We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful and expesnsive, avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Noailles

Hotel De Noailles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Noailles to your Saves list
Hotel De Noailles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Cours Gambetta, 69007 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful and expesnsive, avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel with booking.com for 160 euros for two nights, but ended paying 244 because i reserved their parking - yes, the parking is that expensive, and it barely fits four cars. You can get cheaper parking everywhere else. Also, and even worse, my room was stank like cigarette. I asked to change the room but the woman in charge, an old hag who thinks of herself as the queen of the place, didn t accomodate my request because i had reserved through booking.com with a cheaper rate. In short, and because you have to pay in advance, we had to stay there. Location is not as good as they would have you believe, either, with the hotel about 2-3 km from the old town.
The rooms are far too basic and they have matresses lined up in the corridors (!), for an overall disgusting experience. I really dont know how they got their three stars - probably had to bribe someone for them.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
8
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Good location, 5 min to Place Bellecour, 1 min to nearest metro station. Awful wi-fi, very slow and crush every 5 min. Small bathroom. Personal in hotel is not outgiving, dont ask about some help. Good price for parking - €18.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited Lyon for the first time, this hotel is well placed in Lyon, everywhere is within walking distance, turn left coming out the hotel to head towards the shopping area & the river Rhone. The hotel however was just under £100 euros per night so quite steep, the bedrooms are very clean, although not huge adequate for 2 people, bed was very comfy, bathroom was shower, toilet & basin, again very clean, included the soap, shower gel & shampoo, TV in the room with a desk access to 2 hours WiFi not sure if this was a daily limit as I did not use each day, no wardrobe but an area to hang clothes. Biggest disappointment no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, you could order from reception & take to your room, a pot of tea is very nice but 4 euros, no milk for tea, however this is the norm in France. Breakfast was charged at 10 euros, evening meals available, so all in all becomes expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

You can stay here from 88 Euros.. it includes Wifi and Breakfast I guess. They say they are a 2 stars hotel. From the outside is not good looking. From the inside it's a bit ellegant & charming but with not enough common areas.

They offered me a great room for 20 euros (not listed in the prices chart). It was like 2x3m sized with bath & shower included, also TV with local channels. I love the decoration: blankets with modern design, curtains, red "alfombra" and wooden ceiling.

No breakfast and NO Wifi access to their existing Noailles network. 5 euros for the Wifi froM your mobile phone! Why do they charge for something that its very cheap? Other turnoff was the lady, all time with bad humor and reminding me that i'm not a premium guest so she were keeping her eyes on me all time. Once i made a step, she used to get herself very nervous. Also she woke me up early, she has said that the checkout was at 11am but then in the morning she changed her mind and told me to leave at 10 am.

The toilet has 2 turnoffs: the water was boiling or cold. I can't manage to set it warm, qnd then, by design, all the water gots out of the sink and then it never dryes off. A good thing was that i found soap & shampoo in the toilette.

I have been at cheaper places; but with breakfast and wifi included, and with excellent service. That's why i'm mad.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I made a reservation to stay at this hotel based on the writeup in Michelin's 2009 red guide. This turned out to be a bad case of misplaced trust. The hotel is in a seedy part of town. The plaque outside claiming it is "climatisé" (echoing Michelin) is a sham, as the central air system had been turned off by the hotel owners because it was no longer officially Summer, despite temperatures in the eighties. The room itself was a drab and poorly ventilated cubicle. In short, a nightmarish scenario. After taking a look and it and being told about the lack of air conditioning, we decided to spend the night elsewhere. There was not even a hint of an offer to return our money or even a part of it (payment before occupancy is required, btw.) So we wholeheartedly agree with the advice offered by Did of Rennes: avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Noailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Noailles

Address: 30 Cours Gambetta, 69007 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Noailles 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Noailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Noailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.