We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did not want to stay in Fawlty Towers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu to your Saves list
Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17, rue professeur Weill, 69006 Lyon, France (Formerly Britania Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“I did not want to stay in Fawlty Towers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Positives - well located, some staff really on the ball. Free wifi.
Negatives- noisy, smelly & dangerous renovations ongoing. It is a bit of a con when you are given a key and find the room is still being built.
Oh and there is no laundry service despite what the website says.

Room Tip: Ask to look at rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    14
    14
    10
See reviews for
4
14
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

It's little tiny hotel which is super well located with descent price in brotteaux, which is a nice neighborhood wit lot's of cafés, resto and small boutics..I'd enjoyed a lot but pls, don't expect a lot. you will get what you paid for. it's tiny hotel with tiny left, rooms r more or less clean, bathroom shower has to be adjust and you hear everything from next room...other hand, you have water boiler with café n tea..that's nice but no fridge in case if you r wondering. Ppl working there are really nice..some teen students during the day were very very polite. I'll stay again and suggest you all with small budgets to stay...

Room Tip: room towards the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hello,
I was with my mum in Lyon in the end of September 2013.
Actually, this hotel is very close to Lyon Gare, 10-15 minutes by step. But this hotel is not very close to sights of Lyon. But we like walking, so there was about 20 minutes to go to the centre of city.
The room was not big. And also we took this single room and lived there together.
The bathroom is very long and the same size like a room)))
Nice place, and also there is an amazing park close to this hotel! Search!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a triple room in this hotel, which turned out to be a distaster. We chose it because of the Lyon Convention Center proximity. We arrived quite late at night and found that the room was extremely dirty! A thick layer of dust covered the wall panels. In the closet we found that part of the wall collapsed and so in the top shelf there was rubble! It smelled of dust in the room.After our complaint, next day the rubble and dust where cleaned, however, the room should have been cleaned before our arrival!
The breakfast offered by the hotel was totally overpriced - hardly any selection, very bad coffee.
Also, the hotel charged us with some guarantee fee even before we came to the hotel, although in the booking.com site it said they wouldn't charge anything. When we checked out we had to pay the whole sum - they wouldn't let us take away the guarantee fee, saying they would pay it back later on. When they didn't, we contacted them via email and then by phone, because they were reluctant to reply. It took us 3 months to actually get the money back through our bank. Even if it was not their fault (they claimed they never got the money!), they should not try to charge you at all before you actually come and stay at their facility.
All in all, the whole attitude was unacceptable. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Walking distance from the central station and almost near the local metro. The location isn’t that useful for the average tourist. Room and bathroom where OK, but the price was more expensive than we paid in Paris and London for comparable or better class of room. Location was noisy after dark. Double glazed windows, but no air-con, so the choice was between being kept awake by the noise or by the hot and stuffy room if you didn’t open the window. Heater was leaking water in our room so there was a wet patch on the carpet. Nothing particularly wrong with the Britania but next time we’d look for something closer to the river and hopefully better value. Wi-Fi access OK.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The hotel is minutes away from the Gare Part Dieu and Charpennes (major subway and tram station). Many restaurants, cafes and bars are nearby, which makes eating very easy. The room was large and spacious, but because my room faces the road, it was a little noisy. The staff were kind and helpful and provided much help in transport and travel guides. I did not eat breakfast in the hotel, instead, the bakery just 1 min away from the hotel bakes the most delicious croissants and baguette sandwiches and perks up my mornings :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed here in for two nights in September whilst attending an exhibition by the Parc Tete D'Or. Not fantastic hotel, but I've stayed in worse. Still at 90 Euro inc breakfast can't complain too much. Room was clean & compact, and breakfast reaassuringly french (croissants, baguette, coffee & jam). Close to Part Dieu mainline station, also close to C1 bus stop which goes to the Tete D'Or in one direction & station in the other, so good location, and quiet at night too.
The surrounding area is very nice, some good bars & restaurants, but best to go into the old town really. Again well located for that - there's a metro station next to the C1 bust stop, which is 5 mins from the hotel.
Would really reccommend La Machonnerie restaurant in old town - close to St Jean Cathedral. Dinner for two (three course) inc drinks about €75 - great meal too !
Forgot to mention the rather curious looking omelette restaurant right opposite hotel, where you can also get a take away omelette - mmmmm nice !!?? Didn't try it though !!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu

Address: 17, rue professeur Weill, 69006 Lyon, France (Formerly Britania Hotel)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britania Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timhotel Lyon La Part Dieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.