We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, rue Delandine, 69002 Lyon, France (Perrache - Charlemagne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I find my 3 nights' stay at this hotel quite nice. The room was small, toilet & shower very narrow, but the bed was comfi and the location was perfect, you basically can walk from the hotel to most of the famous sights in town. It's within 5 minutes' walk to Perrache station, where you can be connected to most other places nearby as well. I quite enjoyed walking from the hotel along the river towards Lyon centre at dusk, which was quite relaxing.

The receptionists spoke good English and were very friendly when we were there.

There was a nice restaurant on the left of the hotel with live music, though a bit pricey, and there was a kebab shop further on the right side of the hotel, but the service there is horrible, so beware!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    82
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
51
38
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is unfortunately located in the planning disaster from the 70s which is Perrache. To walk anywhere you have to walk through a rather unwelcoming subway which provides access to either the city centre by foot in approx ten minutes or you can access the rail station and tram and metro links.
The staff are very good and friendly and speak perfect Emglish.
The room (double in this case) was large enough for a queen size bed but not much else. There is a LCD Tv provided an a dressing table.
The bathroom is small; not terrible - it's similar to that found on a cruise ferry!
If you want a budget hotel in this expensive city where you simply want to sleep and use it as a base than the Victoria is ideal. If you are looking for more, you will
Undoubtedly have to pay much more for your money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a nice value hotel near one of the major train and metro stations. The rooms were the best we have seen in Europe for our budget price range. However, the hotel was not located near any major activities or the center of Lyon, and the bathroom was very small, with the shower practically on top of the toilet. The reception and staff were extremely nice and helpful. Would recommend for a short stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed just one night at this cozy hotel. It was the best option in price/location downtown and it's just 5 min away from the second main train station. It's quite near to the city centre (not walking distance) and the staff were helpful with all our questions

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our 6 night stay at the Hotel Victoria was lovely. The staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly, the location is wonderfully accessible by tram and underground metro (only a 2 minute walk from Parache station) and the room, though modest in size was beautifully clean and comfortable. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends or family staying in Lyon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

the hotel victoria is a surprise. firstly its on the wrong side of the rail tracks and near a prison, but its quiet, the rooms are tastefully decorated and clean, and the amazing St George brasserie is right across the road. i'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here to attend a conference. The main reason for staying here was to try the restaurant opposite. I’m glad I did. The staff are very helpful and friendly, even with my poor school boy French - yes they speak English as well.
The lift is typical for this period of French building- small. But there are stairs of course. The room whilst being slightly small as you would expect from a French townhouse hotel, was very clean and warm. Shower/loo was compact but also clean. Standard French TV channels not satellite. But at this price you wouldn’t expect it. It has free wifi which is a good plus.
The only let down was Breakfast 6 Euros is expensive for what I received, croissant, yoghurt and coffee...
Other than that I would recommend this hotel happily
Area is not the best, but I felt quite safe walking about.
Try the Restaurant opposite brassiere Georges. Fantastic- just the sheer size is impressive
. It is very close to Perrache station. Taxi to Eurexpo is about 30 Euros; taxi from Eurexpo to saint eupery was about 35 Euros. Don’t let anyone tell you it's 20 Euros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 3, rue Delandine, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.