We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Reine Astrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Reine Astrid to your Saves list
Warwick Reine Astrid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Boulevard des Belges, 69006 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #31 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Wareick Reine Astrid is such a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. It is close to the Central Park and to the river. The staff is very nice, and the room service is excellent. The rooms are very spacious and beautiful. I got the suite, which has a kitchen, a master bedroom, a guest room/living room and a bathroom. It was a great room with an AMAZING view. Also, there is an underground parking which is great because parking is hard to find in the city and they also offer free wifi. The keys to the room are also the handles, which gives you a safer feeling and the door locks with steel locks which is both secure and very impressive. Finally, the restaurant at the entrance is very fancy (and pricey). (If you feel like having a fancy dinner, the ducking, also known as 'la Canette' is VERY recommended).


All in all, the hotel is great. However, the fitness room is small and when I went the treadmill was out of service. Also, the elevator is very small. But ignoring those minor setbacks, the experience was better than I could have imagined.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    145
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
110
88
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe-Claire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely location on Boulevard des Belges, in front of the fabulous Parc de la tête d'or, a bus ride away (3 stops; 2 euros, bus stop the museum just across the street) from Place des Brotteaux where there are exquisite restautants such as Bocusse l'Est, famous art deco Brasserie des Brotteaux, and George Blanc's The Splendid.
The Warwick Reine Astrid has appart hotels for long stays (55 square meters all equiped with kitchen and living) as well as rooms for a short stay
there is parking under the building in that busy area, the garden in the back makes you forget we are in a big city. A short walk from the Rhone River and the nearby Croix Rousse.
Rooms are spacious, service is friendly and excellent; breakfast is always great
I have been staying there in and out for the last 8 months. It is the perfect place for me.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear “ Michel_Josée”,

Thank you so much for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your positiv experience . Your are really a good Ambassador for the Warwick Reine Astrid but also for Lyon gastronomic !!destination

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the size and the layout of the suite and also our prime location just in front of the beautiful Tête d’Or park. It’s always a huge pleasure when our clients let us know how much they appreciated spirit and service of our hotel. Taking care of our guest is the priority of the staff and they are grateful of all your good remarks. Thank you also for your nice comment about our breakfast and for mentionning the friendless of the staff. You can be sure that your review has been shared with our team.

Thank you again for your recommendation

It would be an honor to have you back with us at the Warwick Reine Astrid for your next stay in Lyon


Best regards,

Jérôme Billy
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a weekend recently with my family. Have seen some less praising reviews, which I understand but disagree with, mainly because this is so well priced and located a db quality is good if not new.
Location. Really perfect, beside famous park tete de dor, it's really well located. The park is a must see. The street is very nice, we'll appointed area, reminds me of south Kensington a bit.
Rooms. Ok, a bit old but not shabby. We had a suite which had a bedroom, a kitchen, a huge living area and dining, and a bathroom. Must have been 60 sq meters. Quite area so could keep window open to sleep...
Food. Fine, but just eat breakfast here. Lyon has 8 thousand brilliant restaurants. Breakfast was fine. Smaller choice than used to in Europe but good.
Very well priced , esp for a family, no reason to stay in anothe place

Room Tip: All similar I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear “Handad”,

Thank you so much for your nice review with Tripadvisor’s travelers. I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your family stay, mainly the layout and the size of our suite and also our prime location between the beautiful Parc de la Tête d’Or.It’s true that the size of our suite from 35 to 77 sqm is quite amazing !
Thank you also for mentioning the quality of the catering. Lyon is really THE gastronomic destination !!
Taking care of our guest is the priority of the staff and they are grateful of all your good remarks.
It would be an honor to have you back with us at the Warwick Reine Astrid.

Best regards,

Jérôme Billy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is such a disappointment. I booked it as it is a favourite hotel listed in my company's list. What a mistake!! 4 stars? Maybe for the 80's but not for 2014. You go to hotels and pay to enjoy a different environment, not to feel like you are spending overnight at your grand mother's house!!

Management team, shake up and shake the design out if you want to keep clients. Too expensive for what it is. Cold and unfriendly lounge. High prices for a simple glass of wine.

The rooms are not even rooms but are apartments / flats. Everything is almost empty and almost un-furnished (my husband told me that he felt that "the huissiers" came over to take everything out for lake of your mortgage payment. Everything is so dated even the bath. A kitchen, really? Terrible ventilation in the toilets.
I don't recomment and won't never come back ever.

Friendly staff though..

Room Tip: dont get rooms there if you are planning a romantic get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear "nono19fr",

I'm really sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel but I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

First of all, thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff. Concerning your comment, I well noticed that you haven't appreciated our room's classic style and it's essential for me to be informed by our guests about their perception, positive or negative regarding our prestations. Be assured that we take all your comments with high consideration .


