We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see Lyon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Tourist Office

Lyon Tourist Office
Place Bellecour | Office du tourisme de Lyon, 69002 Lyon, France
+33 4 72 77 69 69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Tours & Activities in Lyon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Plan your stay in Lyon: book a hotel, pick a restaurant, find out about exhibitions, shows and unmissable historical and cultural attractions...
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to see Lyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We purchased a two day hop on hop off tour of the city. It was great value and a great way to see Lyon and learn its history. Well worth hopping off at the top of the hill at the Basilica and having lunch in the restaurant next door.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Croix-Rousse Silk tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We did the morning tour of the Silk District, with Ann as our guide. We started at the Metro then headed over to the terrace which has a magnificent view of Lyon and Fourvière. Ann started by giving a history of Croix-Rousse, pre silk industry and without this explanation, we would not ave known that almost all the buildings are early C19th, even though the area is much older. She then took us among the buildings, explaining the architecture, the tall windows, the steep staircases down into and between buildings, the traboules etc. She even took us into a passageway that showed the battened ceilings which anchored the looms. We finished with a visit to a silk studio and were shown how the silk us both hand painted and screen printed. A fascinating and informative tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andenes, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lyon has everything you would like. Nice resturants, lots of culture and great shopping!
It's great for familys and for couples. The great thing is that it is so close to other citys as well, only 1.5 hour from Geneva in Switzerland and great skii area.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beaujolais Winery tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a fantastic day out with Olivier visiting a Beajolais winery. We also stopped for a wander around Oingts and Perouges. Olivier was a great host and this made for a great and interesting day out. The tour also included a stop at a small village restaurant for some typical regional food. There were only 6 people on this tour, 3 Americans, 2 English and one Belgian so Olivier did the tour in English which made it very easy for us. The maximum number on this tour would be 8 and the vehicle was very comfortable. Would recommend this trip as it gives you an appreciation of the surrounding countryside and beautiful golden stone of the region.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here and There
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourism Office and Must See in Lyon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

Excepted for a smiling blond young lady that saw our disappointment and finally helped us, we didn't find the Tourism Office staff nice or willing to assist. Most of the staff seemed focused on selling visits and city cards (kind of tour package offer) more than providing free information. There were not so many tourists that day, but any question seemed to bother them ! We've been in many Tourism Office when travelling, this one was the less helpful and pleasant we've met ! Our advice : get the free map of the city there and prepare your visits on your own ! Don't miss walking on the banks of Saône and Rhône, bouchons restaurants, the Musee des Beaux Arts and its treasures, the Fourviere Basilica (architecture, scenic view...), the Vieux Lyon and its traboules.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Tourist Office also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Tourist Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyon Tourist Office, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.