We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff, clean rooms. Lots of stairs, thin walls and creaky floors.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue de Savoie, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 168 hotels in Lyon
The Beautiful North
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Great location, good staff, clean rooms. Lots of stairs, thin walls and creaky floors.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Affordable hotels in city centres tend to be affordable for one of two reasons. Either they are in undesirable areas, or they suffer from small rooms and a lot of stairs. This is the case in most city centre hotel I've stayed in; it's a consequence of the high price of property in desirable areas. Hotel de Theatre fits into the second category.

Excellent location, 2 minutes walk from the Saone River. It’s in a grand old building, which backs onto the exclusive Place des Celestins by the magnificent theatre – there’s a lovely view of the square from the hotel window. This is a very safe area, we both felt perfectly comfortable walking around here at all hours. It took us about 10 minutes to cross the nearest bridge into the historic St Jean area from our hotel. There are many tourist-friendly restaurants a 2 minute walk around the corner, in the Rue de la Monnaie area.

Room was very clean, a reasonable size and nicely decorated, but the en-suite bathroom was small and the bath was tiny. Unless you’re a lot smaller than average, or a skilled contortionist, ensure your bathroom has a shower, not a bath ! Although we had a shower over the bath, it was not useable as the fitting had broken from the wall.

I also found the bed to be too small, my feet stuck out of the end – yet again, this is typical of old hotels with small rooms in good locations.

If travelling by car, behind the hotel in Place des Celestins there is an underground car park. If travelling by train/ plane, the hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station at Place Bellecour. After doing some research, noting we’d need to change trains on the metro, as well as crossing several city streets from the square, we decided to take a taxi instead. This cost us 13 Euros, in moderate traffic. There is also a ‘parking station’ of free city bicycles in Place des Celestins.

The hotel reception is two floors up a wide stone staircase (no lift). The reception area is a large room with tables and chairs where breakfast is served – once again, nice views out to Place des Celestins. Note that the breakfast is not self-service, you won’t be given certain items unless you ask for them specifically, e.g. cereal.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke good English (but were happy to speak French at my request.)

The stairs up to the other floors from the reception area are very steep and narrow. If you’re carrying a suitcase in each hand, you have to walk sideways – easier said than done. Coming from street level to your room is consequently quite a workout – even on a cold day you’ll be toasty by the time you reach your room. There is no lift, so this hotel would be completely unsuitable for someone with limited mobility.

Although the doors and walls were quite thin, and the floorboards creaky, the other guests were all well-behaved and quiet so we had no problems with noise. However, I can imagine this could be a problem with noisy neighbours. Note that the location is a very quiet location on a side street, you don’t get much noise from the street below.

The biggest selling point of this hotel is it’s location, but it would not suit everybody. If you can’t face the flights of narrow stairs, or you’re a light sleeper, it’s probably unsuitable for you.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter with better views, but more stairs to climb. Lower rooms are more accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    57
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
52
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Hotel du Theatre offers great value for money. The room are not smaller than in average French hotels and they are clean and quite charming. Bathroom is up to date, but for some reason there was no shower curtain. No AC in the room (not to be expected either), but a fan that was enough to chill the room on two hot days in June. The hotel serves a continental breakfast, but with some extra attention to detail (like fruit juice with pulp and a nice breakfast area overlooking the theatre in the square). The only negative things are no elevator and no shower curtain, but if you can live with that, I would definetely recommend the hotel. Oh, of course, almost forgo, tGREAT location....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First off, Lyon is highly underrated as a destination. I would go again in a second and I would stay at Hotel du Theatre. We had a room on the same floor at the reception and dining area. We were told there might be some noise but we heard none. The view of the square was excellent. I loved waking up in the morning and opening the big french doors and looking out over the square. Bathroom and bedroom were both spotless and spacious and the location is perfect. A quick walk to everything and quite easy access to the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a room that overlooks the theatre and we were very happy with the views. Yes, we had to haul our luggage up four flights of stairs but the reward is that you get nicer views and less noise from the street below. Both the room and the bathroom are small but adequate and functional. There is no A/C but a fan was provided and it helped. There are many restaurants nearby and it is just a short walk across the foot bridge to Vieux Lyon. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We asked the hotel to help us call for a taxi on our day of departure and the taxi arrived right on the minute!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The location is great. The room was clean, but sparce. The bed was large, though the matress was well worn. Sheets were clean and in good shape. Our room faced the theatre and it's square. Plenty of good restaurants in easy walking distance. Don't bring heavy luggage....it's a walk-up. Internet was adequate. Would stay here again. Price is very good.

