We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great busy restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vieux-Megeve

Le Vieux-Megeve
58, place de la Resistance, 74120 Megeve, France
+33 (0)4 50 21 16 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 94 Restaurants in Megeve
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is clearly a well liked restaurant as it's always busy. The food is excellent and there is an extensive menu. The waiters spoke good English and there was a great atmosphere. The price was reasonable for Megeve. I would book if going at the weekend as it is very popular.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    34
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I just love this place. It had an amazing mountain like feel to this restaurant, and visited on Boxing Day. The staff were great, the food and wine was amazing, and the charm of this place really made for a fantastic meal. Will definately be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice place for local specialties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there to have a good raclette! and it was perfect : perfect cheese, huge plate of local charcuteries, perfect service; always impressed by the huge number of dining persons! many people were not accepted cause no reservation, too much success!!! you can go there absolutely, especially if you wish to have local specialities : raclette, fondue savoyarde, fondue of meet, tartiflette, brasero....don't hesitate and think about booking before going! price is correct, we are in Megève, thus a little higher than in other mountains places.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3rd time I have been here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Megeve and you want something different I would recommend you go.
Hot stones and fondue's - you choose.
Brilliant service and great atmosphere..

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good raclette and fondue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

When I first came to Megeve, I was looking for a traditonal restaurant from the savoy region. It turned out to be the best I found for racklett and fondue! Friendly owner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vieux-Megeve also viewed

 
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
Megeve, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Vieux-Megeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vieux-Megeve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.