We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't go there” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Trois Maries

Aux Trois Maries
1 rue des Trois Maries | Place de la Baleine, 69005 Lyon, France
478376728
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Aux Trois Maries is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #709 of 2,258 Restaurants in Lyon
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just don't go there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stumbled there by chance, didn't have the reservation, found staff very inattentive, wine list poor and overpriced for place of this level, food was below any description, my partner have had stomach problems the day after. Dreadful place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    31
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice location, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were here for lunch during the week. The staff was friendly and helpfull and the location in old Lyon with a nice terrace is great. The food offered is typical "Lyonese", however we rated the quality only as average. In principal the dishes were OK, but mot realy tasty. Especially the deserts were disapointing. Waiting times between dishes were also far too long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for good honest franch food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a little gem. In the old town of Lyon. Great food at a very reasonable price. Service good and quick.helpful staff.
Terrific place and sure to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely starter and dessert, good setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were the first here and the service was super quick. I had the black pudding with roast apple which was very filling, I genuinely regretted ordering a main meal!! The main meal I chose was the lamb shank which was disappointing after the brilliance of the starter. The lamb was dry and not very appetising. The dessert I had was the chocolate fondant which was brilliant. This was all served up really quickly, which led me to think it wasn't freshly prepared but possibly in the summer months the chef has to do this so that the customers can all be fed?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clémentine A, Propriétaire at Aux Trois Maries, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest, we are pleased to know that, in the whole, you had a good time in our restaurant. We just would like to inform you that the service can be quick during summer time because it is a very busy period and we only have 12 seats on our terrasse... which is very small, when you know that everybody wants to eat oustside ! We are really sorry if you were disappointed with our lamb shank but it is very important for us to tell you that our Chef only cooks FRESH products, sometimes one day before beeing served, because, the lamb shank, for example, needs a 7 hours cooking ... The black pudding tart needs 2 hours for being prepared and cooked..! so you will easilly understand that it can't be cooked " à la minute " !!! But it doesn't mean that OUR PRODUCTS ARE NOT FRESH !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unprofessional staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I can't rate the food but we were asked to wait 20 minutes for a terrace table and then our table was given away. The staff were unfriendly and unprofessional with dealing with us after. There are lots of nice and better value restaurants in the near vicinity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Trois Maries also viewed

 

Been to Aux Trois Maries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Trois Maries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.