We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie l'Est

Brasserie l'Est
14 place jules Ferry, 69006 Lyon, France (Jules Ferry - Récamier)
+33 4 37 24 25 26
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Brasserie l'Est is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #566 of 2,335 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jules Ferry - Récamier
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although we were initially shown to a table in an alcove we asked to be moved in to the main dining hall, that was handled very well.

It was busy, busy and a great vibe around the place.

My starter of duck liver was cooked perfect, and the main course of scallop risotto was brilliant. Desert st Marcalan cheese was served t the perfect temperature.

Service was sharp and to the point

I loved this place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    284
    166
    67
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“feel the dynamic !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

it's at lunch time on Friday, crowded and busy as the previous reviews!! the meat was really great, not greasy not hard and the dessert of the specialty was fabulous !!!! we are sitting in front of the dessert serving, and observing all kind of desserts :) even though the saumon was too greasy for me, but with the bread is fine. Strongly recommend to try, and personally I would like to order their salade with foie gras next time ;)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fast and furious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've been here several times and always enjoyed the experience. It's more in the style of the local bouchon and you won't find a fine dining experience here, but it's always bustling with people and noisy, befitting it's railway station setting. The staff is always obliging and I've arrived without booking several times,and they were able to fit us in. The food is straightforward but very good. I can never quite resist their foie de veau, although their sole is also quite good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Not worthy of the Bocuse name”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A restaurant that rides on the Bocuse name but does not live up to the reputation or high quality standards of its Michelin-adorned namesake, although the vintage setting is nice (though the whole 'train station' thing is a bit overdone and verging on the kitsch, a point emphasised when the waiters roll out the organ every time someone has their birthday...I had to endure this 3 times while dining there!).
This restaurant may please people who do not value food very highly and are all about the 'experience', but I was seriously disappointed by the unimaginative and ungenerous cuisine: my plate of various fish (and one measly scallop!!) was rather bland, with a boring garnish of obviously vacuum-packed potatoes thrown in. This set me back 27 euros, for which price you can get a delicious menu (not just a plate) in mane other more interesting restaurants of Lyon. The dessert, an overly sweet pavlova, was slightly better but not great by any means.
I fear that foreign tourists will get the wrong idea about French cuisine from eating here: there are many, many more interesting options, especially in Lyon. As this restaurant stands, it seems to me to be a cynical use of the Bocuse name to generate footfall (the place is utterly, uncomfortably packed and the service reflected this, with overburdened, unpleasant waiters).
Best avoided.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemerska Horka, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The restaurant is in an old train station. The interior is very nice. You can see your food being prepared by the chefs and the service is well organized as well. The food is excellent as you're in Lyon so its usuall:) I can only recommend this place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie l'Est also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie l'Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie l'Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.