We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel to your Saves list
Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   15 Rue Gambetta, 42000 Saint-Etienne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location for the centre of St Etienne. A well-equipped, stylish apartment/hotel room. Very good value for money. Didn't have the breakfast as we had such a well equipped kitchen which was a real bonus. Great to have a separate room for our son. Would go back and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - not on the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
17
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nicely converted apartments made this a pleasant stay. Large rooms, mini-kitchens, all well-appointed and super clean. Modern. The hotel is centrally located - supermarket is a block away, lots of shopping all around. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Nice, helpful English-speaking staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here one night in May 2013, and hands down, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

We got a large studio with a kitchenette including a microwave, a large fridge and all you need of cutlery, glasses, plates and cooking devices. The room had a stereo, a pretty big flatscreen TV, ironing devices... The bed was comfortable and the window faced a quiet backyard. Everything was super modern, chic and new. Unfortunately the floor was very dusty and dirty, but since everything else was spotlessly clean I think they might just have forgotten the floor. The bathroom was on the small side, mostly because the bathtub takes up a lot of the space. But it was as modern and inviting as the rest of the room (and hotel in general).There is free WiFi in the room as well, and the air-conditioning worked perfectly. This could truly work as a home away from home.

They have a pretty good information leaflet in the room; but here are some of my tips as well. There is secure parking available in the next street for EUR 5,8 per day, there is a large SPAR grocery store in the same street and you have never stayed closer to H&M :) And to save you some time: you pay for the parking on the second floor of the building, and you need to walk out on the street to get there.
You can eat a small breakfast in the hotel for EUR 10,5 per person, but in my opinion it was both overpriced and unnecessary when you can so easily eat in your room. The receptionists were all friendly and spoke good English.

We could not have been happier with this hotel, and if you are visiting (or just passing through like us) St.Etienne, this is the only choice for you. It is truly superb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to a friend without question when staying in this city. Its nice, modern, clean and the rooms are well sized. I wouldn't spring for the breakfast that is pretty small and not appetizing but otherwise this is the hotel to stay in if you want to be located in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to get non-smoking as this did not translate when I booked it online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed at the Adagio Aparthotel for 6 nights. I found the apartment extremely well-designed with a well-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher) - almost every utensil you could possibly need. It was spotlessly clean and the fridge and microwave could have been brand new. There is a laundry room too, though I didn't use it. The bathroom was lovely, and WARM - a heated towel rail you can switch on if you want. There was free WiFi in the room (though twice it was unavailable for maybe three or four hours). Plenty of sockets (you can borrow an adaptor from reception if you don't have your own) - use one in the kitchen if you want to recharge something while you are out, as the sockets in the kitchen are still active when you remove the room key from the power activator (or whatever it is called that you have to put your key card into!). They were helpful on reception and the location was right in the centre of the city, with a good supermarket about 2 mins walk away. The tram to the station stopped a few steps from the hotel. We ate at a fantastic restaurant - L'Escargot D'or - which was a minute or so from the hotel.

The downsides were: it was pretty noisy, and as the tram stop was so near, the loud clanging noise (I think request to stop) came frequently. I probably had one of the noisiest apartments in the hotel - first floor and facing the main street! Also, a couple of times there was some loud, rowdy behaviour in the early hours. The fridge had no freezer, so if G & T is your favourite tipple, you might be disappointed. (no ice making machine in the hallway, either) I stayed 6 days and paid for half a day extra so I could leave at about 4 in the afternoon (which I thought fair enough) but there was no cleaning or servicing of the room at all in this, more or less, week-long stay. This included emptying the rubbish (they have recycling bins, in a waste disposal room, which is good) and requesting extra supplies, such as bin liners. It was explained at reception that for stays up to 3 days, they do service the rooms, but up to 6 days, they don't because it is a cheaper rate. As I booked through Booking.com, I thought the rate I paid was a daily one - i.e. the same rate per day no matter how many days. I just did a random check and on Booking .com it did seem that for 6 nights, it worked out at about 2 and a half euros per day cheaper than one night (though this might be different according to time of year). For many, this would not be enough of a saving to offset having no cleaning or servicing of the room. I now see that you can opt for room servicing, but at an extra charge. Reception did not tell me this and I have no idea how much they would charge.

The other major complaint was that the only English channel was CCTV - a Chinese news channel broadcasting in English (yes, that does make a lot of sense for a hotel in France!). 90% of the news and news items were connected with China - at the time I stayed, it was mainly about Chinese New Year. I would strongly recommend bringing a few English DVD's, or a few books, if you can't speak French and are staying more than a night or two - there is a DVD player supplied.

Two minor points - a rug on the living room floor would have made the flat seem more homely. Get rid of that awful Changing Rooms style collage on the living room wall!

I particularly want to commend Anne on reception. What a wonderful woman - she went out of her way to get my boarding pass printed and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spend one night in this hotel in standard room. Room was clean and spacious. Heating was working. Bed was average level. Location is very good and a lot of restaurants close by. If you take room for longer period and don't like to here tram voices late in evening and early in th emorning please make sure you do not get room from main street side. Breakfast typical France not any extra.

Room Tip: If room is from main street side tram voices are clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised. At the price this is outstanding. We had a suite with bedroom sitting area and kitchen area with equipped kitchen, utensils etc. As it happened we were only staying one night on our way south, so we ate out, but one could be very comfortable indeed here for several days. Ecellent supermarket within a hundred yards or so and plenty of bars, restaurants and nightlife. We had dinner nearby at the Escargot d'Or, also very good but not cheap! Only thing that might concern some travellers is parking. The hotel is on a main street with a tramway and no parking places. We parked across the road long enought to unload bags into the hotel then I took the car to the nearby multistorey, open 24 hours - not a good idea to leave visible valuables there.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look into the inner courtyard so not vulnerable to traffic noise. We had a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel

Address: 15 Rue Gambetta, 42000 Saint-Etienne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Etienne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Etienne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Saint Etienne Centre Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.