We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely Savoie village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grange d'Arly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Megeve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grange d'Arly
10, rue des Allobroges | BP 68, 74120 Megeve, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 hotels in Megeve
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely Savoie village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our stay at the Grange D'Arly in early February was really nice. This hotel has a wonderful French Savoie feel and this is enhanced by the owners' gracious friendliness and help with everything. The rooms and bathrooms are very lovely, comfortable and fastidiously kept every day by the really great staff. Everybody speaks English and goes out of their way to help. The owner, M. Allard gave excellent advice about where to ski, get the most economical petrol, where to rent skis, etc. We also enjoyed the dining room very much where Mme. Allard ran things like clockwork. The food was very good and everybody in our group enjoyed our evenings dining in the hotel. The commons area in front of the fireplace and the bar were especially pleasant and welcoming. We also liked the location of the hotel as it was very easy to walk across the street and quickly be in the center of the village with a short walk to the telecabine or it is very convenient if you have a car as we did, to quickly get to the roads leading out of the town for our touring excursions. We have stayed at other hotels in Megeve on previous visits, but now this hotel is our favorite choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

we have just returned from our second visit to this lovely hotel in Megeve almost exactly a year after we visited for the first time.
we have had the most lovely time again and can't speak too highly of this cosy hotel with its friendly atmoshpere and extremely comfortable surroundings. Everything runs efficiently and smoothly and the attention to detail is excellent. This year we were determined to try some of the restaurants in the town for dinner but quite frankly there is little point. The quality of the food is really high and varied - fresh produce every day and cooked to an extemely good standard.
We have been to many places in the Alps over 25 years on skiing holidays, and this for us is as good as any of the hotels we have been to and Madame Allards own individual style just provides the final "icing on the cake".

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel is run by the owners Jean and Christine Allard. They are involved in every aspect of management and oversee every detail. Each room is unique but all are comfortable, attractive and clean. Most rooms have balconies which open to views of the surrounding mountains. The downstairs spaces are attractively decorated and invite groups to gather at the small bar or around the fireplace. The hotel's central location gives guests easy access to the center of Megeve, to the ski buses and to the Saturday market. Food in the hotel dining room is delicious, carried and artistically presented. While there are many excellent restaurants in Megeve, you will enjoy dining right at the hotel. Our hosts were charming and attentive. We truly felt like guests in their home.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I brought a group of 17 demanding American skiers for a week's stay - having been referred to La Grange by three friends who stay there every year. The best surprise was the excellent food - I had opted for a single menu every dinner to keep the cost down, but owner Christine Allard gave us multiple choices every night - all of which were terrific. Co-owner Jean Allard offered us free drinks our first and last nights! The common areas were cozy and inviting and offered choices for an intimate chat or a larger crowd - with a roaring log fire every evening, and the sun pouring in by day. The only improvement I would add would be to include moisturizer and shampoo in the bathrooms.
One in the group lost her passport, and the owners helped with calls to police, airport, airline, US Embassy etc. without any hesitation at all.
Not everyone skied every day, and with the free town buses close by, and being able to walk to the center of the old town, it was a great place to stay for them also. The Saturday market was a five minute walk - what a spectacle that was!
La Grange d'Arly has mostly repeat business - and I can understand that completely; we are going to make it our Ski Club's annual international destination.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed for three nights in August. We had a very nice room on the second floor with a balcony looking out the back. The room was very comfortable and a reasonable with a corner wrap around balcony. We had a half-board arrangement and the food was quite good. One note is the servings are very generous so it is worth exploring if you really want the full half-board or one of the scaled back options. We scaled back after the second night because we just couldn't eat anymore. The owners are very friendly but the wife is a bit over the top with her antiques. We were there at the end of the summer season so that may be why they seemed a bit short staffed. Anyway, she has a tendancy to focus more on her "show" than making sure clients a served in a timely basis. That really was our only complaint and were we to return to Megeve we still would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is an exceptional hotel. The facility is first-rate, with hotel rooms and public areas clearly maintained at the highest level. The staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are cosy and comfortable. The value for money is very high with many small extras thrown in. For example, you are offered a newspaper at breakfast along with freshly squeezed orange juice. The bar/lounge area in front of the fire is very comfortable with space for a lot of people to be in their own groups. It is a great place to have dinner becuase it is convenient and the food is good and the service excellent. But most of all can't beat the comfort of going downstairs after a day of skiing and eating in and enjoying a coffee in the lounge area. THe food is excellent. I tried both 33 and 18 euro menus. The 33 euro menu is not really worth the cost. The 18 euro menu is a bargain. Even though the food on the cheaper menu has less expensive raw ingredients, it is beautifully prepared. For example, Past pesto is a nice dish with correctly cooked past, pesto, sun-dried tomatoes, pinenuts, and bacon. All high quality ingredients and delicious. THe wine menu is small but good value. As another reviewer mentioned the French coffeee is delicious! Also, they have a dessert that is home-made icecream, some local liqueur, and cream on top served as a frozen souflee. Abosolutley delicious. Not only would I recommend this hotel, I will make my next ski trip to Megreve in order to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed in many ski hotels in French Alps and this is one of the best. Very comfortable, stylishly decorated and roomy. Very friendly owners and helpful team made it a delight. Short walk to centre of town and access to main ski lift. Good breakfast and dined in one night; chocolate fondant was memorable! Excellent value, would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Grange d'Arly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange d'Arly

Address: 10, rue des Allobroges | BP 68, 74120 Megeve, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Megeve
#8 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Also Known As:
La Grange d`Arly Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grange d'Arly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Grange d'Arly to your Saves list