We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Le Sud

Brasserie Le Sud
Place Antonin Poncet 11, 69002 Lyon, France (Bellecour - Hotel Dieu)
+33 4 72 77 80 00
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Brasserie Le Sud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #379 of 2,335 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bellecour - Hotel Dieu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food - poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

While staying in Lyon we decided on recommendation from our hotel to dine at Le Sud, also coming from Melbourne Australia we had previously dined at a Paul Bocuse restaurant.

Now for the feedback. On arrival we were shown to our table and given an English menu after the waiter staff discovered we didn't speak French very well. From then on the waiter's (food and wine) made fun of our poor French when ordering "Lamb Chops", all within earshot of us. We found this behaviour very disappointing in what is meant to be a great international restaurant. The food however was excellent so no complaints there, but the waiter's (taking the orders) made our experience unenjoyable, being treated with such disdain. This is the first time we have experienced behaviour such as this in our time in France.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    265
    115
    67
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Accessible, affordable fine fresh food in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

You really can't miss with this great value fixed menu and everyone needs one Paul Bocuse meal in Lyon. If the weather permits, outdoors is a great choice. We ordered all specials from a prix fixe menu and each one was a credit to the kitchen . . .especially the perfect fish. And, of course, the apple tart! This will be at the top of our return list . . . a much needed light fresh break from the heavy meals in the bouchons. Go late to avoid the tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Masterful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A true demonstration of well-deserved confidence in the produce selected, in the way they are prepared and in the service.
Nothing is over the top or out of tone. The chef is delivering brilliantly executed plates, without over complicating things.
Getting this quality at this price is beyond great value.

I would recommend this place to anyone, eyes closed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We tried Brasserie Le Sud on the recommendation of our hotel. It is a large restaurant with a variety of seating options. We found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. Speaking English wasn't a problem and an English menu is available if you want one. Good range of food. Prompt service. We enjoyed our meal here. The food was good and the prices (including wine) were reasonable. A fixed price menu is also available if that's what you'd prefer ... the options on this looked good too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went to Le Sud as it was recommended to us. We do not regret of the choice. Every person was very attentive and friendly and knowledgeable so it was easy to order. Food is perfect! We were at the terrace, facing the square. At peak time, it is quite busy and noisy and tables are very close to each other. Seems to be the standard in France! We loved it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Le Sud also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Le Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Le Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.