We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chance find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Adrets

Les Adrets
30, Rue du Boeuf, 69005 Lyon, France (Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine)
+33 4 78 38 24 30
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 2,269 Restaurants in Lyon
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent chance find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We'd not intended going to this restaurant, but our proposed destination on a Monday night was closed. Having wandered around the Old Town for a while looking at a lot of uninspiring tourist traps, we chanced upon Les Adrets. It was clearly almost full on a night when everywhere else had but a handful of customers. So, we chanced it and were not disappointed. Having lived in Lyon for over two months and visited a lot of restaurants, this was by a long margin the best.

Service was fairly slow (perhaps relaxed is a better description), but everything was perfect, from the amuse-bouches via several other complimentary dishes to the desserts. We chose the cheapest of the menus at about €26 and it was excellent. The resto had a nice ambience with parties of all sizes enjoying their meals. A long wine list is available covering all price ranges and regions of France in depth. Toilets were spotless, even if accessed via a tiny door, several flights of stairs and a corridor which seemed to take you to a place far away!

Well worth the visit! Probably advisable to book, or get there early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    61
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunchtime venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The 17 euro set lunchtime menu would be hard to beat. With a mise en bouche, four courses, wine and coffee all included, you couldn't produce such a good meal at home for the same price. We had to reserve our table in advance. The restaurant was packed and yet service was slick and friendly. It's cramped as the tables are close together. You need to stoop to enter the door leading to the spiral staircase and up to the lavatories, but that's all part of the fun of eating in a very old building. We have not yet dined there in the evening, but we will when we return to Lyon later in the year. The restaurant would not be suitable for the very corpulent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yes !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have now spent about 2 months living in Lyon, and have eaten at a number of places around town with mixed results. We had to organize a meal for 9 people hosting some (visiting friends) yesterday, and taking a chance based on the Trip Advisor ratings we booked a week earlier for Les Arets. GOOD CHOICE! Restaurant as always was booked well in advance, and they called to check our reservation for 8pm, at midday on the date of the dinner.

The restaurant is in a perfect location to take visitors, sited in the centre of the old town, and it is a warm and welcoming venue. Our party consisted of 5 Lyonnaise, and 4 visitors, and without exception, all thought the food was excellent in both presentation and quality. The menu is based on set prices of 23 33, 43 and 53 Euro. We all had a mix of the 33 and 43 Euro set menus, and selection was outstanding - food portion size was generous. Service was good, and our party was made to feel at home and welcome.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riberac
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening in Vieux Lyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are so many good restaurants in Lyon that it really is hard to find one that disappoints. Les Adrets came highly commended so we booked in advance (advisable) and it was packed. At one stage we did feel a bit claustrophobic when a group of people came in and stood by our table for quite a while, seemingly waiting for one to become free. Eventually, possibly because it became apparent nobody was in a hurry to leave their table, the group left but we did get the feeling that perhaps the restaurant was double booking its tables. Apart from that the service was good, the ambience buzzy and the food inventive and beautifully presented. The wine list included a good representation of local wines and the price was correct. We would have no reason not to return, other than there are so many other restaurants we would like to try when we next visit Vieux Lyon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Service on a production line”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I hesitate to be the first poor rating for les Adrets, but our last night in Lyon was really our only disappointment. It started well and our entrees were really impressive, but the experience deteriorated from there. The major problem was a service which seemed to have only one objective and that was to get the table served and cleared as soon as possible. Main courses were rather good on the whole, but served randomly in a rush- one of our party waited while the rest of us watched our food go cold. Fromage was a disastrous hurried mix up and a really unimpressive selection. Desserts nothing special- standard you'd find anywhere. We had a wonderful few days in Lyon and maybe the bar was raised very high, but les Adrets did not compete with the other restaurants we visited.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Adrets also viewed

 

Been to Les Adrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Adrets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.