We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms in nice ambient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22, quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms in nice ambient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this business/vacation hotel on the river Rhone banks. Nice ambient, huge park to go for walk/running. Very comfortable rooms with double beds, TV with many channels, wifi free, nice clean bathroom. Very good restaurant with basic choice of food opens at 8pm, closes at 10pm. Back stage bar with variety of wines and sandwiches. Closes at 12pm. Parking is not included, you must park your car in P2 garages that are part of the object - not direct entrance to hotel. Can just recommend!

Room Tip: Both sides are great - one side is river and castle, other is big green park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your complete summary with us and the fellow travellers.

We are so glad to read that you have spent good time with us and you have appreciated all our services. We have forwarded your comments to all our staff, who thanks you very much.

Actually, our restaurant is open from 6.30 to 10pm every evenings of the week.

We must agree, our location is unbeatable. You can easily enjoy a walk to the Tete d’Or Park, which is beautiful in every season.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    176
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
155
22
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our honeymoon as we were passing through lyon. The staff upgraded us to a suite free of charge and gave us a room with a nice view. All the staff were very helpful. Hotel was very close to lots of restaurants and shops and also very close to the park. It was a short 20 - 30 mins walk to the heart of the historic centre. The rooms were clean, spacious and the bathroom was a clean with a power shower. Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments following your stay. We are really glad to hear that your stay was very pleasant and that you enjoyed the experience of our Suite.

We were delighted to welcome you for this very special occasion!

We are also happy to read that you have appreciated the localisation of our hotel.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Business oriented hotel which we would not recommend for a romantic city trip to beautiful Lyon. The city centre is a 20 minutes taxi drive away. We stayed here in August and in the (late) evening there was hardly any restaurant open. Room was ok. Nothing special. Would recommend to ask for a room with a balcony with a view to the park otherwise you look out at the river and street side which could be rather noisy. Quick check in and friendly reception staff. Do not forget to make a long walk or run in the fantastic park opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a W3C-conference, and it was a very nice stay. I used the bar and breakfast a lot. There's also a cinema quite close, having some movies you can watch even though you don't know French.

Grapefruit juice for breakfast every morning. Great stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here in 2007 and again in 2012, and both times found it to be a very clean and modern hotel, decent service, good size rooms (by European standards), and a good bargain for the price. It's a 10 minute bus ride from the centers of either the old or new city, next to a great park, and a good spot if you're attending a conference in the adjoining Cite International. A few quibbles: I put out the "make my room" sign and 6 hours later they were just getting around to it. No hot water/tea/coffee service in the room, which would have been consistent with the rest of the experience. And the hotel is a bit isolated if you are planning on spending most of your time in other parts of Lyon. But overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side (not the park side) have a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordeLyon, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. We would also like to thank you for your trust and for choosing our hotel again.

Please accept our apologies for not having the time to make your room when you have left the hotel. We have transmitted your comment to our housekeeping manager, in order to avoid this situation in the future. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We have taken good note of your comment about the hot coffee / tea service in the room. We offer this service from our executive rooms or higher. For your next stay, please feel free to tell your preferences to our reservation service, which will be delighted to book the room that best suits your needs.

I must admit that the hotel is not located in the center of Lyon, but you can easily and quickly reach the main points of interest. For exemple, it takes you only 10 minutes to go to the famous Bellecour place with the bus C5.

It’s really nice to hear that the cleanliness, the room-size and the modernity of your hotel made the difference. Your satisfaction is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay memorable.

We are look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hotel de la Cite.

Kind Regards,
Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here in late Sept 2012, in room 509(5th floor) facing the river and the view was beautiful waking up in the morning.The staff spoke good English and were very helpful,breakfast was good.Close to Transport,gardens and so many restuarants to choose from with great food,we would stay here again but this time longer than 2/3 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordeLyon, Guest Relations at Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were very glad to welcome you with your husband and to read that you have appreciated the view from your room. It is true that the sunrise over the Rhone is a beautiful moment. On your next trip, please feel free to state your preference to the reception, which will be happy to assign you a room overlooking the river.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the overall environment of the hotel and our staff.

We are look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Hotel de la Cite.

Kind Regards,
Nolwenn Roux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A really nice hotel and all the staff we encountered were wonderfully polite and efficient. The room was adequate and functional and very clean. We didnt have breakfasts in the hotel (v procey as were the bar prices) and opted to have breakfast in one of the adjoining restaurants - v good at 6 euros a head. Some reviews have mentionmed the hotel is away from the centre - yes it is!! But there is a wonderful and efficient public transport system - easy to use and understand and is the best I have encountered anywhere. The bus stops rioght outside the hotel and goes to either the Plave Bellecour or the main train station. Also the park is fabulous and right on the doorstep. Lyon is a magnificent city and all the better for exploring.
V enjoyable stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale

Address: 22, quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#6 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Business Hotel in Lyon
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International stands out as a point of reference in the luxury hotel business in the heart of the famous urban architectural project, the Cite International of Lyon. This hotel was first conceived by the Italian architect Renzo Piano, already well known for the design of the prestigious Georges Pompidou centre in Paris.The Crowne Plaza Lyon – Cité International is located between the banks of the Rhone River and the Parc de la Tete d'Or and just steps away from the largest Congress Centre in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Concorde Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crowne Plaza Lyon - Cite Internationale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.