We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Paix to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Paix
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place Francisque Regaud | 47 rue du President E. Herriot, 69002 Lyon, France (Cordeliers - Jacobins)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #66 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Terrific location, very helpful staff, good breakfast. Rooms were a decent size, slightly dated and the bed mattress had a rubber or plastic inner liner that did not add to the sleeping experience. Bathroom on the other hand had just been updated. Good central location that I would stay in again for the reasonable rate I was charged

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    115
    52
    18
    14
See reviews for
28
120
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountmellick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed from Monday to Friday and enjoyed every minute of this beautiful city. The hotel was perfectly situated for touring the city in any direction. It was clean and the staff very helpful (thanks Sebastian for your kindness) and I will return but I will pay the extra and get a more comfortable 5th or 6th floor room.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kevin,

Sébastien, in Holiday will be happy to read your comment. All the team and me thank you for your stay. We hope to welcome you again at the 5th floor!

Best regards and merry Christmas.
Julien, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean hotel, rooms OK of adverage european 3star quality, very good triple glazing and nice staff, idea for visiting old Lyon,..,..............................................................................

Room Tip: The superior room is nearer to american standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Bob,

Many thanks for you very nice comment. I hope to welcome you again and give you a very nice stay.
Yours, Julien manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location. Close to everything you will want to see it to eat. Decent value for the money. Facility could use some attention. THE STAFF IS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST AND WILL MAKE YOUR STAY WORTHWHILE.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear David,

Many thanks for your nice comment regarding your stay at our hotel.

I hope welcome you once again.

Yours, Julien manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Swiss
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This is the first time I'm writing a review, but I simply had to after our 3 day stay in lyon with my sister. 29-31 October 170EUR in total for a double.
Central car park at 200 meters 58EUR for 2nights
This a lovely 3 star hotel in the heart of the persque ille in Lyon with lots of things to do & visits within walking distance
we had a lovely clean room & bathroom with coffee making facility on the 3rd floor with high windows opening up to small place with a few bars and restaurants, but with the double glazing we slept like babies.
The small breakfast buffet included in the price was lovely. Fresh fruit salad and bread. salmon,ham and cheese. Different jams, juices & cereals etc...
Last but not the least, the staff were extremely friendly & helpful and give us wonderful advice and tips.
I would most defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Rabz,

Many thanks for your first review. This first one is for us and 5 stars review.
It's very important for us and once again thank you!

Yours, Julien - manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The location is situated at the heart of the old city of Lyon. Great access to shops where you can buy food and shop. No air conditioning unit and June is summer so wasn't able to sleep comfortably, windows can't be opened coz its noisy outside. Hope they install air conditioning units to use during summer.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Cindy,

I hope you're well since your next trip in Lyon.
Thank you for your comment, we will study the possibility for air conditionning .

Best regards , Julien - manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of the Presque L'Ille, between the Saone and Rhone rivers in Lyon. It has a small plaza in front with a couple of restaurants, so there is light and it is not directly on the main street. This is not a luxury hotel, but our room on the second (third for Americans) floor was spacious with a balcony large enough (barely) for two chairs. The bathroom was large although it could use more counter space. The closet was fine but again, the room needed shelf or bureau space. We were there two nights and the staff was friendly. They had free bottled water in the reception area and a coffee machine for individual coffee for free and newspapers to read. For the price, this was a deal, and they have done a good job with a very old building to make it comfortable and cozy. The hotel has a deal with a garage about 200 feet from the front door and we parked for two days for 49 euro. Given Lyon, it is a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: There are two balcony rooms on the second floor Depending on the time of year, these rooms can be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhotel69, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de la Paix, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for commenting on trip advisor. Besides the couple of restaurants that we have just next to us, there are also "Rue Mercière" street which is full of all types of restaurants located only 2 minutes far from us on foot. Also, on the rivers docks, you can find several kinds of bars and night clubs. Regarding the building, it was build in the early 20th century and is making part of the cultural heritage of UNESCO. We would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours, Julien manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Paix

Address: 2 Place Francisque Regaud | 47 rue du President E. Herriot, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de la Paix Lyon is ideally located in the heart of Lyon on the presqu'ile. The hotel is very close to the shopping area, museums and the business center of Lyon.The rooms are decorated in a contemporary style and are fully equiped with modern furniture.For your comfort, the hotel offers you the Wi-Fi, the breakfast buffet and a daily lunch box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Paix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.