Room Tip: Parking is limited. If you're driving in, get there early and they might give you the only "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for a week, travelling to Lyon for business. Following the advice in other reviews I preventively booked a superior Single room and I am very pleased with this choice. The room is huge (it is actually a triple adapted to be a single) with a queen-sized bed. Internet is free and functional in the room. I am very satisfied with the choice of this hotel.

The hotel is very well located, right in the heart of the beautiful Lyon, few minutes from Bellecourt square and Metro Station. There are several restaurants and a lot of clubs in a walking distance from the hotel. Also you can find good places for breakfast (check the cafe Pignol in Rue Emile Zola, 2 minutes from the hotel, they have awesome pastries (yet less awesome orange juices and cafes)).

There are some drawbacks however. Walls are extremely thin so if your neighbors are noisy you can easily hear them till they won't go to sleep or when they will wake you up. My bathroom had a bath rather than a shower, however there was no curtain or barrier to avoid to spill water out of the bath so I had to kneel or sit in the bath in order to keep the floor dry. Also towels and sheets might not be perfectly clean. In the sense that although fresh from laundry, several times, either I fond them with some spots of unspecific nature or some hair. Nevertheless for the very competititve price they offer ($68 w/out breakfast) and the quality of the room, I think that these few aspects can really be neglected. Towels were not so dirty after all. And in the worse case you can get a replacement of your sheets.

Be aware that rooms do not have A/C but only a fan which might be annoying during the summer, and window glasses are thin that is not noise insulating (this is why you would like to ask for upper floors and room view on Rue de Savoie).

Cleaning of the room is every day during the morning, regardless of holidays.
Also keep in mind that the hotel is located on the second-to-fourth floor of the building and there is not elevator. If you have a heavy bag, you need to do some effort to carry it up to the reception/room. But I think what you get pays back the effort. I would not suggest to have breakfast in the hotel. It's nothing special for what they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior cateogry room, and possibly quite (higher floors and view on Rue de Savoie).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Hotel du Theatre is located in the centre of old Lyon between Bellecour and Saint-Jean. Entrance is gained up two flights of stairs from the rear of the building (no lift). This is a little inconvenient but more than made up for by the location and price. The rooms vary in size and view considerably and it is worth the few extra euros for the Superior room which had a magnificent view over the Celestins Place and theatre both day and night. The Breakfast and Breakfast room were very pleasant and more than adequate. Riverside bars, restaurants and markets were all less than 10 minutes walk, one of the best restaurants was beneath the hotel facing the Square. It would be hard to find a better value hotel in Lyon with such a great location so long as you don't mind the stairs.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view over the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 10 rue de Savoie, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Theatre 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel du Théâtre welcomes you in a very nice place: in the town center of Lyon, enjoying a beautiful view of the theatre and the Célestins place. Located in the peninsula between Bellecour place and Saint-Jean area, 1 mn by feet far from restaurants, shops and cultural sites.The réception is on the second floor. There is no lift.The hotel is open all year long, and the reception welcomes you between 7 am and 11 pm.24 personalized rooms: 13 rooms faced on the theatre. The other rooms are over a very peaceful street.Continental breakfast from 7 a.m to 12All our rooms have a bathroom (shower or bath with hair-dryer) and toilets.TV LCD with international satellite channels in every room.WIFI access free of charges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.