We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet St Georges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chalet St Georges to your Saves list
Chalet St Georges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159, Rue Monseigneur Conseil, 74120 Megeve, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Megeve
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My partner booked this hotel without reading the Tripadvisor reviews and and once I did I nearly cancelled. I am glad I did not. Previous negative reviews are entirely misleading. The chalet is in a perfect location near to the main promenade. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and front desk staff spoke fine English. The size of the room was absolutely normal by European standards, and the private balcony was a treat with good mountain views. The decor is perhaps not to everyone's style, but certainly in keeping with the traditional Swiss style chalets of the region. I would definitely come back in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the Chalet St Georges for a week with our young son (aged 5) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel is located in the centre of Megeve close to all the resort amenities including ski lift and shops. The rooms are traditional and very comfortable. We had a suite which was ideal for us travelling with a young child. It was beautifully decorated with a open fire and our room overlooked the village.

The hotel has 2 restaurants, one which focuses on fish and seafood and the other which offers more local Savoyade style food. In both cases the food was delicious and catered for young children as well.

The owners and staff were friendly and hospitable and made our stay most memorable.

Room Tip: Pay up for a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This hotel boasts over its 4 stars. I guess the inspectors' pen slipped when they wanted to check "2"...
Stayed there for a WE two weeks ago. Decoration in the lobby and public areas can be discussed but it is kind of homey and comfortable (assuming you like this faux quaint French Style). In opposite, rooms do not meet any standard that could have been expected. The two I had booked were cupboard size, although priced both EUR 300 per night (not including breakfast). They are cheaply decorated, with what looks like second hand basic furniture. At last, one of them had a tiny balcony to get some fresh air...The other one lacked this nicety and was street level, directly on the sidewalk. Very pleasant....
Breakfast is served in a gloomy overheated basement room, which is totally depressing considering you might expect to enjoy some scenery.
Finally, I had kept one of the two rooms (and, of course paid for that, even if the hotel was clearly not fully booked when we left) to fit our late evening departure. Needless to say they left us with the worst (if this is applicable) of the two AND did not even bother to send over housekeeping, which is totally unacceptable. So you pay full rate to be able to take a shower before leaving and you do not even have a clean towel. Of course, I was fuming and they brought some but we still had unmade beds, etc...

Conclusion: lowest value for money I have had in a long time, totally overpriced. However, the staff, on average, is nice. Partly makes up for management....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletSaintGeorges, Directeur général at Chalet St Georges, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Sir,
I remember your stay and I do apologize for the mistake regarding your late check-out.
The chambermaid should have clean your room and bathroom before your late departure, and I can only notice the lack of instruction between the reception and the housekeeper about that. Late check-out is very unusual for us, so please be assured this will help us to improve the quality of our service.
Regarding our furniture, the owners have decorated the rooms, the lounges, the restaurants in accordance with the local-style, which is characteristic and, of course, which cannot suit to everyone. Sorry it doesn't please you.
Best regards.
L. GALLI,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The rooms, food, location and service in this hotel are all either very good or excellent.

I think maybe some other hotel owners in the area have been adding malicious reviews as some of those below are a travesty.

The place is great, maybe not great value, but on the 5 times I stayed I wasn't paying the bill so that didn't bother me.

I've stayed in a variety of rooms, some great others fantastic. Both restaurants are superb, though bar service in the lounge / reception area leaves a little to be desired, and being a French speaker certainly helps, as it does in the majority of Megeve (It's not Val Thorens / aka Blackpool on the slopes).

We were looked after in the resort by Stanford skiing, who provided all the assistance and guiding we needed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed there the week-end of 8-9 April 2006 because most other hotels were closed (end of the winter season).

The only good thing about chalet St Georges is the location: near the center of the village and the ski lifts.

Otherwise, what a disaster. The style is faux chalet with horrible paintings. The rooms are ridiculously small and, as already pointed out by a previous reviewer, smelly. The staff is overall friendly with the exception of the manager whom we found to be rude beyond belief (not expected in a supposedly 4 stars hotel at 300+ euros a night).

There are so many other lovely hotels in Megève (all the ones ranked higher on Tripadvisor) so I would strongly suggest you avoid Chalet St Georges unless you do not have the choice.

One last thing: this hotel is outrageously expensive for the quality of the rooms and service. For the same price you can stay at the Fer à Cheval or at the Grange d'Arly for even less - don't hesitate a second!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

I cannot believe some of these reviews. It's as though we are talking about different hotels. We have been staying at Chalet St Georges every year, for several years, in a variety of different rooms. We love the hotel, the rooms are excellent; all rooms are different, some larger than others. There is a large suite on the top floor, which easily accomodates two adults and three children. We have always found the staff very friendly; the reception as well as the restaurant staff. The location cannot be beat; just minutes from the ski lift, in the center of town. There are two restaurants, both very good.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

What's all the fuss about, take a chill pill!
We've stayed in this hotel 3 times and each time it has been a great experience.
This hotel is relaxed, helpful staff, comfotable Alpine theme rooms and great food in the both restaurants.

The hotel is in a great location, about 100m from the ski lifts.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet St Georges

Address: 159, Rue Monseigneur Conseil, 74120 Megeve, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet St Georges 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet St Georges Hotel
Chalet St Georges Megève

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet St Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.