We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux to your Saves list
Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   246 rue Marcel Merieux, 69007 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I attended a conference at ENS in early May, and this hotel is close to the campus. The room is small and clean. There are some stores and restaurants nearby. It is about 200 meters from the last stop of the metro. I would not remember this hotel well in the long run, since it is not particularly good or bad. It is average. I do have to add that the online reservation and cancellation worked fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    100
    54
    14
    4
See reviews for
15
85
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here when in Lyon for business. Not a tourist hotel. Was convenient to our meeting place. Rooms were clean and breakfast was fine. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. This is a good choice if you need to be in the area. It is not for those who are touring 'old town' or taking a vacation in Lyon as it is not located near such attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground level floor have windows that will open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location is perfect for someone who visits Gerland Stadium for footbal match or who has business task around here, and not so good for pure tourists, but I don't imagine that pure turists think of chosing here although it is easily accecible with Metro from the center of Lyon(Direct from the main train station). As all other classic IBIS, the room is what you expect from ibis, it is functional, clean, well equiped with hair dryer and a reliable free wifi. It seems to be renovated so it looks cleaner and fresher than my past visit. The staffs are not excessively friendly but efficient and do their job correctely. The hotel is perfect working order and quiet. Around hotel there are many restaurants so you are not isolated. I feel safe with Ibis beacause there is no bad surprise. The price of weekday is high for my standard, but With week-end rate, it is also good value for money .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Simple and comfortable hotel, although would not recommend it if you are holidaying in Lyon as it's not in the centre or in the nicest part of Lyon but Bellcour is only a short metro ride away and there are some great restaurants in the area.

Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were extremely polite and helpful and always said 'hello'.

The room was generally clean although the floors were a bit dirty and the bed linen wasn't changed in 5 nights we were there but I know Ibis are trying to cut down on energy costs so this could be why. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room which would have made the room more comfortable since we were staying for a few days but I know they are not common in French hotels.

A little expensive for what you actually get but overall good if you're staying for business and need to be in that district.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very poor Ibis, mainly due to indifferent managers. Offered a dinner in my room - after picking from the menu and ordering I received a call 20 mins later saying... there was nothing left except for one item. That item was a cheap microwave meal and I was charged 14 euros for it. My friend arrived late, asked for a coffee and was told to go to a restaurant as they couldn´t be bothered to switch back on the coffee machine. They attend the phones before real people in the reception area. When I paid my bill I hinted at my disatisfaction but they told me just to fill in the online IBIS site. So I did. Expensive and poor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Sir,

Thank you for writing about your feelings concerning your stay.

Here is some information we would like to point out.

First of all, there is no restaurant in our hotel. That’s why, if you ask for something to eat at the bar, you will have something very simple. This service is available 24h/24, and must be considered as an additional service for people who don’t want to go out for dinner. If you were searching for a restaurant, there are a lot of them, just in front of our hotel.

This day, there were a lot of people in the lobby who wanted to eat in the hotel (maybe because of the big rain ??) and it was quite difficult for the receptionists.

We are sorry about your disappointment, but you have to know that every day we are working for you to spend a nice stay in Lyon.

Anyway, thank you for stay in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Simple, clean, comfortable room. Not a "five star" fancy hotel, but who needs this overhead and cost? Everyone spoke English and was very polite and helpful. I have no complaints whatsoever - would stay there again if visiting ENS-Lyon (this is the closest hotel to ENS-Lyon... about 200 meters from the front door). Walking distance to the subway... three hops (or so) to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux

Address: 246 rue Marcel Merieux, 69007 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux hotel is in the heart of the Gerland business precinct, 5 km from the Exhibition Centre, 50 m from Stade Gerland metro station, 200 m from the football stadium and the Sports Centre. Just 3 km from the Perrache SNCF railway station and close to restaurants, the hotel offers 72 airconditioned rooms of which 4 are specially adapted for guests with limited mobility. A 24 hour snack bar, secure outdoor parking, a meeting room and WiFi Internet access are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.