We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Residence to your Saves list
Hotel La Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue Victor Hugo, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice room in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here with some friends over a weekend in August. The building looks a bit old from the outside but inside it has been modernised and the room was very nicely done up and very comfortable. We had a third floor room with a small balcony overlooking the main pedestrianised street running between Place Bellecour and Perache station. It's a good central location for exploring all parts of the city on foot or by bike or public transport.

The staff were friendly and checking in and out was quick and easy. The TV and wifi worked well and the shower was reliable with good water pressure and temperature and the aircon kept the room cool during the hot weather. The only downsides were that it was a bit pricey, but that is the case with any half decent hotel in France in August, and that we thought we had booked a triple room with 3 single beds but ended up with a double and a single.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    176
    72
    8
    2
See reviews for
68
120
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved the location in a pedestrian area. The room was brilliant, a reasonable size and with aircon (32 degrees and high humidity) but the breakfast was very poor. Quite expensive and all packaged with really poor coffee and tea. Not what we've encountered at other French hotels at all! Despite that we would recommend the hotel as it is reasonably priced and access to other areas of Lyon is easy.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor. It had no view but as it was a disabled room (we hadn't asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Location was perfect, in a pedestrian street. Staff were very friendly. They gave us a restaurant recommandation Chabert et Fils, it was very good, one of the best meals in 3 weeks in France, Room was quiet, comfortable, modern decor, little balcony, very clean when we arrived, but daily cleaning could be improved (no vacuum, no bathroom cleaning). Reasonable rate. Easy walk to restaurants, shops, train station, metro., Vieux Lyon We stayed in a triple room and didn't have problem with the lock. Lyon is a beautiful city and we were very happy to visit it. We bought the 2 days pass (free access to museums and transportation) and it worth the price. I recommend this hotel without hesitation, it is a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Hotel La Residence is in a perfect location for exploring Lyon - in the centre of the shopping area, near a foot bridge to the old city, walking distance to museums, restaurants and cafes. Note: it is on a pedestrian-only street so vehicular access is limited (although my taxi gleefully ignored this). And it was moderately priced. Location and price - couldn't ask for more!

The La Residence is an older hotel with the charm and idiosyncrasies one can expect of such. My room was a spacious corner room with windows on two sides; my friend had a small room next door. The door lock system was, as some reviewers report, unique; however it wasn't rocket science and could be figured out easily. The front desk staff were very helpful and willing to advise on restaurants, museums and finding one's way around Lyon. They spoke excellent English and were patient with my fractured French - who could ask for anything more? The breakfast was the standard French hotel buffet breakfast which includes something for everyone - and the croissants were good! The room had central air conditioning and was thankfully cool during the heat wave.

The La Residence is not a luxury hotel. It provides all the usual amenities (soap, shampoo, shower gel, bar fridge, in-room safe, etc. etc.) but feels basic and comfortable rather than luxurious.

Would I stay here again - you bet! Of the hotels I stayed in during my 21 days in France, this was by far my favourite. I think that is because it lacked any pretension and was, as its name says, a residence for those of us away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good location. We parked our car in the garage arranged by hotel 20E as parking impossible on the street. Trying to get in our room proved to be our biggest challenge with the strangest locking system on the door we gave up in the end and asked the man on reception to show us how it worked. The room we had was big and suited our family of 4 with a double bed, 1 single and 1 bed that pulled out of a cupboard. The room looked newly decorated and very modern. Only fault tv and fridge didn't work but as we hadn't come away to watch tv didn't bother us. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops close by. Ideal stop over on way to South of France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are so many improvements that can be made to this hotel, it is shame some aren't implemented.

The key system is ridiculous. There is no handle on the door, so you have to close it with the key which you have to insert, turn 90 degrees, then insert it again. To shut the door you have to reverse the process. My partner wanted to leave to go to the market without waking me up, but if he did this and left the key at reception, there was no way I could leave as you need the key to shut the door.

Rooms come with a bath or shower. We asked for one with a bath. It had a hand-held hairwashing attachment. Why did they not install a combined bath/shower like almost all other hotels?

The decor is very dated in style, but does not seem too worn. They need a better interior designer.

Saying all this, the room was not expensive, the location was fantastic and the air conditioning was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

A comfortable place smack in the center of town, not easy to get to by car (it does have a nearby garage, though) and with rooms maybe a bit small. The reasonable rates compensate somewhat, although breakfast is a bit overpriced at 8€ (you can get excellent pastries and coffee across the road for about 3 € per person).
Within walking distance of all places of interst including the old town and the Croix Rousse quarter, it can be a reasonably priced option if you decide to stop in this very french and very nice city. Aim for the lower end of the price scale, as at over 100 € this hotel would be too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 18, rue Victor Hugo, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hotel
La Residence Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.