We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loges Vieux Lyon

Loges Vieux Lyon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loges Vieux Lyon
Save
You added Loges Vieux Lyon to your Saves list
2 rue de la Loge, 69005 Lyon, France (Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 57 Lyon B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Les Loges Vieux Lyon (Trois Maries apartment) during our 2 week trip to France and we wish we could have stayed longer! Our apartment was exceptional, unlike any place I have stayed before - the perfect mix of historic and and modern. It is a self contained apartment with kitchen, very clean, safe, and right in the heart of the Vieux Lyon. It is actually situated just off one of the areas celebrated "traboules" (small passage ways that date back to Roman times used to transport silk in inclement weather is what I learned). There are restaurants, shops and theatre just steps away and it is also perfectly situated for a hike (or train ride) up the mountain to see the Basilique Notre Dame de Fouviere and the Roman Ruins. We also enjoyed walks along the river right in front of the apartment and a visit to the more modern part of the city is just across a short bridge. The owner Jean Luc warmly greeted us on our arrival and made excellent, genuine recommendations for our stay. Originally, Lyon was just a quick pit stop on our journey to and from perhaps better known parts of France, but now - we would consider a trip back just to visit Lyon (3 days were not enough!) and stay here again - perhaps try out one of their other apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a glorious two nights at Loges Vieux Lyon and had a wonderful time. It is a fully self contained apartment, very modern and comfortable in the heart of the old city. The location cannot be beat and Agnes and Jean Luc were very helpful and friendly.

The kitchen was fully equipped to make a meal and there was also a Nespresso machine that was very welcome! Great walk in closet, excellent shower and water pressure. And a very quite place to have a restful sleep.

Excellent choice for an adventure in Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This cozy apartment is charming, clean, up-to-date yet historic, convenient and perfectly situated. Agnes and Jean-Luc were lovely and helpful. My wife and I enjoyed every second of our stay and felt at home from the first. The closet space is ample, the bath well-appointed, the kitchen small but serviceable. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a longer stay. Look no further. You simply will not find a better value in Vieux Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We spent two nights at La Loge Saint Jean and wished we could have stayed longer. Owner, Agnes was lovely and gave us some very good tips about what to do during our short stay. The apartment was in the best location, only a few steps from an array of restaurants in the old part of Lyon, which was great to explore.

The room was very well appointed, comfortable and modern, and we loved the exposed bricks and beams that reminded us of the history surrounding us. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We booked two nights at La Loge Saint Jean and spent three nights because we really didn't want to leave. It was like having your own apartment right in vieux Lyon one block off the main rue where all the shopping and restaurants are. There are almost no hotels in vieux Lyon and it's where everyone wants to be. The room looks exactly like the website. Awesome ! And super clean. Agnes, the owner, has thought of everything. Even an expensive expresso machine. There is a small kitchenette stocked with dishes and cookware ,but why would you want to cook when you are in Lyon? The best food in France ! Agnes gives you the keys when you arrive and doesn't return until you are ready to leave. The room rate decreases the longer you stay. We were very impressed by how tastefully she had decorated. She does speak English and gave us some great ideas for restaurants and sights in the area.We are very happy that we decided to check out Lyon. What a beautiful city! They say that Paris is the city of lights, but it's really Lyon. It absolutely twinkles at night !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loges Vieux Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loges Vieux Lyon

Address: 2 rue de la Loge, 69005 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loges Vieux Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.