We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location, surprised by the rooms size!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Phenix Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Phenix Hotel to your Saves list
Le Phenix Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 quai de Bondy, 69005 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great location, surprised by the rooms size!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent four nights at this hotel travelling alone.
I was in a double room (purely because I love a big bed) and it felt like a small apartment rather than a hotel room! The sitting area was massive and the bathroom was completely renovated - the spa bath was AWESOME after a long day of sightseeing.
The bed as comfortable, clean and housekeeping were attentive and excellent.
Breakfast was delicious, a good continental range and it kept me going all day (two days I didn't even eat lunch!).
I had room service one night and that was delicious, including the half wine bottle!
The reception staff were amazing. I was in Lyon partly to look up family history and they even translated a letter to the archives for me, gave me great directions and when I returned with birth certificates etc, they translated them back to English for me, always with a smile!
I can not fault their service, bed, location, anything.
They even listened patientlywhile I attempted a little French!
I will definitely stay here again when I come back to Lyon.
Thank you Le Phenix, you have made a happy visitor of me :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Chelly,

All the staff thanks you so much for your nice advice, we hope to welcome you again at Le Phénix Hotel.

Best regards.

S.BERNARD - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    127
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
133
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We chose this hotel thanks to the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The location is perfect in the old town near restaurants, bars and a very nice pub! But the room was very small and the hotel was being redecorated (they were ripping up carpet the second day). Admittedly we went in February which is not tourist season. More disappointing: the hot water at the breakfast bar was not hot enough to make a good cup of tea; the "capuccino" sachet (which I resorted to after the cold tea) contained more cocao than coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear customers,

We are really sorry that the works made in the common part of the hotel disturbed you: our workers are nevertheless very discreet, we also try to avoid the sensitive hours. The works touch their end now..
Our customers will keep nevertheless mind that these few days of works shall bring in the future a big comfort for them, and a hotel which gets a facelift always require some small temporary sacrifices during the works.
We let you make an e-mail for the reception by explaining the concern and by leaving your name and the room number where you accommodated: we shall make a commercial price on the next stay.
See you very soon,
Regards. S.BERNARD - Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fitzroy, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were recommended to beautiful Lyon and this hotel by my French friend Manny. It was a fantastic hotel, a good price and right in the Old town of Lyon. We booked online and had a large room with an internal view so it was quiet and comfortable. We had a simple picnic breakfast in our room. Room was nicely appointed, comfortable bed, good bathroom and very helpful reception staff.

Great location for public transport and 'hop on hop off' bus. Walking distance t ail sutes. Highlight was set price lunch above the Hotel at the magnificent cathedral which you can get to by walking up thousands of steps or the wonderful funiculars. A restaurant on the edge overlooking Lyon. A superb meal fot less than 20 euros.. A few mins walk to the funicular.

The UNESCO world heritage sites are a must see.

It was a great hotel for a good price. Check out the hotel websites for best price.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms with view of the river are great but more expensive. We had a cheaper room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phenix5, Responsable commercial at Le Phenix Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice advice, it is a real pleasure for us.

We hope to see you again in our beautiful hotel,

Best regards.

S.BERNARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I know its a bit late but just wanted to share that this was a very nice place to stay.
We reserved one night in early August based on tripadvisor recommendations. And we liked it so much that we reserved for another night later in the month when we were leaving.
It is not cheap but reasonable, and using a single large room for the four of us was very convenient. Very well located. quiet. and a very nice breakfast (included). On the second stay, the elevator was broken was this was not too much of a problem (only one floor up).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here two nights prior to Christmas.

Le Phenix has a great location on the river Saone and is handy to Vieux Lyon as well as the Gallo-Roman sites up the hill.

A tip - if self-driving from the airport try to reach the hotel from the south of Lyon on the west side of the Saone - we (wrongly) relied on a GPS which wanted to take us straight across old Lyon, and given the combination of one-way streets, Saturday traffic and road closures it took us almost 2 hours to reach the hotel from the airport. When you arrive at the hotel just stop dead right outside and put on your hazard lights - it is hopeless trying to find parking nearby. So what if you block the traffic, and it has to drive around you. Go in to the hotel and tell them you have arrived - we had reserved parking.

The reserved parking offered by the hotel is very convenient (costs 15 euros) but the access is VERY tight and it takes some manouevering back and forth to enter and exit the garage - this with a medium-sized car - but well worth it when travelling with lots of luggage.

The room was spacious and well appointed, although the toilet was rather 'tight' - needed to squeeze in past the door. Spa bath worked perfectly.

Breakfast was one of the best we have had in France. We used room service one night and it was reasonably priced and prompt. There is also a wide variety of restaurants nearby.

I am pleased to confirmed there was absolutely no sign of bed bugs, as claimed by a recent TripAdvisor review. The beds were comfortable and room temperature just about right.

The staff were professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night during the Fete des Lumieres. Hotel is conveniently located in Vieux Lyon, along the banks of the river Saone. The hotel was comfortable, I think our room had been recently renovated - bathroom was brand spanking new. Room included tea and coffee making facilities which were welcomed following a day exploring in the cold. Staff spoke good english and were very helpful. Would recommend the hotel for location, cleaniness and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here in December 2012. Phenix is located in Vieux, on the west side of the La Saone. Across the La Saone, Croix Rousse is to the north and Presqu'ile to the south. The staff was very friendly and spoke understandable English. Lyon is a small city that can be explored over a weekend. A location like Phenix makes for the perfect starting point. The only thing we would change is that our room smelled like smoke even though it was a smoke free room. After opening the window for a bit, it was fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Phenix Hotel

Address: 7 quai de Bondy, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#36 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Phenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix Hotel is the only one in Lyon situated on the edges of the Saone, in the heart of the old Lyon, district classified in the world heritage by the Unesco. The Phenix Hotel opens the doors of its ancient house Renaissance on 36 rooms, with air conditioning and individual heating, bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and towel dryer, mini bar, safe, flat-screen TV, Canal + and Canalsat, free access to WIFI, telephone, room service, coffee-tea-cakes in the room, with rooms all renewed, of which 10 deluxe rooms with a privileged view on the Saone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Phenix Lyon
Hotel Le Phenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Phenix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.