We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for a drink but not to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Place Saint Paul, 69005 Lyon, France (Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 168 hotels in Lyon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Visit for a drink but not to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed three nights in Bellecour, went away for a couple of days and then came back to Lyon to stay at this hotel. The location is fabulous and we discovered a whole part of the city that somehow, we had completely missed on the first part of our trip. It’s a quirky and unusual place, with great communal areas that make use of the whole school theme. Each floor has a fridge to help yourself to free soft drinks which is a lovely touch. The staff that we met were all lovely and certainly when I booked over email, could not have been more helpful and efficient.

However…on the whole I was disappointed. I thought I liked “minimalism” but now I realize that unless it is pristine (which in a hotel it’s never going to be) it actually just looks like a white wall that could really do with a jolly good scrub and a fresh coat of paint. The room was a Post Graduate, so the most expensive they have, but it was small – saved from being pokey by the whiteness and because of a narrow balcony (not wide enough to sit out on). The bathroom was very clean but the corner bath was not ideal for a soak in the tub.

I am glad we went cos I wanted to try it, but at just a little shy of E200 by the time we had paid city tax and breakfast, my personal view is that it is expensive for what it is and your money is probably better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Like in other reviews, late night or rather early morning, revelers disturbed our sleep so i am not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    44
    17
    3
See reviews for
16
95
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived, frazzled, with a dying car. The people on the desk were all extremely friendly, helpful, and dealt with a rather stressed family with patience, efficiency and made sure that our stay was not marred in the least. The rooms are not huge, but very well appointed, spotlessly clean and the location more than made up for this. The free drinks fridges on each corridor are a great idea, particularly for the children! The terrace on the second floor is a very pleasant place to sit and far quieter than expected given the central location. The breakfast was freshly produced and very good. We had a super stay, despite our car problems and highly recommend the hotel - we hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The rate average is not ok, but very good would be to much, it was just the price that wasn't right for what was offered. Perfect location, nice staff. Compared with other hotel which was just a little more expensive this was not worth the money, all tough rooms were very clean and spacious. No parking available. Breakfast was ok, but not inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nicely located hotel in the center of old Lyon. I could walk everywhere from here. the staff is nice and helpful. I liked especially the free drinks you can get from the vintage fridge in the corridor and the nice terrace located at the second floor. For the cleanliness don't look in the corners but fair for a 3 stars

Room Tip: Second floor has some rooms with access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at the hotel and loved every moment. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the old town, with bars and restaurants aplenty on the doorstep. You are also within easy reach of the main shopping areas of Lyon, meaning public transport was not necessary at all during our stay (although we did lazily resort to the funicular to reach the Basilica!) The hotel itself was wonderful. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were hugely grateful for the room upgrade which we received on arrival. The hotel's communal areas are quirky and clean and the breakfast was simple and delicious. Our bedroom was equally lovely: spotless and a good size. The complimentary soft drinks available on each floor were a nice touch and greatly appreciated in such hot weather! All in all a wonderful hotel and one I would have no hesitation returning to should I visit Lyon again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Le College is perfectly situated to explore Vieux Lyon & the Presqu'Ile. The decor is quirky and original and the rooms, whist small are perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bedding and towels are good quality and is was spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly & helpful. Free bottled water & soft drinks are available from refrigerators on each floor. There's free wifi and a lovely roof terrace. There are plenty of bars & restaurants nearby and there is some noise from the street as a result, but with the windows closed and the efficient air conditioning on we slept well even in a heatwave.

Room Tip: We had room 504 which looked over the roof terrace and from which we could see Fourviere Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip – so someone else chose it, but glad they did. Initial impressions were of slight dottiness – rules for pupils at the door, giant pencils next to reception desk and TV playing old black and white kids' TV – but what could have been a tacky 'theme' hotel turned out to be a delight.

Room was a surprise – looked like a white cell, with metal school lockers for wardrobes and school desk and chairs, and wad freezing as someone has cranked the A/C all the way down to very cold indeed. With some heat restored, much better: comfortable bed, good walk-in shower and free wi-fi.

Like the retro fridges full of soft drinks on every floor, even more impressed with the bar (next door but part of hotel) serving huge list of wines, excellent cheese and charcuterie, which looked like a good place to while away an afternoon. So we did.

Breakfast simple, but all you could want, and staff consistently friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again, this time for a break rather than a slightly hurried business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: 5 Place Saint Paul, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Collège has a great location in the heart of the old city, on a UNESCO-listed site. Have a unique stay in a hotel offering a traditional school-theme decoration concept. The Collège features bright rooms with a modern and sleek decoration. Each offers a flat-screen TV. Hotel Le Collège offers a bar, a meeting room and a terrace. Each is decorated so as to remind you of a traditional school. With a central location, Hotel Le Collège is the perfect choice for tourists visiting the many attractions of Lyons and business travellers visiting partners in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
College Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.