knob. Heating was then full blast and I woke up the next morning feeling dehydrated.

In short, it is ok for a one night stay but not much more. Definitely not for holidaymakers.

I would describe this hotel as a no frills hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My husband and I checked into this hotel for a 3 night stay. The room was so awful that we immediately checked out of the hotel. The room had a terrible smell and was beyond basic even though it had been advertised as a room that you could relax in. We paid the room rate of 75 euro for the first night although we did not stay there. We then checked into a lovely hotel nearby that was charging the same room rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here for one night on a visit to a St Etienne football match. It's very handy as it is just across from the railway station, and an easy walk to the town centre (and a little farther to some of the interesting museums in St Etienne, and to the football stadium). The hotel itself is a bit disappointing. It feels a little faded. As to the room, this had not been cleaned fully - there was a half eaten packet of biscuits on the table. The bathroom was not of a great standard either. Breakfast was OK. If you're not too fussy and just need somewhere convenient, it's fine. But definitely lower than average for ibis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV

Address: 35 avenue Denfert Rochereau, 42000 Saint-Etienne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Etienne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV hotel is in the downtown area, facing the railway station. Its ideal location enables you to take full advantage of the economic (Convention Centre), cultural (Mining Museum) and tourist (Pilat Nature Park) facilities of Saint Etienne and its region. The hotel offers for booking 88 rooms with Wifi connection including 3 adapted for disabled guests. A restaurant (Taverne de Maître Kanter), a bar, snacks 24/24 and covered parking are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis St Étienne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis St Etienne Gare TGV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.