Thank you again for your feedback.
Best Regards,

Jérôme Billy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A recent stopover in Lyon brought me to this hotel where I booked a Premier Suite. More like a large apartment with full fitted kitchen, bedroom and huge lounge-dining room, plus 2 balconies. So far so good. Fixtures and fittings were a little dated but everything worked as expected. Hotel has fee paying parking, although I found one just outside as the hotel is located in a quiet residential district. It is a little remote from the center although the Lyon metro line is a 10min walk with easy access to other parts of the city.
My one gripe, and it's a big one, for a four star hotel cannot afford to close the its restaurant on a saturday night. I asked if it was a one-off, but no, it's closed every saturday night. Not what I expect from a 4* city center hotel in a major city. It's true that once checking on the website, it is clearly stated, but it should still be open on a saturday. Room service works the same hours of the restaurant.
Sadly it spoiled a perfectly good hotel with surprisingly large rooms at a very reasonable price. I may consider again if travelling during the week, but a weekend visit to this interesting city will lead me elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room 504 was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “ Adrian H”,

I thank you for sharing your remarks with tripadvisor members . I’m glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and mainly the layout & size of our suite.
For your information, even if our restaurant is closed on Saturday & Sunday, we propose cold dishes in our bar and our reception team is at your entire disposal in order to advise you some restaurants situated at walking distance from the hotel in “ Brotteaux” area.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again for a Lyon city trip !

Thank you again for your nice comments,

Best regards,

Jérôme Billy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room 700, 2 bed, 2 bath, huge lounge and small kitchen
We found the accommodation very good and great value for money. The staff are all really friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Prices in bar a little expensive but on the whole a good experience and proximity to the park couldnt be better. We intend to make return visit in the summer to make more use of park

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear “DFS1703”,

Warwick Reine Astrid's team thanks you for taking time to share your positive experience with Tripadvisor's travelers. It’s always a huge pleasure when our clients let us know how much they appreciated the services of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning the kindness of our staff and the quality of our breakfast. I’m definitely happy than our large suites and also our prime location between the beautiful Parc de la Tête d’Or and the main sightseeing of Lyon met your expectations during your stay
It would be an honor to have you back with us at the Warwick Reine Astrid for a summer city trip in order to take advantage of our terrace , private garden and the Tête d’Or Park !

Thank you again for your nice recommendation.

Best regards,

Jérôme Billy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the end of September my husband treated us to a two night break in a real glitzy city break hotel on our way down to a family wedding in the South of France. It was all that it said on the packet! I was pampered, our rooms were modern and extravagant and the ‘cordon bleu’ food was first class. Being centrally placed my daughter and I did some indulgent shopping in what we discovered was a vibrant and dynamic city. We couldn’t afford to stay at such a wonderful hotel as this very often, but, I do wish we could! Save up the pennies, it is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_Billy, Directeur général at Warwick Reine Astrid, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear “Sonia H”,

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for sharing your positiv remarks with tripadvisor members.

We are definitely happy than our location in front of the fabulous Tete d’Or park and close to the city center met your expectations during your family stop over.
Thank you for mentioning the quality of our restaurant.
It’s true that the city of Lyon is really a very nice place for shopping ( Whether it is within the Part Dieu shopping mall with more than 206 shops or in the pedestrian streets in the city !!)
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future !
Thank you again for your nice comments,

Best regards,

Jérôme Billy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Reine Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Reine Astrid

Address: 24 Boulevard des Belges, 69006 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#12 Business Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#21 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Reine Astrid 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privilege of a suite between park and garden.The Warwick Reine Astrid has a unique location opposite the Parc de la Tête d’Or andits lake, at the heart of the city’sfashionable 6th quarter anda few minutes from the Cité Internationale and Lyon Convention Centre.Open the door of one of the Warwick Reine Astrid’s 88 suites and discover a true four star All Suites Residence and its luxury services. The 35 to 90m² suites have been fittedout with your comfort in mind and all havea living room, dining area and fittedkitchen. Whether you are on a business visit, family holiday or just away for the weekend, the Warwick Reine Astrid is the ideal place for short and long stays. The Warwick Reine Astrid proposes a full range of luxury services to make your stay as pleasant as possible: room service, 24h business centre, Wi-Fi internet connection,fitness centre- with sauna, hammam and exercise machines - and private parking.The Lounge bar-restaurant offers a menu with creative and refined cuisine to seduce your appetite. You will enjoy the spacious calm of the large private garden, an ideal environment to enjoy our Chef’s culinary creations for lunches or dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Warwick Reine Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Reine Astrid Hotel Lyon
La Reine Astrid Hotel
La Reine Astrid Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Reine Astrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.