We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florentine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Florentine to your Saves list
Villa Florentine
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Montee Saint-Barthelemy, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous views in a great location with a wonderfully restored facility. However, many of the rooms are duplexes (the Relais and Chateaux guide doesn't disclose that) so unless you don't mind walking down a spiral metal staircase in the middle of the night if you happen to need a toilet) be mindful to request a room with the bedroom and bathroom on the same level. The staff is quite gracious and the pool a delight.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    77
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
36
225
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here overnight on a recommendation from a friend. It was a beautiful hotel above 'old Lyon'. It was very easy to walk to the famous 'boucherie' in old Lyon for meals - we preferred to eat out for all meals because we wanted to experience the city in the short amount of time we had to spend here.

We had a large bed which was very comfortable and found the bathroom very well appointed.

In addition to the glorious views, a highlight for us were the very attentive staff who spoke English and were very prepared to accommodate our requests eg use of gym, giving directions & maps, suggestions for sightseeing, and concern about my husband's eye which he had injured in Paris about 10 days prior (his eye looked bad but was ok and very well attended to by medicals in Paris).
The hotel was also very close to the Basilique Notre Dame Fourviere.

Room Tip: bed was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

From the beginning everything was nice and pleasant. Until the moment I returned to the room ( number 6 on level 3) after very posh gastronomic dinner at Les Terraces. There was noise, almost next to me as if the origin was inside my room. In reality the room is directly above the kitchen, and they cleaned and moved utensils all the time. But I was very tired and wanted to sleep !!! Incredibly rude and inhumane. They knew that would happen but did not warn me. I felt so let down... Never stay at this perverted house, please !

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were treated like Royalty from the moment of our arrival. Really fantastic place, great service, and what views! The location is superb for access to the Old Town. Would return tomorrow. The swimming pool is fantasti, so go when the weather is warm. In fact, go any time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Quick weekend away drove over from Switzerland for a romantic getaway.

The Villa is a beautifully refurbished convent perched above old town Lyon and within walking distance to the most charming parts of the town.
The view- the whole city rolls out in front of you...from the room or the dining room or the pool...special mention to the view sitting in jacuzzi.

We stayed in a junior suite on two floors and had (as with all the rooms) a stellar view.
The restaurant- a 1 Star Michelin is in line for it's second star- excellent- with at least half the patrons from outside the hotel (which tells you something)...especially in a town such as Lyon. I wrote a separate review for this meal.

Bed, bedding, towels, amenities, complimentary sparkling and still water and focused service was generally at the level one would expect. Could have used Q-Tips in the bathroom.

The little niggles?
Luggage was not in the room when we walked in.
Bathroom makeup light was fixed uncomfortably high for my girlfriend...doing her makeup on her tiptoes was irritating.
The lights for the entire room were linked to the bathroom....so middle of the night visits to the bathroom lit up the whole room.

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay, would stay again and warmly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Romantic and also great for Families because of a great pool and Jacuzzi. The best view and service in Lyon, no doubt the best place to stay in this City. The restataurant is too expensive and service no so good. But with 2000 restaturants in Lyon, it doesnt matter...Visit Lyon, it a dream city...!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The rate is expensive compared to other hotels in Lyon, but the view and quality of the hotel makes it worth it. The view from the swimming-pool or spa, which you often have for yourself, is
magnificent. The restaurant "Les Terrasses" located at the hotel was a flawless gourmet experience.

A japanese couple had their dog staying with them at the hotel. So it seems to be a pet friendly hotel also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Florentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentine

Address: 25 Montee Saint-Barthelemy, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#2 Family Hotel in Lyon
#3 Business Hotel in Lyon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Florentine 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Florentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Florentine Hotel Lyon
Florentine Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florentine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.