We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made on premises and lots of français.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Fines Gueules

Les Fines Gueules
16 Rue Lainerie | Vieux Lyon quartier St Paul, 69005 Lyon, France (Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine)
+33 (0)4 78 28 99 14
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Les Fines Gueules is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 2,258 Restaurants in Lyon
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Vieux Lyon - Quarantaine
Description: Cuisine Lyonnaise et traditionnelle / Cuisine Maison produits frais / Poissons frais d'arrivage quotidien / selection de Vin au verre de proprietaire / Salle privatisable de 40 places / Ici on epluche on mijote on desosse, on cuisine....
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Made on premises and lots of français.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I ate here twice. Both times there many francais, (something i look for.) All the food is made on premises. My meals were delicious; I spied each meal as it was served. The chef really knows what he is doing. The desserts are superb. At 15€ for entrée, dinner and dessert, it's a real value.
PS if you are not experienced with French menus, be careful in Lyon. The Lyonais have an acquired taste for body parts (brains, feet, intestines, etc.) If you don't know what something is, don't be afraid to ask. I have found the waiters to be universally friendly in explaining dish preparation. Also, if you have a smart phone, I highly recommend, Menus(e) France (Robillard). Just type in a word on a menu and you get a quick translation/ preparation explanation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    55
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chic... Tasty... Excellent service... Highly recommended place... A real BOUCHON in Lyon... If you want to have a nice tasty Decent dinner this is your address and the area is charming in the heart of the Vieux Lyon...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Les Fines Gueules is authentic & has a nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This restaurant is a lovely surprise in old town of Lyon, especially since most ”Bouchons” on the same street are horrible tourist traps.
Les Fines Gueules is authentic & has a nice atmosphere!
The staff/owners are professional & very sweet, the plates are traditional but they succeed to make them "lighter" than in most bouchons.
I had the escargots (snails) to start with, a beautiful Pluma Ibérique with a tasty, healthy salad (I could also have chosen the artichoke purée which also was delicious) as main course & we shared a wonderful Praline tart! All was amazingly good & at very affordable prices. (3 courses menu from 23 € pp)
Also the wines proposed were well chosen & at good value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Finally, a great French Bistrot in the Old Lyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Here's a good address among all the tourist traps in the Old Lyon. Excellent products, home-cooking, inventive at a moderate price. We've been there twice already and will certainly be back again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic, welcoming, and perfectly executed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Whilst on vacation in France we stopped by Lyon for a meal when we were on the road. We had been recommended this place by friends and I must say that it blew all of the expectations we had.

The waiter was friendly and greeted us just like if we were old friends!
The setting is simple and cozy nothing too extravagant.
We had some poached eggs with a scrumptious red wine sauce and the oxtail terrine... One of a kind!

The starters were followed by a fish souffle that tasted heavenly and my wife had a gratin of small ravioli which was very indulgent.

The deserts were very good and not over-sugary which tends to be the case in France.

This place definitely ranks in our top 3 favourite restaurants in France.
If you're in Lyon, be sure not to miss it out!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Fines Gueules also viewed

 

Been to Les Fines Gueules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Fines Gueules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.