We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prefect for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rue Mazenod, 69003 Lyon, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #35 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prefect for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel very well located and quiet, just 10 min walking to place Belcour. Wifi in the room, the system of connexion is pretty annoying. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast was good with salty and sweet things and warmly welcome. Recommended !!

Room Tip: Ask one with the balcony :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    203
    78
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
200
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotselaar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent hotel, if your looking for a hotel close to the city centre.
Clean rooms & bathrooms.
Be aware of :
No bar in the hotel and mini-bar contains only non-alcohol beverages.
Airconditioning is only working in summer
Breakfast area to minimal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice and quiet location about 15 minutes' walk to the city center. Close to the Rhone riverside - nice walk along the quay. Clean and cozy room with a comfy bed, a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, and a safe. Free wi-fi in the rooms (it was a bit slow at times but that is not uncommon in hotels during the evening "rush hour"). Friendly and helpful front desk staff.

There is only one small elevator, so taking your luggage down at checkout can take longer than you expect. Breakfast is overpriced (EUR 14 as far as I remember) but there are lots of cheaper options in the area around the hotel. All things considered, good value, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the beginning of October. We arrived by car and it was very convenient to use the parking in the hotel, which we booked beforehand. The hotel staff was very friendly and we got the room that we asked for: higher floors, quit location, one queen or king bed.

The room was perfect, descent size, clean, bathroom is good size wi-fi was working pretty good.

The hotel receptionist was kind enough to recommended the restaurant he and his girlfriend used La Tessee, which ended up to be absolutely beautiful experience in the culinary capital of the World. I would definitely recommend this one.

Overall we liked our stay in this hotel, which is very conveniently located close to the river and a short walking distance from city main attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanchep, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location for this hotel is great. Easy walk over the bridge to great restaurants. Laundromat is only about 500m away.

They are desperately understaffed so we had to wait for our room to be cleaned before we could get the keys.

The hotel is also stifling hot. The air conditioner did not work because the entire hotel had been switched over to winter mode. We complained and were given a fan which worked very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

For the price this is a really comfortable hotel, decent size rooms, and well located close to the river. Just a few minutes walk across the bridge is center of Lyon. Ten minute walk takes you tO the "must see" Les Halle food paradise by Paul Bocuse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a very good time in Lyon and this hotel is nicely located. Modern decoration with flat screen TV, walking distance from all main shopping areas and tourist places. Easy access to public transportation. We had a beautiful room with view on the Rhone river.The staff was welcoming and helpful. The place is quiet and our room was clean and spacious. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson

Address: 6 Rue Mazenod, 69003 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Lyon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 54 rooms, this hotel is a short distance from the banks of the Rhone, between Place Bellecour and the Part Dieu business district. Entirely renovated NON SMOKING rooms with the latest in modern decor. Features broadband WiFi Internet, LCD TV, minibar, safe, feather bed and airconditioning. Bathrooms with bathtub and hair dryer. 7 Junior Suites, maximum comfort, unspoiltd view over the Rhone and Fourviere hill. Private parking, hoist access max. 2000 Kg. Luxury hotel for tourism and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Wilson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel du Pont Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.