We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in transit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Lyon Brotteaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Lyon Brotteaux to your Saves list
Mercure Lyon Brotteaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112-114, boulevard des Belges, 69006 Lyon, France (Jules Ferry - Récamier)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #60 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One night in transit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Close to major rail station and easy to access by taxi. Not a lot of room around the bed (oh so squeazy) and super soft pillows, but otherwise was a comfortable night. Plenty of eating places nearby, including some very nice pastry stores. Reception staff fantastic, especially Laura, who was our life saver in sorting out hire car problems (best wishes for your upcoming trip to Australia).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    83
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
60
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's very well located, no worries for that. It's clean hotel but small room. Somehow, for a 4 star there should be a concierge and a proper lobby...there is noo bath robe or room slipper and lift is super small. but in same, you get what you paid for. therefore, I can't complain for the price I paid, 110 $ per nyt. So , I would say it's a super 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: get a 4th floor if u wanna avoid the vehicule noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stopped at the Mercure Lyon Brotteaux as a family on our way back from Christmas in the Alps. The hotel was easy to find, with simple access from the motorway around Lyon. The welcome from the charming receptionist, Emilie I think, was particularly friendly and warm. The rooms were perfect - a good size for a French hotel, with a well-designed bathroom and a comfortable sitting/working area. For families, the Accor chain is currently doing an offer with a second room at half price, a big plus for a family of five like us.
The hotel is just a short walk from a metro stop that takes you straight to the centre of Lyon. We took the line to Place Bellecour which was ideal for a visit to le Vieux Lyon.
The beds were VERY comfortable and even though our room overlooked the boulevard the traffic wasn't a problem thanks to the excellent double windows.
Breakfast was good with a fine selection although, as coffee lovers, we were a little disappointed by the weak hotel coffee - but that's nothing new.
There's also an excellent restaurant, La Brasserie des Brotteaux, just opposite the hotel, along with a wide range of restaurants in the surrounding neighbourhood.
This hotel is one that we shall definitely return to on our next trip to Lyon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Fine hotel for what we needed: a place to stay mid-transit to Paris. Parking just across the street, free in the evening so very convenient.
Staff friendly - one spoke English fluently and the other didn't at all. The one who could speak English gave us good dinner recommendations.
Room clean and very modern. The purple/blue lighting is a bit weird (feels like it's to deter junkies but it's just a design choice). Bathroom clean and fine.
Business centre is fine but it takes ages to login, so don't be in a hurry to check your emails or facebook.
A few streets away is a laundromat and convenient store, handy if you need to do some washing and pick up a few things.
Didn't stop to see any sights in Lyon, so not sure about proximity to attractions, but I assume lots of people use this as a transit hotel and it's perfect for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and good breakfast. It slso has free Wifi, but only for the first 4 hours that they can do much better. The hotel is in a quit and nice area, 20 minutes walk to the old centre which was oke for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August, 2012. It is a very nice hotel, very clean. I was lucky to get one of the executive suites and it was awesome. Nice big bathtub and a separate shower. Mini fridge with complimentary drinks and a coffee/tea maker in the room. I also loved that the windows opened out onto the street so I could people watch. Bed was very comfy also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They all speak English pretty well and went above and beyond to help me with everything I needed. It is in a very nice location too, very close to the metro and buses. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Brotteaux, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Customer,

We deeply thank you for your comment and are delighted that you had an excellent stay in our establishment.

I shall not miss to transmit your message to my Team !
In the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel!

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is walking distance from Part Dieu - the major train station in Lyon where most of the out of town trains come in. It also has a Velo bicycle rental location right outside. The rooms are small as expected in Europe. The bathroom was clean and functional. There is free wifi which times out after 3 hours of use but you can reset it by logging in again.
There is decent breakfast (express and full) at reasonable price. The staff members are very polite, helpful and speak good English.
The negative is that it is a bit far from the old Lyon where all the sights and restaurants are but the bike rental or public transport are excellent so not really much of a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back have windows that look right into neighbors' apartments. So try front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tombast, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Brotteaux, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you for having taken time to send us your message.

It is always with the real pleasure that my Team, and I, let us discover very positive comments. They encourage us to maintain our efforts to satisfy always better our customers.
Still one thank you, and in the pleasure to welcome you again in our establishment.

Cordially.

Paule DANIEL - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Lyon Brotteaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Brotteaux

Address: 112-114, boulevard des Belges, 69006 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Jules Ferry - Récamier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Brotteaux 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CONSTRUIT EN 1911 DANS UN STYLE ART NOUVEAU AU COEUR DU QUARTIER BROTTEAUX, HOTEL DE 57 CHAMBRES ENTIEREMENT RENOVE. PROXIMITE DE LA GARE TGV PART-DIEU, DE LA CITE INTERNATIONALE ET DU PARC DE LA TETE D'OR. POINT DE DEPART IDEAL POUR UN SEJOUR D'AGREMENT OU D'AFFAIRES DANS LA CAPITALE DES GAULES. BUILT IN 1911 IN A TYPICALLY ART NOUVEAU STYLE, THE HOTEL STANDS OPPOSITE THE FORMER LES BROTTEAUX RAILWAY STATION WHICH IS A LISTED HISTORIC MONUMENT. IT IS NEXT TO THE PART-DIEU TGV TRAIN STATION AND THE CITE INTERNATIONALE, AND JUST 5 MINUTES FROM THE PARC DE LA TETE D'OR. ITS CENTRAL LOCATION MAKES IT AN IDEAL BASE FOR A HOLIDAY OR A BUSINESS TRIP TO LYON, THE CAPITAL OF THE GAULS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Lyon Brotteaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lyon
Lyon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Lyon Brotteaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.