We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Phenix Hotel to your Saves list
Le Phenix Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 quai de Bondy, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Utrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This a small hotel in an old building in the old city of Lyon. Lyon is a really nice place and the hotel is a great location. Very comfortable rooms, good breakfast, frindly staff, reasonable price, all you need.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the interior are quiet but the front ones are directly on the river, Quai de Bondy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for your great support for our hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

With best regards.

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    120
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
126
15
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our first room smelt of cigarette smoke from a previous occupant and when we mentioned this, the receptionist was very apologetic and immediately offered us another room without us having to ask and we were very impressed with the professional and friendly way they handled the situation. Our room was large and extremely well appointed with a beautiful bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the room was immaculately clean, light and very chic with tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel is easy to find from the motorway and the parking arrangement good value and extremely secure when carrying luggage being a lockable unit, although it is situated a minute's walk from the hotel itself on a quiet backstreet by a church. The hotel building is very interesting and individual and is set on the riverfront in the old town with easy and very safe access to all of Lyon.The breakfast was fantastic and served in a light conservatory- style room. It included a huge and varied selection of foods, all fresh and of good quality with very attentive staff. We thought it good value and very enjoyable. The staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. Loved this hotel and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are very large and luxurious and the deluxe rooms also have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Madam/Sir,

I would like to thank for your great support for our hotel.
Wh hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Have a nice day!

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Le Phenix is in a good location for the centre of Lyon and you provides easy walking access to old Lyon and lots of bars and restaurants,

The hotel is old and consequently the rooms aren't large but feel airy enough and are clean, well-presented and the bathrooms are nice. I had a room with windows out to a courtyard / next building i.e. no view at all but it wasn't a problem for me. Room was very quiet and bed was very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast is traditional european.

Wifi is via voucher vode and works well. Staff who I spoke to were all polite and helpful.

Only stayed for one night on business but would do so again when next in Lyon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your great support for our hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Good luck.

with best regards.

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fjell Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is the most charming hotel I ever have been into. No one's building this kind of hotels today. Everything seems old, because it really is. The floors, walls, everything. And the elevator almost big enough for one person with suitcase, as a bit of newer construction.

I got room 110, a room against a small trafficked street with two not-as-soundproofs windows in between. I know that everybody cant live in the upper floors with views over whole Lyon, it's just not enough rooms in the building for that.

The breakfast was great. I would consider this hotel again next time I'm arriving Lyon.

Room Tip: 1. Remember wifi-ticket at check-in. 2. Upper floors receives less traffic noise than the lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Customer,

we are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. thank you for your praise and your great support for our work and we will keep going on with it.
It's our pleasure to serve you. we look forward to serving you next time when you come to Lyon.

with best regards.

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel and were very pleased with the room. Looked like it had just been redone. The room wasn't large but had everything we needed. It was clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom was very nice with two lavatories and a tub shower combination.
Our view was not good but the price we paid for the room made up for that. Breakfast was very nice and was not badly priced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Happy to answer all our questions and spoke very good English. We had a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello,

I would like to thank you for your great support for our hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

with best regards.

Lulu HUANG
chef de réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Le Phenix rooms need updating such as a new paint or new wallpaper. However having said this, the lighting, windows as well as bathroom had been previously redone. The room was large but not the best in comfort. We were pleasantly surprised to discover how quiet our room was. It faced the main street overlooking the river Saone. It has been retrofitted with dual pane windows. Lulu, one of the front desk personnel, was very professional, helpful and friendly. She did not hesitate to anwer our questions or find the answer if she did not know. I particularly enjoyed the 2nd floor sitting area. It was quiet and a good place to relax and read. The hotel also offered the use of a computer. Breakfast was included and consisted of the typical European fare. We had reserved a parking space; however upon arrival the only car space for use when checking in was occupied by a service truck. The hotel was in a good location but on the side of the river that appeared somewhat dirty. It was within walking distance to the Tourist Office and several "college" type restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: One facing the river Saone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good advice, We hope to welcome you again in Le Phénix Hôtel, in Deluxe Room !

Have a good day !

With best regards.

Lulu HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel was centrally located. You have the old part of town at the back, and the city centre in front. There were so many choices of bouchons to go to for meals, but the hotel also offered buffet breakfast for 13€. The hotel is admittedly old, but it was clean. Our room, facing the river Soane, was huge and equipped with amenities, including free wifi. The only downside was that it can be a bit noisy at night if you left the windows open. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Nicholas & Julian spoke very good English----their hospitality faultless! You can also request for parking at 16€ per day. There's probably no other hotel I'd rather be in Lyon but the Le Phenix Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 was facing the river, but may be noisy if you leave the windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable réception at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Madam/sir,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here.

We hope to welcome you soon,

Best regards.

Lulu.HUANG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#38 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saône, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saône River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Phenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.