We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and calm, love that Executive lounge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Lyon

Save Saved
You added Hilton Lyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Lyon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Quai Charles de Gaulle, 69463 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €93
Ranked #34 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Ferney-Voltaire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice and calm, love that Executive lounge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We upgraded our room to an executive room so this review wouldn't apply for a basic stay. Normally, we stay at another hotel in Lyon near the Place Bellecour, but this visit we were attending a salon in the Cité Internationale and decided to try something new. We chose the Hilton since it is in the same complex. We loved it! Not only was the salon an easy walk away, there were several restaurants in the area, a movie theater right next door, the Musée d'Art Contemporain, the Blue Elephant restaurant and a casino. With the Tete D'or park on one side and the Rhone on the other the location was beautiful as well.

Access to the executive lounge was worth the extra we paid. Drinks and snacks were available all day long. We had breakfast there in the morning and an aperitif there at night, while watching the Rhone drift by below.

The room was large and quiet, the bed great, we both slept well. There was even an iron and ironing board in the closet, never seen that in Europe before.

There's a trolley right outside, between the hotel and the park, that can easily take you to the center of Lyon. If your guide is old, it might not show this. Ours didn't.

We'll definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive room category if you can, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on this website.

It is a real pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel as well as our Executive Lounge and The Blue Elephant Restaurant.

Your constructive remarks are very important for us in order to improve constantly and to provide a high quality of service to our guests.

I truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    281
    105
    40
    12
See reviews for
80
267
30
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed for three nights in November 2012. With my Diamond Honors membership I was allocated a very nice room on the 5th floor with access to the Exec Lounge. The hotel is part of a newish complex including a cinema, restaurants, an exhibition hall, casino and museum. With attractive river views on one side, it is situated alongside a beautiful park through which the city can be reached on foot in around 30 minutes. Alternatively there is a frequent reliable bus service adjacent to the hotel. The property is very clean and modern in style and staff were mostly friendly.

My disappointments came first with the unstaffed Exec Lounge which, although a recently renovated and good-looking space, offered rather unimaginative and restricted food offerings which were oftentimes plagued with swarms of small flies that gathered in the lounge. This lack of basic food hygiene was very offputting.

My second problem came when my UK/France electrical adaptor broke and I asked the hotel if they had one I could borrow or buy so I could continue to use my PC to complete some urgent work. The receptionist searched half-heartedly in a couple of drawers but couldn't help, and she then passed the problem on to the concierge who called housekeeping but they couldn't help either. So I was told by the Concierge to travel in to Lyon, find the Fnac electrical store, and buy my own. I find this lack of service incredible for a supposedly business-friendly hotel in this location that charges what it charges. The lack of help with this basic business essential really astonished me and at this point any goodwill I had towards the hotel was lost for good as my work stress levels rocketed. Perhaps the hotel will now decide to invest the small sum required to buy and maintain a supply of adaptors so it can properly serve its future guests? Let's hope so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you again for your comments throughout your stay with us and for your participation on Trip Advisor. We did not meet your expectations for which I reiterate my most sincere apologies.

We trust however, that actions taken following our last correspondence have demonstrate our deep regrets and that these do fully satisfy you.

I look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely yours,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a business trip. It is ok, the rooms are nice and it is across from a large, beautiful park. But 22 euro for a SLOW internet connection is outrageous. It is also about a 30 - 40 minute walk from the city center / old city so it is not that convenient if you want to sight - see. Also, we had trouble getting a taxi twice - be warned that you should set up taxis ahead of time.

Room Tip: away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel and we would like to apologize for any possible inconveniences. We always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that we failed to meet your expectation. We will immediately place your room out of order for a full maintenance review.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Best Regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with very spacious and comfortable rooms. Breakfasts were very nice and offered a good selection. We did have some significant issues with this place though... Internet was very slow in the rooms and cost an extra 22Euros per day!! I am of the opinion that Internet should be a basic inclusion at hotels these days. 22Euros for slow wifi that you are only able to use on ONE device is obscene! On top of that, we asked if we could print our boarding passes for our flight and were told that we would need to pay to access the lounge in order to use the printing facilities! Ridiculous! Even the cheapest of hotels offer a desktop and printer. Car parking was also a very expensive extra. Also if you are here as a tourist, this hotel is a long way from the main part of town, the old city and the decent restaurant district. Stay somewhere closer to the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Lyon.

It was a pleasure to see that your general impression of your visit was positive.

Your points regarding internet have been noted and appropriate action will be taken. Thank you for having brought these to our attention.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's a decent hotel, but I would probably check out other places if I were to ever return to Lyon.

The good: Nice, clean spacious hotel and room. There are a few nice restaurants close by and there are busses that take you to the old town and new. The service was good and staff were helpful. It's next to the gorgeous park - absolutely lovely. Good value for a 5 star hotel.

The not so good: As per my usual disclaimer: if you have to pay for internet wifi, that's immediately one point down. It's a bit out of the way, and the bus rides (whilst they come frequently) take a while. Breakfast was really average. Room service is expensive. We had a leaky shower that meant that the floor got wet. The phone also didn't work (!) when I tried to make a local call.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the friendly and professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to them.

In reference to our prices, we are sorry for the dissatisfaction you felt. Your points have been taken into serious consideration.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Lyon for your stay.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

the hotel is located in a unique setting in the large conference and business centre not far from Part -Dieu railway station.
The reception staff are multi lingual and extremely helpful. The rooms are bright and airy with lots of space and and an efficient work area.
Beds are wide and comfortable and the bathroom is large and well equipped.
Breakfast or dinner in the Brasserie are to be eagerly anticipated with excellent food and wine at acceptable prices. As with the reception staff the waiters/ waitresses are multi lingual and eager to offer advice on local food and wine for the first time traveller to Lyon..
One small complaint is the size of the lobby bar. Large conferences overwhelm not only the bar staff but also the bar area, Service is slow but courteous. The rather dated seats in the bar do not make efficient use of the limited space available.
Access to downtown Lyon is very easy with bus stop outside the rear of the hotel.
Lyon is well served with an very effective bus/ tram and metro system which makes access to all touristic and business destinations easy.
Thoroughly recommended! .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location between the park and the Rhone! I have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Kind regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The classical business hotel in the vicinity of the center of Lyon. The situation, next to a big park, is quiet, which contrasts with the modern lines of the building. Rooms are relatively spacious and with the average facilities. I've enjoyed the breakfast in the brasserie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Hilton Lyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit. I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our location between the park and the Rhone! I have read with great interest your comments, and they are valuable to us to improve a quality that we want still increasing.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Hilton Lyon.

Kind regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lyon

Address: 70 Quai Charles de Gaulle, 69463 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#20 Family Hotel in Lyon
#24 Business Hotel in Lyon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Lyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 8-story Hotel, an integral part of Cite Internationale, located in the city center overlooking the Rhone River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lyon Hotel Lyon
Hilton International Lyon
Lyon Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Lyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.