We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and affordable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu to your Saves list
ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Boulevard Vivier Merle, 69003 Lyon, France (Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice and affordable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located about 200 meters or 5 minutes from the Lyon Part Dieu train station and about 30 minutes to the city centre. You may drop by the largest shopping mall here on your way to the city. I don't really have much comment about the room for the price. Clean room with decent size, that's all we need for one night stay. However, I just notice that I came here on a Whit day, and most of the restaurants are closed. Nothing is complete without exploring the best gastronomic in this part of the city. Shame on me! Try to avoid June 9th.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine V, Responsable commercial at ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and your comments are very important to us.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
In regards to your remark on the fact that it was a bank holiday and your advise to avoid June 9th, it was indeed whit monday this year, but the date changes every year.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in one of our property, outside of bank holiday days, so you can fully enjoy local gastronomy '-)
Sincerely,
Karine V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    33
    21
    5
See reviews for
21
18
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked the apart hotel for my husband to work in Lyon and took our 2 kids with us. The accomodation was comfortable and fitted the children easily on the sofa bed, with a nice japanese style divide so kids/parents had a separation if needed.

However, the restaurant was closed so we had a long walk to find some food with small kids and then breakfast breads and patisserie etc. were very stale the next morning, suggesting they were delivered Friday.

Parking outside was easy, and the hotel also offered parking behind the hotel. They had a pool and spa which we didn't use, but other residents seemed to even late in the evening.

Room Tip: If you want a late lie-in ask for an externally facing room as some rooms face onto the breakfast co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine V, Responsable commercial at ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and your comments are very important to us.
However as we do not have a pool nor a spa, I am afraid you didn't stay at Residhotel Lyon Part Dieu.
We would be delighted to welcome you for your next trip to Lyon with your family, we have 2 rooms apartments perfect for a family of 4, and the breakfast bakery products every morning
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you at residhotel Lyon Part Dieu.
Sincerely,
Karine V
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is very clean, organized, good size of the room. It is very close to the Gare Part Dieu, and to the trains and metro. But a little far from Vieux Lyon. I think it's a great option if you are going to stay 1 night and you have to pick a train at the Gare.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine V, Directrice des Ventes at ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and your comments are very important to us.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
In regards to the rooms, we would like to inform you that they are now being refurbished.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Karine Voguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main station and half an hour from the city centre. Lyon has a good transport system and theres a variety of tubes,buses or trams from the city centre to the station. Hotel is well equipped and reception staff very helpful.Rooms are clean and well maintained but could do with an upgrade. Breakfast was ok but limited choices

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine V, Director of Sales at ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Our goal is to make the stay of our clients as pleasant as possible and your comments are very important to us.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
In regards to the rooms, we would like to inform you that they are now being refurbished.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Karine Voguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

the hotel was well situated for a stroll into the city centre. there was plenty of secure indoor parking available, which was easily accessed via a lift from each floor within the hotel. It was a buffet style self service breakfast which was lovely. the rooms were of a appartment type which had a kitchenette with a microwave etc. the staff were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is close to Gare Part Dieu which is great. However, it is quite a way from the Centre Ville and we were a bit disappointed with our first impression of Lyon and felt isolated. However, once we worked out the Metro and buses, the location was fine. The room was reasonably spacious although much space is taken up by the breakfast bar. It was also a bit stuffy and we couldn't work out the air conditioning. The reception staff were mixed in their helpfulness but the woman from Argentina was brilliant. Breakfast was good. As the hotel is on a main street, it is rather noisy at night and we had to leave the windows open because of the stuffiness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

La gastronomie of France. We decided to visit and taste. The flight, hotel booking, sightseeing tour, airport shuttle, all were done through the internet. Everything worked without any glitches, at least in our case. The airport shuttle leaves on time folks, don't be late.
We arrived at the Main Terminal in Lyon called Gare Part-Dieu, Vivier-Merle, a seven minute walk from the hotel. This terminal is amazing grouping the train, metro, buses and the city tramway all in one spot. You can also book tours from there.
We reserved a room at the ResidHotel for the convenience of the Main Terminal for we were planning to visit Lyon by bus and tramway, besides, there is a shopping centre facing the terminal that has over 200 boutiques and restaurants.
ResidHotel is an interesting hotel that has 1, 2 and 3 rooms available with a small fridge, a coffee maker, a microwave oven, a 2-ring stove-top, dishes and utensils. We planned to make our own breakfast so that we can have more spending money for shopping. You can have a continental breakfast at the hotel at a cost of 8 Euros or $12. U.S. If we multiply that by 7 days = 56 EU or $84. U.S. saved. The hotel cost was 81 EU ($122. U.S.) per day. The Residhotel is a 3-star, very clean and soundproof. You heard me, soundproof, yes it's true.
In your visit, you must include a place called Bellcour, a wide variety of boutiques and Vieux-Lyon with the best restaurants serving their specialties. Meat lovers will not be dissapointed and the servings are immense. The cost varies between 15 and 25 EU ($22. and $45. U.S.) and worth it. There is a Subway restaurant for those who do not want to spend on a French treat. The people in Lyon are less stressed than in Paris.
We loved the tramway system. A great way to see the city at a low cost of !,4 EU or $2.10 U.S. if you buy ten tickets at a time.
A must-see is Les Halles Paul Bocuse, known as a temple of Lyon's gastronomy and the best in local produce.
Places of interest: Galeries Lafayette, Lyon Part-Dieu shopping centre, facing Gare Part-Dieu, a 7-minute walk from our hotel. Bellcour, boutiques and restaurants. A 20-minute bus ride from the Main Terminal. Parc Tête-d'or, a Zoo with free admission. A 15-minute bus ride. Confluence, a modern, state-of-the-art shopping complex we found by exploring the tramway system end of line No.1. It's brand new and not in the tourist guide as yet.
Other tips and comments: You do not need to tip in restaurants. If you do, leave a very small amount. It's appreciated but not necessary.
*Important: Not all restaurants accept credit cards. Do not carry big bills. You will have a very hard time to get change. Banks no longer have cash-on-hand to change a $100 EU or U.S. You will have to use an ATM machine which is not a good idea.
You will see signs to Beware of Pickpockets in crowded areas. Be vigilant. Have a nice trip.

Room Tip: The hotel has 8 floors. Try to get something from the 6th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu

Address: 79 Boulevard Vivier Merle, 69003 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the city center and ideally located 500 m from the railway station, the residence enjoys a strategic location. You can also close all means of transport for your business or pleasure. Perfectly suitable for all types of stays for one night or several weeks. It offers all the comforts of a three-star residence, open all the year 24 hours a day and the services of a traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ResidHotel Lyon Part-Dieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.