We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Brazier

La Mere Brazier
12 Rue Royale, 69001 Lyon, France (Griffon - Royale)
+33 4 78 23 17 20
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Mere Brazier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,331 Restaurants in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Griffon - Royale
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Complete let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a reservation but when we arrived they had no booking and they were full. Unfortunately I had only got the email which confirmed they had a table on a specific date but I had not got the email I sent which gave them details of our (which they had requested). When I got back to the UK I forwarded a copy of that email. What was also disappointing was the way we were dealt with because whilst people were trying to sort out the mess we were not even asked if we wanted a drink. We left after they advised us that we had not responded to their email!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    81
    47
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food - restaurant with Michelin stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Firstly, the restaurant have michelin stars so having a meal there is very expensive. However it is worth it because of the quality of the food and service.

I would suggest to go there for lunch as they have set menu with is very nice and less expensive than dinner. If you are tight on budget, there is lots of other place which serve lovely Lyonnaise cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Lyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Michelin stars are totally justified here. Ambiance, service, product, food, wines. One of the best restaurant in Lyon and therefor in the list of the best restaurants in France.

Don't miss the lunch menu during the week which brings a perfect value to flavours if you don't want to spend so much for your first time there. You'll come again anyway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“C'est magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Magnificent meal here. It fully deserves it reputation as a Michelin starred restaurant. The food is top quality and the service top drawer. There are lots of little amuse bouches between course and every mouthful is an attack on the taste buds. The restaurant is only a few minutes from the underground station and is easy to find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This gem of a restaurant is secretly tucked away on a quiet street and you have to look for the signs to find it.
Once there everything is MAGIC; starting with the reception of all the staff and the doorman.
The food was excellent, we had the quenelle de brochè, a speciality of Lyon , but this was the best I had ever tasted , also veal sweetbreads, superb ! the same is true for the dessert, soufflé grand mariner, also highly recommended.
The service was excellent, waiters were attentive and professional. The chef Mathieu Viannay
made an apperance to ask if we enjoyed the evening.
A great dining experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Brazier also viewed

 

Been to La Mere Brazier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Brazier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.