We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one-two days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jaillet Ski Area

Le Jaillet Ski Area
Megeve, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 attractions in Megeve
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing
Attraction Details
Megeve, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good for one-two days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have discovered Le Jaillet Skiing Area for the first time this year.
This only occurred, because of unlucky cloud position, that made Mont d'Arbois and Rochebrune disappear in fog, while Jaillet was perfectly 'ensoleillé'.

To begin with, we were faced with quite a challenge to find a place to park our car. Due to the absence of the underground parking there's always a shortage of places, even on the least crowded days.

Right after that followed another challenge: getting to the cable car. We proceeded through what seemed an infinite series of steps, stairs and staircases only to find ourselves in the huge crowd, starting on top of the last staircase, wanting to get into the cabin lift.

The cabin ride is quite a smooth experience, though it's a bit inconvenient to be sitting back-to-back with other people. However, the scenery (panorama of the whole village) makes you forget about any inconveniences in no time.

This was right after the Snow Fall, so we could judge the quality of piste preparation, I'd say, it's really poor. 99% of all the slopes we skied down, during the day were left completely 'poudrese', making skiing on it a torture. Having checked the Guide Officiel, I found out, that only two of the piste are officially supposed to be left in such a state.

The domaine is connected with Combloux and La Giettaz, but still there's barely enough to explore for two days. Although there's a significant number of slopes down there, it would only account for about a fifth of the whole slopes massive available in Megève.

Taking into account all the practical difficulties of getting here and the fact that it's connected with other parts of Domaine Skiable only through the Meg-Bus I don't consider this worthy of anyone's precious time for more, than a day or two.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix, France
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful ski area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From le Jaillet you can ski all the way to La Giettaz and to Combloux ,a very nice area where there are slopes for everyone.
On top of the Jaillet gondolas,you turn left towards Cristomet and there you'll find a very good and beautiful mountain restaurant called Le Cristomet where you'll love the views of Megeve and the Alps as much as the food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Area for one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Not so famous like Mont D'Arbois or Rochebrune but almost all the ski runs are between trees. Long runs well prepared. Friendly staff (French standard which I consider 50% lower than any other place in the world). Mix of new and all skilifts. A couple of very good spots for lunch. I would strongly recommend L'Alpage de Porrez at the Porrez ski run

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gervais les Bains, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this ski area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Quiet, lovely pistes and fantastic view - especially from Le Christomet. Secret little heaven I don't really want to share since I live here.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Le Jaillet skiing was slushy at the end of the season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Although low compared to some others in the French Alps, the area is well planned and works quite well. The ski slopes were slushy and grass was showing through at the end of the season.

The extensive ski areas that could be accessed from the area were still good at the top though (at least until about 2 p.m.). There are plenty of runs and the snow is usually quite good. We have tended to visit at the end of the season and the snow does get a little slushy (especially later in the day and especially lower down), but it is usually still skiable to the end of the season.

The mountain restaurants here are a little busier than the average but are still quiet for a lot of the season.

There is always good skiing away from the usual runs or off piste.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jaillet Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Le Jaillet Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jaillet Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Jaillet Ski Area to your Saves list