We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean 2-star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Paul

Save Saved
You added Saint Paul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint Paul
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue Lainerie, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, clean 2-star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend in late September. The double room with bath was much larger than we'd expected and scrupulously clean, and the high ceilings (with exposed beams!) make it feel very spacious. The showerhead hook is low but we did find the shower went high enough to shower standing up and the bath was fantastic. We'd read on here about noise, but the windows do a good job of lowering the volume. If you're bothered by street noise, bring earplugs -- it's a busy area on Friday nights especially. A decent two-star choice in Vieux-Lyon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    67
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
69
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Saint Paul hotel, while ideally located in the old section of Lyon, is a seriously flawed choice of a place to stay. It’s located at the beginning of a pedestrian walkway surrounded by lots of restaurant, bars, and resultant noise. The staff is extremely welcoming and friendly; however the reception area is dingy and small. There is no elevator and to get to your room, requiring guests to navigate a narrow winding stairway with dirty carpets. The stairs are so narrow that carrying your bags up the stairs is quite difficult.

Saint Paul is a two star hotel, so one cannot expect too many amenities, but even in this category the hotel leaves much to be desired. We had rented two double rooms, one so miniscule there was barely room for the bed. The other room was a bit larger but certainly not spacious. The floors, cheap linoleum, were not very clean. Peeling paint greets you as you attempt to navigate the stairs. The shower curtain lacked half of its curtain rings. The shower was of the Statue of Liberty, hand-held variety, leaving us wondering why there was no shower head wall hook. An ill-placed door stop required the bathroom door to be placed between your legs while using the toilet. The window sills were invariably dusty. The hotel has no air conditioning ,the ceiling fans operate at hyper speed, and you cannot practically open your window because of street noise. The rooms have no curtains, but only cheap plywood shutters, so expect to arise at sunup.

In one of our rooms we awakened at 6 a.m. to find bedbugs climbing over our legs, the sheet bloodied. While the staff was very apologetic and did not charge us for one of our rooms, we were constrained to discard a suitcase and place clothes in plastic bags for washing and high-temperature drying. (The dryer treatment is necessary to kill bedbug larvae.) Fingers crossed that we did not unwittingly export Saint Paul's bedbugs to our next stop.

While we recognize that bedbugs can occur occasionally in the best of hotels, on top of all of the other serious deficiencies of the Saint Paul, this would seem to be a hotel to avoid. If the Saint Paul is in the top ten percent of Lyon hotels, then France's second largest city has a very serious problem indeed receiving guests. Our stay at the Saint Paul was certainly a cauchemar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMLoron, Owner at Saint Paul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all, again, please accept our deepest apologies for all the troubles you encountered during your stay. The bedbug situation has, of course, been taken care of. As you said it yourself, this is helas a potential problem everywhere, thankfully still very rare.

Let me just adress some of the troubles you noted during your stay. We want people to plainfully enjoy their stay in our hotel. Usually, our guests overlook some of them, enjoying our efforts to make their stay enjoyable: that does not mean nothing is made to take care of some of the problems you noted:

- the renovation of our stairs is planned, as is also the renovation of the painting in our courtyard.
- being in an old Renaissance building, there will never be an elevator in our hotel. We are sorry if you were not informed of that, this is a point we are not shy to talk about during a booking or on our website.
- we putted you in 2 of our bests rooms. Those larger rooms are equiped with bath, that is why there was no shower head on the wall in front of you, when standing in the bath. The standart rooms, equiped with shower, do have a shower wall head look. We are sorry if you did not find those rooms big enough. Their 18-19 m2 superficy is usually an asset.
- we made the choice of having artisanal plywood shutters instead of curtains to keep in touch with the old look of our hotel. We are sorry it disturbed your sleep. We are currently trying to find a solution to this.

