We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Florentine to your Saves list
Villa Florentine
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Montee Saint-Barthelemy, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“good but not the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Comfortable hotel with beautiful views over the old centre of Lyon and a nice swimming pool with excellent service. We were a little dissapointed that our suite (700 euro's) was not located in the main building but in a dependance across the street only reachable by a tunnel. Room service there took three quarters of an hour (and two calls) to arrive.
Very much dissapointing though was our experience in the restaurant (1 Michelin star) situated on very nice terrace with above mentioned view. The food (wine also) however was absolutely not up to standard and awfully expensive. We advise everybody to ask in advance for a room in ther main building. On arrival you will be asked to make a reservation in the restaurant. Avoid that place!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    77
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
36
224
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed one night with our dog. Very nice house in an old building! For check-in we could wait on an outside balcony with a nice cocktail.
Staff very friendly. Room very spacious and nice bathroom in tuscany/provence style.
Next time we will stay in a room with view over the city, it's worth it!
Some stairs lead you directly to the city and just on the other side of the street you have a nice walk through the parc des hauteurs that leads you on a 10 min walk to La Basilique Notre-Dame de Fourvière.
Breakfast was in a room with terrasse with a remarkable view over the whole city! Breakfast very nice and special- no buffet all served.
We highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late August and absolutely loved our stay.
The property itself is gorgeous. Views are spectacular. We loved the pool - (two heated lounge chairs - wow!) loved the room, loved the location. Wonderful history for the place too, - just like the rest of Lyon.
I can't think of any reason why if you were travelling to Lyon, you'd even think about staying somewhere else.
Service was good, food was great. We loved the breakfasts on the outdoor patio. Try their hot chocolate with your breakfast - so incredibly good.
You're within an easy walk of old Lyon, and just up the hill is the Basilica with an outstanding view of all Lyon.
Yes - there are stairs - lots of them - if you are not taking a car or taxi from the Villa to get to the city. We walked down the stairs once, and that was good enough for us. The rest of our time coming back from the city we wound up in a taxi to get back to the villa.
In summary - stay here if you can. Lyon is a friendly, stunning city, and this resort is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous views in a great location with a wonderfully restored facility. However, many of the rooms are duplexes (the Relais and Chateaux guide doesn't disclose that) so unless you don't mind walking down a spiral metal staircase in the middle of the night if you happen to need a toilet) be mindful to request a room with the bedroom and bathroom on the same level. The staff is quite gracious and the pool a delight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here overnight on a recommendation from a friend. It was a beautiful hotel above 'old Lyon'. It was very easy to walk to the famous 'boucherie' in old Lyon for meals - we preferred to eat out for all meals because we wanted to experience the city in the short amount of time we had to spend here.

We had a large bed which was very comfortable and found the bathroom very well appointed.

In addition to the glorious views, a highlight for us were the very attentive staff who spoke English and were very prepared to accommodate our requests eg use of gym, giving directions & maps, suggestions for sightseeing, and concern about my husband's eye which he had injured in Paris about 10 days prior (his eye looked bad but was ok and very well attended to by medicals in Paris).
The hotel was also very close to the Basilique Notre Dame Fourviere.

Room Tip: bed was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

From the beginning everything was nice and pleasant. Until the moment I returned to the room ( number 6 on level 3) after very posh gastronomic dinner at Les Terraces. There was noise, almost next to me as if the origin was inside my room. In reality the room is directly above the kitchen, and they cleaned and moved utensils all the time. But I was very tired and wanted to sleep !!! Incredibly rude and inhumane. They knew that would happen but did not warn me. I felt so let down... Never stay at this perverted house, please !

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were treated like Royalty from the moment of our arrival. Really fantastic place, great service, and what views! The location is superb for access to the Old Town. Would return tomorrow. The swimming pool is fantasti, so go when the weather is warm. In fact, go any time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Address: 25 Montee Saint-Barthelemy, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#3 Business Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florentine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.