We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biz trip by train to Lyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52, rue de la Villette, 69003 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 187 Hotels in Lyon
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    181
    41
    5
    1
See reviews for
55
72
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here twice in a 1-week span - once before departing France for a quick visit to Barcelona; then upon returning before a train ride to Tours the next morning. Both times the hotel delivered perfectly on its purpose.

The first visit was me and my nearly 18-year-old son. The tiny room was exactly what we expected, so it seemed perfectly adequate (i.e., people accustomed to and expecting a larger, American-sized room might feel cramped). The unusual bunkbed arrangement was comfortable, and we could not hear even the tiniest sound from anywhere, so we slept great.

We had a mid-morning flight the next day, and the hotel's location at the train station where the Rhone Express train to the airport is located was very convenient.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Each staff member wears a nametag indicating which languages they speak, so if you are not comfortable speaking French, they can help you. Since we spoke some French (and enjoy trying to communicate in a country's native language), they helped us using French, but spoke especially clearly just for us.

When we returned a week later upon returning from Barcelona, we also had my wife with us. She was amused by the tiny room, but expressed the same satisfaction with the hotel.

We did eat the breakfast offered by the hotel. It was very good and very reasonably priced compared to most hotels.

The only downside of our visit (which has nothing to do with the hotel) was our inability to find a restaurant for dinner with decent food and reasonable prices. We should have asked the front desk staff for advice, as I'm certain they would have steered us to a good choice.

This is a perfect hotel for someone connecting to travel through the train station and/or airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in.this hotel when visiting lyon. Could not fault the location its directly opposite the rhone express tram which brings you from the airport to the city centre. Its also a short stroll to the main station and the metro. Room is clean and.comfortable, no complaints especially given the reasonable rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After coming from Paris and its prices finding this hotel was a relief. Front desk personnel were friendly and spoke English and Spanish. The breakfast buffet was cheap and with good selection of food and beverages. The hotel is next to the train station where you can take the metro to the touristic areas and very close to the Part Dieu mall. There you can find a Carrefour which sells good food for cheap prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely new hotel, all staff very helpful especially the breakfast team who were fabulous. Location perfect-only yards from the station but perfectly quiet. Bed fine but didn't like the design of the pillows, rather uncomfortable for my liking. Only criticism is lack of directions on the website! There is a Tram that takes you direct from the Airport to the hotel, a seamless journey BUT why is it not advertised on the website? Overall best hotel I have stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was great - clean, secure and in an great convenient location
Only problem was getting there by car. I use the GPS throughout my travels in France. I rely on the GPS coordinates provided by the hotel, to lead me with pin-point accuracy. I have not been disappointed in the other hotels, but this one led me in circles.
Please update the hotels' coordinates

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just next to Lyon part dieu station. There are two main exits for the train station, one of them heading to the metro station entrance (with galaries Lafayette across the road). Take the other exit to locate the hotel. It is a 5 minutes walk on the right side of the station. The logo is in green unlike ibis logo which is in red. Checking in was smooth and staff are friendly/helpful. The room is small but clean. Only complain is that there is no where to hang your clothes or towel in the bathroom which is quite inconvenient. Furthermore, there is no door knob for the bathroom but a round hole on the door for opening and closing the door. This is kinda weird if you are sharing the room with your friends as they could see you shower through the hole! The design is weird and hopefully something could be done about it. Otherwise, this hotel is a good choice if you are visiting Lyon and is travelling on budget.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu

Address: 52, rue de la Villette, 69003 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 187 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.