All of our bigger rooms with bath are on the pedestrian street. Letting the two layers of windows opened during the night will indeed let the noise from the street come to your room. A tip to our future guests: if you prefer to have less light but want to let your windows open during the night, ask for a standart room on the courtyard.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies, from the whole staff of Hotel Saint Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

we stayed here because it was close to our favourite restaurants and in a great central position, but the main reason was the cheap prices. I asked for a high floor but probably not necessary as the extra thick double glazing lets no noise filter through. I loved the old building, and we had a new bathroom - although the fact of being at the top made the shower not very powerful! our bedroom was ok (441) but lacking on the decoration side, and the cloth wardrobe gave the room a student feel about it - shame there was not some old wooden furniture instead, which would have gone well with the building. we had breakfast for 7euros -croissant, bread and butter, juice and very weak coffee! but in lyon we have never had a good deal at breakfast and this was the cheapest we've had! I would stay here again, but hope to have a room with more authentic feel to it! we were there with our car which we thought would be difficult to park, but luckily found a space in an adjacent road and left it there, which was good.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have brilliant double glazing and are not noisey. the ones at the back are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a small 18Th century building. Therefore the rooms are full of character and very clean.
The location is right in the centre of Lyon old town, about 200m to the river and main bus route.
Me and my sister stayed here for two nights. It was meant to be three but we had an emergency and had to get home. the staff were so very helpful and did not even charge us for the last night. Staff have plenty of local information and they are willing to answer any questions you have.
it is really reasonably priced and you get a real flavour of lyon old town - I would book it again without a second thought.
breakfast is simple but fresh and very tasty.

Room Tip: ask for an outwards facing room rather than one facing teh internal courtyard. the only problem is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just stayed for the second time in hotel Saint Paul. We got, on request, the same room as the last time: room number 223, on the second floor with a view on the street. SInce last time they installed double windows in the room, probably after complaints about the noise on the street. We never had a problem with it. Yes, it's a area with lot of bars and restaurants and you will hear people passing by, but so what.
It's a small hotel with an excellent service. The people at reception are happy to tell you all about the surrounding, nice restaurants and other interesting stuff in Lyon. The rooms are no big - we had one of the larger ones, about 19 square meters - and don't have airco, but a fan. Out bathroom was big enough with a very nice shower and bath. Because it's a small historic building there is no lift. So be prepared to climb.
Breakfast seems to be okay (7 euro's) but we always went a little bar at the river, closeby, that opened at 8 o'clock in de morning. I think it's called Le Rocambole and we spend great times there, in the morning and for drinks in the evening. Great terrace!
If you want to stay in the neighbourhood for diner in the evening, there are a lot of wonderfull little restaurants in the area. For the 7th time we visited La Nef des Fous in Rue du Boeuf and opposite hotel Cours le Loge you'll will find a little bistro called St Jean, with a cozy - and not to hectic - terrace under the trees. Great Lyonais food. Also Les Adret (a bit more expensive) and Le Bouchon Tirer (if I write that correctly) are excellent. Well, enjoy your stay at Saint-Paul. We're looking forward to come back there fot a third time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first trip to France and we found the hotel was in a perfect location to explore the city. Only had to take the Rhone Express from the airport and a short bus journey to get there.

On arrival the receptionist who I believe was the new owner provided us with really useful information about the City and what it had to offer, giving us a map of the area. We had quite a few restaurants in mind to visit and he was also kind enough to make some recommendations and reservations for us and all were fabulous.

The hotel is set in a beautiful builiding but as the building is quite old the rooms are quite small and basic but perfectly adequate for our short trip (3 nights). We had a little bit of noise but all this was out of the hotels control as they were just passers by, which you can get anywhere in any city.

As with any business there are always areas where money could be spent to make it better and in Saint Paul's case it would be decor, flooring and airconditioning. The reception area and small breakfast area are beautiful and if the same was applied to the rest of the hotel I would have rated it an excellent.

I would definatley recommened this to my friends and family as an affordable, no frills, great base to explore Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel on the edge of old Lyon. Friendly considerate staff, fresh croissants and bread and decent coffee for breakfast, comfortable room. The building is historic Guignol with spiral staircase and no lift, part of the charm. Take advice from the staff about good places for traditional Lyonnaise food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul

Address: 6, rue Lainerie, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Saint Paul 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Paul is situated in the heart of Lyon, in the Saint Paul Renaissance district, close to the magnificent Notre Dame de Fourvière Basilica, with its wonderful view over the city, and the Saint Jean Cathedral.The property is housed in a beautiful 14th century building and welcomes guests in a warm and intimate atmosphere. Within short walking distance you will find typical local restaurants called bouchons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Lyon
Saint Paul Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.