We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not worth the price!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Les Fermes de Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Les Fermes de Marie to your Saves list
Les Fermes de Marie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de Riante Colline, 74120 Megeve, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Megeve
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel not worth the price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hotel not worth the price.

We were in "Les ferme du Marie" in February 2012
But we not returned agen, and here's why:

1. The hotel is very far from the ski lift. There is a shuttle, but most times I wait for 15 minutes. The last time 20 minutes came and had to take a carriage with horses.

2. The room is below our expectations and is one that has the pictures. The floor is stone cold and noisy. We could hear everything from upstairs.
The doors were crooked and not closed.
In the middle of the room has 2 stears, one of which only half built and stumble all the time.
The room was very dark, and no garderobs lighting.
The bathroom has no shower, only bathtub. And without the possibility of suspension of the soul in a high inclination.
Moreover, no cover for the bathtub and had to bathe sitting or kneeling.

3. The water in the bath is too hot to burn our child. Best hotels in hot water is limited to 65 degrees.

4. Service in the restaurant and bar is very bad. On several occasions, do not carry what you ordered, and by making the remark behave unkind.
The paradox is that gave me a free drink, but then again it was put in the bill! A check last night waiting for more than 20 minutes.

5. Cleanliness in the restaurant is not good, I found a dirty dish for breakfast. A chair is to decomposition in urgent need of a carpenter.

6. The resort is MEGEVE with Old Glory. Ski facilities are old, there are many lines of lifts. By "Zone 2000" walk only with a single lift, which is waiting over 20 minutes.
Moreover, there are many stairs to climb on foot, loaded with ski equipment.
The tracks are not handled well.

7. Service in restaurants on the slopes is very poor.
Delivery of the first meal not wait less then 45 minutes.

It has good points: good reception and concierge, beautifully made from old wood.

But not worth the price you paid for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Google Translation
Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    61
    25
    20
    9
See reviews for
105
190
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

A great place to stay for those of you who want a blend of luxury, tradition, unique designs and fantastic food. I do not find the words to describe this place other than absolutely perfect. The owners have got extremely good taste and it shows anywhere. It is so romantic and truly one of a kind. Megeve is one of the nicest places in the alps, although the skiiing itself is average. You are, however, very close to Mont Blance and hence to other skiing areas where anyone, regardless of skiing experience, should be very pleased! An hour from Geneve airport is also very convenient!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Google Translation
Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

So... we just spent a family vacation at Les Fermes...like many of you, we hesitated with a couple of other options because “Les Fermes” are away from the center…well good news: It is not an issue!

Each time we showed at the Lobby, a driver would walk our way and offer to take us downtown to the slopes. We had rented a car but only used it once. YOU DON’T NEED A CAR! The shuttles will take you to almost any restaurant in town (and bring you back on call)!
If you like walking a bit, there is a short cut that leads to downtown… we took it once (even though it was like -20C outside), and it took us 6 or 7 minutes to get to downtown by foot…

But first things first:

When we arrived at the Hotel, we first met Ben, the Head concierge that has been around for over 20 years. He handed out our ski passes, and recommended that we rented our skis at a store perfectly located 10 meters away from the slopes. You leave ski and boots there when you're finished skiing everyday, so it is very practical. No hassle of carrying skis & boots around!

Ben took care of everything, he got the ski passes, booked us private lessons, handed a weekly program of activities for our little girls (everyday of the week except Sundays, they have an amazing kids club at the hotel with activities such as magic tricks, clowns, cooking class, party, etc...).

So, we had booked a "Chalet Rochebrune" for 7 nights... a cozy and charming semi detached chalet with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and a cute salon, a nice chimney and a small dining room. The chalet is twinned with another identical chalet next door. It is only a very short walk from the lobby...like 1 minute away.

On our second day, the water pipes had frozen, well it was cold, like -25C, and the Hotel was full, so the charming manager asked us if we wouldn't mind moving to the "Chalet des Fermes"... a 400sqm chalet, with 5 bedrooms, a private spa, sauna, circular Jacuzzi for 6, gym etc...

WOW! The chalet has a fantastic kitchen fully equipped with all modern amenities mixed with a retro-charming look... The dining room is fantastic and will accommodate easily 10 people...
The chalet is split into 3 levels...
1st Level: 3 bedrooms, their bathrooms, the spa... (beware, the bedroom next to the spa is noisy because the heating room is located right next to it).
2nd Level: Kitchen, dining room with an oversized chimney, Living room, 1 bedroom (exquisite with open bathtub free standing) and its toilet, vestiaire, terrace.
3rd Level: The Master Bedroom, large walk in closet, triangular bath tub, toilet and bathroom of course...

