We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Hotel du Theatre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue de Savoie, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
ontario
Top Contributor
487 reviews 487 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I enjoyed this hotel. A bit off putting when you first approach it as it is down a fairly minor and shabby street. You have to go up three flights to get to reception but it is worth it. I had a view overlookiing the magnificent theatre square. The room I had was large and sparsely furnished and the bed was clean and adequate. Not very high end but then neither is the price. I had the breakfast and it was ok, nothing special.

Room Tip: Having a room overlooking the square may sometimes have noise disadvantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    64
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
54
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel has a very convenient location, walkable distance to the "Vieux Lyon", to the city shopping street (where I found iphone adaptor / charger) and a restaurants' street.

We stayed in Lyon for overnight to meet friends there and went back to Paris. On my way back to Paris on TGV, I realized I forgot my new hoodie sweater in the hotel, and when I called the hotel number in Paris, they thanked me for calling them... I received the sweater in 2 days in my hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just back from 4 nights in Lyon, hotel was in the value end of the market , plus points great location ok breakfast and quite cheap, minus points walls are quite thin rooms are small and basic and no lifts , but all said we thought it was goodvalue

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel's good locatation is perfect to optimize your walkings. My single room was simply, but clean and spacious. The staff is very kind. Very good cost-benefit relationship. It's a very old but preserved building. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location except I could find no bakeries nearby for my almond croissant fix every morning. If you can afford it at all, I would spring for a larger room; I could barely fit in the wc. Don't bother with the breakfast here either. If I were to stay in Lyon again I would likely not stay here but seek a better place in the area. And yes, there are many flights of stairs to climb each in and out. The housekeeper drove my wife crazy too, moving her shower cap, etc. every day while not taking out recycle bottles fro a couple of days. There's better accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street in front, the ones that view the courtyard would be quieter wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Hotel du Theatre for 2 nights back in May 2013 and we had a great experience! The room was small, but considering what we paid for just a shower room, it was a good deal. The best part about the hotel was the breakfast! We were served a typical French breakfast with breads, orange juice and coffee/tea and surprisingly it really filled us up! Another great bonus what that the hotel had free wifi with a pretty good connection. The only negatives were that there was a lot of stairs and that there wasn't a great plumbing system so there was quite a lot of noise whether you or the neighbours flushed. Other than those few downsides, the hotel was great! The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the hotel is in a great location. We would recommend Hotel du Theatre to anyone visiting Lyon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Situated in a great location in Lyon, this hotel is located on the upper floors of a portion of a building. Quarters are very tight for all aspects of the hotel, but room was clean. Breakfast was very European - some French bread, croissants, coffee, and orange juice. Hotel has no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up many flights of stairs to get to the lobby and then your room. Was quite happy with the hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 10 rue de Savoie, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Theatre 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel du Théâtre welcomes you in a very nice place: in the town center of Lyon, enjoying a beautiful view of the theatre and the Célestins place. Located in the peninsula between Bellecour place and Saint-Jean area, 1 mn by feet far from restaurants, shops and cultural sites.The réception is on the second floor. There is no lift.The hotel is open all year long, and the reception welcomes you between 7 am and 11 pm.24 personalized rooms: 13 rooms faced on the theatre. The other rooms are over a very peaceful street.Continental breakfast from 7 a.m to 12All our rooms have a bathroom (shower or bath with hair-dryer) and toilets.TV LCD with international satellite channels in every room.WIFI access free of charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.