We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, cleanliness to be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence to your Saves list
Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17, Place Carnot, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Dijon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic, cleanliness to be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Excellent location. Located right next to gare perrache and we really appreciated it when we needed to take the train at around 6:30am the day we checked out. The members of staff are helpful in general. We encountered some technical problems regarding to the facilities of the room. We could see that they were willing and trying to help.
Nonetheless, the cleanliness of the hotel rooms needs to be improved. Dirt can be spotted in the bathroom (eg. the sink). What annoys me the most is the horrible smell inside the hotel. It stinks on my clothes days after I left the hotel! The corridors are old, dark and narrow. They're the last place you want to be in alone at night, especially when you need to look for your room and realize the room numbers are not logically allocated.
All in all, it is OK for short, overnight stay but you won't appreciate staying there any longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    46
    61
    64
    42
See reviews for
29
53
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Lyon (Place Carnot). The hotel is OK. They do not have a private parking (but there is a parking at a 2-minute walk distance) close to the train station. Very convenient to trams and trains and restaurants. Rooms are small but OK. Nice view of the Lyon Cathedral if your room is located at a high floor. Breakfast was not included and I preferred to have breakfast outside. Free wi-fi. Furniture is quite old.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked here at last minute to have room with air con as was sooo hot in the City the weekend we where there. Good location to be able to walk and cylce from but prehaps not he most pretty due to the transport hud next door.

Hotel was basic and tired but so long as your not expecting luxuary then it does all you need it too. I would stay there again with no worries.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probaly best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this hotel by mistake. Meant to book the one at station Part-Dieu ( that one looks very nice) by the time we realized, the other hotel was full and we couldn't cancel this one. We also didn't want to look for another place in the late afternoon. We were only staying one night and leaving to pick up a car early in the morning ( at the other train station ) so we made do. There is an abandoned building next door and it just looked dreary around there. Could have been the weather. The lobby was small but modern and reception was polite but the elevator was creepy. The halls were tired and banged up, the room looked dingy. On the plus side we could walk to the old part of town in 15 min. Didn't even use the shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Campanile for one night and we were quite happy with it. It is in need of decorating and re-carpeting but it is very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries were provided.

We booked through booking. com and the advert stated that breakfast was included and this was also on the confirmation of booking. However the following email stated that breakfast was extra and not included. We showed the two conflicting details at reception on arrival but we were told that they did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Room rate was quite cheap for centre of a big city. Only expected to 'crash' for two nights, rather than relax. Reception was okay-helped us find a train time, no fuss. Room was very basic in size(small), decor and furnishings. Breakfast room was functional and adequate-furniture and food fitted budget level, ie cheap.
No surprises, no complaints, it fitted a purpose and was usefully close to railway station. Just don't expect any luxuries.

Room Tip: 1st floor had only a little traffic noise in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my son for 3 nights while in Lyon to see a Europa League football tie. Hotel is well situated right next to Lyon Perrache station and within walking distance of the main sights. This is only a 2 star hotel and is quite inexpensive compared with many other hotels in Lyon and for the money it is good value. The main disadvantage is the size of the rooms and this was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. We had to move one of the beds to get from one side of the room to the other. A desk and open fronted wardrobe were somehow also squeezed in. However the room did come with tea/coffee making facilities, a flat screen tv, and a shower room with toiletries provided and plenty of hot water. The hotel also had free WiFi access in the rooms which worked fine. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence

Address: 17, Place Carnot, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Lyon Centre Perrache Hotel Lyon
Campanile Hotel Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Perrache - Confluence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.