All bedrooms are equipped with large LCD and DVD players… the Living room is also equipped with a B&O sound system…

The staff at the Hotel is exceptional, they smile at you, are caring, charming, it is everything but your usual French Hotel!

I tried a spa treatment (in our private spa of course!) and the therapist "Celestine" was quite excellent! I always hate a massage outside of Asia, but Celestine has strong hands and gave me quite a good treatment. I recommend her!

Breakfast at the Hotel is excellent! Whatever you wish...they have! A wide selection of amazing juices Pear (YUMMY!) , Apricot, Apple, Orange...) crepes, Waffles, any kind of eggs, a nice cheese selection, croissants, 5 or 6 variety of bread, yogurts, honeys, jams, …you name it!
The indoor pool is nice, but why don’t they have locker rooms?? Three fitting rooms and no space to leave you clothes!??
Anyway, you have to try the outdoor Jacuzzi! It was -19C outside, and +40C inside the jac! Quite an experience!
Overall, “Les Fermes” was an amazing experience, the staff is more than excellent, they all keep a smile on their faces and look out for your every wish. A delightful experience we will definitely renew next year!

Room Tip: The Chalet Rochebrune is delightful... The Chalet des fermes is AMAZING...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to leave all these comments about your stay at Les Fermes de Marie. We are pleased that you enjoyed a lot your first time in our hotel and hope to welcome you next year in Megeve ! Thank you so much.
Best regards.
Frédéric Pouydebat, Fermes de Marie's general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is full of charm and we spent a wonderful week-end there.
The + : hotel beautiful architecture and set up, really unique and charming chalet style, with all modern amenities inside, loved the lounge areas, the bar and the breakfast, the Spa is incredibly beautiful and the therapists very nice and efficient, loved the jacuzzi outside, the terrace for a drink
The - : our bedroom was nice but not outstanding for the price, the food is disappointing at the main restaurant, and we were very badly adviced for the wine which was really not worth the 18 euros per glass !
Our advice: really worth booking a romantic stay there, but go somewhere else for dinner and lunch...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Good Morning from Megève, France. Sorry for this very late answer but we would like to thank you for your nice coments and we will be very happy again this year to welcome you for our special automn colors openning !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our first experience at Les Fermes de Marie was superb!
We enjoyed a few treatments at the Spa, a relaxing swim in the indoor pool and a delicious dinner in the hotel's restaurant. All services were top quality.
The room was very cosy, quiet and comfortable.
Special 10/10 for the deserts and breakfast buffets!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Madam,
We thank you for taking the time to leave these comments about your stay at Les Fermes de Marie. We are pleased that you enjoyed your first time in our hotel and hope to welcome you again in Megeve very soon!
Best regards.
Frederic Pouydebat, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is lovely. I think there was already very much said about it.

Therefore few reasons to consider if you are ok with.

1)
A lot of stairs. Everywhere. To go to your room you will most likely have to go up and dow up and down. And the road to the room can be quite lengthy. However, this is usually healthy and good for you.

2)
Rooms are charming. But they dont look traditional 5*. Some gasthofs in Austria offer the same feeling for less.

Nevertheless the hotel is charming and great for families with kids.
I would not pay 500 EUR per room in Winter, but I am definitelly not their target group. :-)

Room Tip: ask how long you will have to walk to your room from receiption - times differ
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Les Fermes de Marie and we are pleased that you enjoyed the charm of our rooms as well as the quality of our services for the children.
The decoration and the general environment are very authentic and what makes the hotel so charming and original. We look forward to welcoming you back to Les Fermes de Marie, but next time in a room closer to the reception. Best regards.
Frédéric Pouydebat, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

A truly relaxing and wonderful place for couples and family.
Lots of activities to do in the mountains or around the scenic area, you will be well advised by the excellent concierge that has suggestions for old and young and takes care of your every need.
It is a place we look foreword to return to each year and sink into the arms of nature that is all around you in the hotel and the beautiful cobbled town of Megeve.
The spa is excellent.. book up in advance if you want specific times.
This family run hotel is a must if you are lucky enough to get the chance!

Room Tip: the chalets are excellent for families having 2 or 3 bedrooms and sitting area, balcony and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericPouydebat, Directeur général at Les Fermes de Marie, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Google Translation
Merci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Fermes de Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fermes de Marie

Address: Chemin de Riante Colline, 74120 Megeve, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Megeve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Megeve
#2 Luxury Hotel in Megeve
#3 Family Hotel in Megeve
#4 Romantic Hotel in Megeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Fermes de Marie 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Fermes de Marie welcomes you to a unique place where generosity and a fine style of living reign supreme. More than just a hotel, Les Fermes de Marie is a destination
 in itself for exceptional family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Les Fermes de Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Fermes De Marie Megève

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Fermes de Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.