We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great salad Lyonnaise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants

Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants
1, place Francisque Regaud, 69002 Lyon, France (Cordeliers - Jacobins)
+33 (0)478425005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #728 of 2,269 Restaurants in Lyon
Price range: $35 - $44
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cordeliers - Jacobins
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A great salad Lyonnaise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped by to lunch al fresco on a hot and sunny day. We both chose the Salad Lyonnaise and had a huge plate of salad, topped with a generous portion of lardons, a perfectly cooked poached egg and a lovely dressing. It was shown as an entree on the menu but I am not sure I could have followed it with a main course. It was reasonably priced at E12.50. We both had desserts - my Viennois Perdu was very good but a bit heavy. My husband's Negociant was divine and would have been worth the visit alone. The service was friendly and efficient and with a beer, a Badoit and two coffees the bill came to just under E60.00.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    88
    52
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Beautiful un-air conditioned room, nice service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The pros are the room and the service. One of the several people who waited on me even brought water for my dog without my asking.
The con is the food. I had the one salad on the menu without a signfiicant amount of fat in it... And it had clearly been around in a fridge for a long time. On the plus side it was brought out immediately and the plate was chilled.... On the downside the strawberries had been laying on the artichokes long enough to have dyed them red. :(
The food in Lyon may be the best in France -- you could do better elsewhere and just come here for a dessert (they looked nice) and the friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Variable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

An aperative at the bar on Saturday, charming staff and a real buzz in what must surely be the most extravagantly lush Belle Epoch interiors in the city.
Dinner on Sunday, leaden cooking which had to be abandoned for it's sheer heaviness, and staff (apart form the managee) that had to struggle not to be rude, like the bad old days of Paris before it re-invented itself. Sorry Grand Cafe.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL WITH GREAT SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a table at this iconic establishment on a Sunday evening and were delighted with the whole experience.
The place was full to capacity and a happy buzz of voices added to the atmosphere.
We had the most attentive and helpful waiters speaking in excellent English!
There was a good set menu from which we all found something to please and the final bill was very reasonable

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Marvelous Vienoisse Perdu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The famous Vienoisse Perdu is simply heavly sweet to your buds. IT hot fried crossiant with butterscotch ice cream. NOt to miss it. Friendly Staff too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants also viewed

 

Been to Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe Des Negociants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.