We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent option in Lyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu to your Saves list
Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 rue de la Villette, 69003 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mamaroneck, New York, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent option in Lyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu is a modern, well-run and comfortable hotel. It's location a few steps from the railroad station makes it very convenient for travelers arriving and departing by rail -- including those, like us, who opt to take the TGV directly to Charles de Gaulle Airport. The rooms are amazingly quiet thanks to two double-paned windows. The hotel located in a newer, more commercial part of the city but the center and old town can be reached in a few minutes by subway. We had one dinner at the hotel, mainly convenience, but there are many better dining options in Lyon, a gourmet paradise. Overall, it's a definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    322
    37
    7
    0
See reviews for
120
332
70
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First class, if you are accustomed to higher end North American hotels this is your place. 42 inch tv, large comfortable bed, amazing shower all in a decent size room. You can't go wrong here. And for 140 euros for the upgraded room it's a decent value, especially compared to Paris.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the Mercure Part Dieu while en route home from a Rhone River trip. It is very close to the train station! But unlike many French hotels near a station, this one is very modern, from the art work in the lobby, to the restaurant, to the room. We had a view west and could see the Alps from the room. Staff were very helpful in giving us directions to a nearby museum, etc. It was a rainy evening so we ate at the hotel restaurant despite the temptations of Lyon's many great restaurants. The hotel restaurant offered a great selection with good wine pairings. Breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: West facing rooms (likely at upper floors) have a view of the alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked three rooms with friends in June and stayed two nights. As a former travel editor used to the service standards and luxuries of Asian hospitality, I've rarely found European hotels in similar star rankings up to scratch. So I didn't hold much hope for the Mercure - we had a very decent rate as an Accor member, and were managing our expectations.
It was an absolute surprise and delight from the start.
Our room was spacious and well-designed, and for someone who's picky about cleanliness - spotless. The shower was sheer bliss, the bed large and comfortable.
Some mention needs to be made of the excellent service at reception. We were checked in by Nicholas, who was warm and helpful, especially when we mentioned some trouble with parking.
But it was Cecile who stood out for us at another point - she had finished her shift and was almost out the door when we joined the queue at the desk. Always friendly throughout our stay, she walked back, put her bag down and smilingly motioned us over. That has never happened in our two years living and travelling around Europe - we're more used to service staff rushing off on the dot or trying to avoid eye contact if busy.
Location-wise, we didn't have a problem - it's a quick walk to La Part Dieu, one of Europe's largest shopping malls, and there's easy transport access to the Presqu'île.
So in a nutshell, yes I would highly recommend it, especially given the rates they offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is located right outside Lyon's La Part Dieu railway station and if arriving by train is an easy walk with wheelie bags. Its a very new hotel and the rooms are quite large, especially by European standards, and has a lift to all floors.
We had a Privilege Room which includes the additional free WIFI, safe & mini-bar (free soft drinks). The room was around 30 sqm, including a bathroom with very good shower (some rooms also have a bath) and a separate WC.
The bed was very comfortable, on the firm side with soft pillows and long enough for tall people.
The hotel has a restaurant, but we only used it once for what proved to be a basic hotel breakfast offering including what tasted like powdered scrambled eggs. Expensive for what you get.
As other reviewers have noted this hotel is not in the central part of Lyon. However, a short walk through to the other side of the station and you have access to the light rail, tram and bus systems. (We bought packs of 10 tickets from the machine.) It is only a few minutes by tram over to the river and the older part of Lyon - but we walked it on more than one occasion just for the exercise and a look around. But it is easy to navigate around this city (population around 450k) by public transport . And for evening excursions to restaurants etc, there is a Taxi rank right outside the station just a couple of hundred metres from the hotel. There were always taxis there.
On the other side of the railway station is also the large new La Part Dieu shopping complex. Any shoppers should also look in the streets that run north off Place Bullecour.
Lyon has a multitude of restaurants. We ate at the Paul Bocuse brasseries Le Nord and Le Sud. Both were good. (He also has L'Ouest and L'Est).
The proximity of the hotel to the station is also handy if you plan on hiring a car, as all the car hire offices are directly across the car park outside the back door of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

soundproofing is exceptional - i didn't hear a thing altho ur looking at the trains ! our room was opposite the lift so i expected the worst .. NOTHING .. no sound .. nada .. i have never been in a hotel that quiet in my life and that includes pricey 5* too !

huge room and gorgeous big bathroom with fantastic shower pressure, wc is separate to bathroom, plenty of storage space, chairs, desk, fridge (not mini bar), safe, hairdryer, shampoo, shower gel and tea/coffee + kettle, good quality beds, pillows, etc .. the design and lay-out of the room was perfect ..

great breakfast buffet choice altho the strambled eggs had a strange taste (i'm being difficult now) and bacon ran out which i had to point out ..

it's literally next door to the train station part dieu, so don't expect a view .. but i don't tend to go to hotels for the view from my room, but for the visiting ! and it's great coz they keep ur luggage for free after check-out and i was leaving by train, so it was perfect ..

most staff were very friendly and helpful - the odd one or two failed to smile but did their jobs anyway ..

i paid €100 p.n. incl. breakfast for a twin deluxe end oct 2012 which is extremely good !

the only cons were the scrambled eggs, no waste paper bin in the wc (for the ladies if u see what i mean) and only a face cloth as a towel and no hook to hang it from .. see, that is how good the hotel was when the only things i can find to complain about are that trivial !

definitely recommend it and would go back ..

Room Tip: i was very happy in 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu

Address: 50 rue de la Villette, 69003 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the train station, The Mercure Lyon La Part-Dieu is located in the center of Lyon's business district, just a few steps from the historic heart of the city. Its location has direct access to both the airport and major road networks, making it ideal for business and leisure trips. Food served in the wine bar. The 323 sq.ft. (30 m2) soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms offer a warm welcome and relaxing atmosphere whether you are on your own or with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.