We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL DU DAUPHIN

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HOTEL DU DAUPHIN to your Saves list
HOTEL DU DAUPHIN
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 RUE VICTOR HUGO, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Paris, France
1 review
“Totally disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I booked this hotel based on the good online reviews. I was very disappointed. The first bad surprise was the lack of heat on the first two nights of a three night stay. There is no one at reception after 10 so there was no way to ask how to fix the heat, nor if we could have an extra blanket. The next morning we asked at reception about the heat and they assured us it would be fixed but upon returning after a full day on the town there was no heat, and again no one at reception and no extra blanket. It was only on the last night that the radiator started heating up but even then, the amount of heat was minimal. The hotel offered a 4 euro reduction in price - small potatoes when you take into account the price paid for a 3 night stay... The second bad surprise was that there were many strange stains on the walls around the bed and in the bathroom. The presence of such stains does not bode well for the overall cleanliness of the hotel. Avoid this hotel at all costs, especially in the fall/winter. Spend the extra euro and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldudauphinlyon, Propriétaire at HOTEL DU DAUPHIN, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Custumer,

We regret this bad experience with the lack of heater for your stay in our Hotel. The heater usually work very well and the staff is aware about this. We inform that our customer are really satisfied with the confort of this hotel.
in this case we coudn't help you because you came after 10 pm and the reception is closed to 10 pm to 7 am as it is announced to all customer.
But we really don' t understant your hard comment on the bed because we changed all beds last year.

If you need any more information , don't hesitate to contact us.

The owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    38
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
36
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I stayed one night with a friend in September. The reception is on the first floor, there is a TINY elevator to get there, or a staircase if you don't have too many luggage... The room is small, but clean and beds are comfortable. The bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen, but it is functional and clean. However it is not suitable for large people... Location is very central, perfect for both shopping and sightseeing. Parking Bellecour very close for those travelling by car (I think the price was around 28 euros/day).
All in all, a reasonably priced hotel, simple but convenient, perfect for a short getaway. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice room, balcony overlooking pedestrian street, exceptionally lovely staff. Breakfast buffet is 10 euros but we ordered the smaller in-room continental breakfast for 7 euros, and one was plenty for the two of us.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

stayed one night in this hotel and all i can that it was just perfect for me. The location is central to almost all major attractions! place bellecour (as well as all the major shopping locations) and the vieux lyon were only a few minutes away. It is also located right next to the metro bellecour (about a minute or two). La croix rousse is about 10-15 minutes by foot. I had a public transport pass but in the end didn't even use it as everything was reachable by foot!

the room was quite small but i would say for 1-2 persons it was fine! I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with children though… The bed was comfortable but borderline a little to small (172cm person here). The shower and toilets were clean. My was over a pedestrian street thought it was surprisingly silent. The downside was that the room was t a little dark and at the moment there is construction going on in rue victor hugo so in the morning it was pretty noisy.

Rather than having breakfast i ventured down the street to buy some goodies at the boulangeries paul and brioche doree so i can't comment on the 10 euro breakfast served at the hotel.

The staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful! they gave me great recommendations for dining options as well as some guidance as to places that were a must to visit.

overall very happy and will be back if i am ever in lyon again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights here and was very impressed with the staff's willingness to help us find everything.. from parking options to public transit. They offered to keep our perishable food refrigerated. The location was amazing, right on Victor Hugo near the square. A few blocks walk to old town.. which is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is centrally located next to the grand piazza and a big shopping passage. If you travel by car, parking spaces are available either at the Hotel Alexandra or various park garages (in our case Parking Bellecourt, approx. 24 EUR for an overnight stay). From Bellecourt to the hotel takes roughly 3-5 minutes by foot.

Although the hotel's outside makes you believe you would not want to spend the night, the inside is indeed nice and clean. While elevator and hallways are rather narrow, our room was considerably spacey and with plenty of light. Television (French only) and WiFi were freely and easily accessible without further registration required. We did not take the petit dejeuner, so we cannot judge on it.

Reservations were confirmed quickly and service at the reception was very friendly and forthcoming. As there wasn't a minibar in the room, beverages could be ordered at the front desk. The room as well as the bed were clean and comfortable (no hairs, etc. on the sheets). The bathroom turned out to be an adventure for large people. The shower is quite small and barely allows any movements. The same is true for the toilet. Eventually, the walls are extremely thin and will "allow" you to listen to everything your neighbours say and do. Fortunately, ours remained rather quite.

Altogether a cosy hotel, centrally located with good access to subway stations and with rooms offered for a very fair price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldudauphinlyon, Responsable réception at HOTEL DU DAUPHIN, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
The team of Hotel du DAUPHIN is really pleased you liked your stay in Lyon.

We look forward to welcoming you.

Best regards,

L. SERPOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL DU DAUPHIN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL DU DAUPHIN

Address: 9 RUE VICTOR HUGO, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HOTEL DU DAUPHIN 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t miss Hotel Du Dauphin, a charming and cozy two-star hotel entirely refurbished for an even greater comfort, right on place Bellecour.Its warm and individual welcome will advise you about where to go and what to see in our beautiful city of lights.Two steps from the old town come and stroll into the pedestrian streets and discover our museums and our famous "bouchons", irresistible food of Lyon!Hotel Du Dauphin and its renovated rooms with free internet wifi access will definitely be a source of sweetness during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HOTEL DU DAUPHIN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL DU DAUPHIN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.