We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, clean basic Ibis hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles to your Saves list
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   78 rue de Bonnel, 69003 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice, clean basic Ibis hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ibis hotels is always a quite safe choice if you're on a budget. This one was clean, quite newly refurbished with a nice bed. Don't expect personality and style - expect a clean, comfortable and basic chain hotel. In a way, Ibis reminds me a bit about McDonalds. Service was good and friendly. Location is mainly good for the train station. It was practical for my group. However, if you're there to discover wonderful Lyon, it may not be the ideal location. However, it is within walking distance from the more idyllic parts of the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    428
    195
    51
    18
See reviews for
78
321
138
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 2 nights in early November 2013. The bed was big and super comfortable. It's filled with basic items like all-in-one body/hair shampoo, hair dryer, desk, hangers and TV (but only French & Italian channels). I liked that the bathroom has a heater which you can switch on each time you need to use. The staff were polite and spoke reasonably good English. We had lunch there - no presentation for food, taste was ok and servings were huge.

Wi-Fi was good and stable. You need to pay a bit more if you want to stream videos otherwise it's free.

Location wise, it's 15-20minutes walk from Part-Dieu Station but the walk really was a nightmare when you have luggage. We had to walk along the expressway which was dirty and quite dangerous. There are 2 small super markets nearby. Lyon historical centre is half hour walk or you can take a bus C6. It was quiet around the hotel, maybe because we were there during All Saints Day holiday period.

Overall we would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a no-frills, clean and safe hotel. We paid around 100 euros for 2 nights. It's modern with elevators which you might appreciate over the quaint old hotels with no elevators when you have heavy luggage! We did!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel for the price paid, but nothing to jump for joy about either. Location is reasonably close to Part-Dieu station and the very good shopping mall there, although the mall actually makes the station inconvenient if you walk as it blocks the pedestrian way when closed. There are also tram stops within walking distance, although I must say that the streets around the hotel were very desolate at night, especially with all the construction work around. Rooms are small and have basic furnishings, but everything was in fine condition. The bathroom could use some repairs (baseboard had come off, exposing inner wall) and was cramped but clean. Noise from the neighboring room was annoying, especially the very loud doors slamming at night. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall, this hotel is fine for 1-2 nights if you are on a budget, but it is functional more than comfortable and there is not much going on in the neighborhood other than the mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, Brazil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This Ibis hotel is clean and safe with a very friendly professional team as well as it has a good location in the Lyon city, but it should be classified as a Ibis Budget one due to the tiny size of their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nouic, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ibis in Part Dieu Lyon, is a modern clean hotel with a very very comfortable bed. Easy lifts, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, one computer, wifi access in all the rooms. It is possible to walk into city centre in approx 15 to 20 mins or if you don't want to walk there are trolley buses and metro not too far away. The room was very quiet during the night with no traffic noise at all thanks to double glazing. The only complaint is that the doors slam because they are all self closing so if you are hoping to lie in you might be woken by the sound of doors slamming. The room was very warm (last week of October). I couldn't find any way of cooling the room, opening the window to cool it would have made it too noisy from road traffic. At the time of staying, there was some building work going on outside which did not cause any problem but will be amazing when it is all finished (paving and fountains etc). All in all a good price and worth a stay because it is a good value hotel. The bathroom is compact but adequate, soap, good lighting, hairdryer, heater, etc. I only gave 3 stars for sleep quality because I was too hot but the bed itself is extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for a convention in Lyon. The hotel was packed to the brim with participants for the European Conference. Ibis Part Dieu Halle is located some 500 to 800 meters from the Part Dieu train station. The shorter way to this hotel from the station is through the Part Dieu Shopping. Centre.
The rooms were tiny and it us really difficult to accommodate 2 luggage with 2 persons in a room. It has a heater for heating the room but it does not a fan for cooling the room. Thus, I have to sleep barely naked due to the high temperature in the room. Of course, I did not switch on the heater. Its October end and the weather outside is not that cold, so the room is hot.
Upon checking in and on the 1 st night, I found 2 uninvited guest in my room. Either there were. Resident of the room or they came in through the open window. They were blood suckers.
I got a photo of one of them to share. Yes, mosquitoes.
I asked a friend of mine from Italy who stayed in another room, he too told me of his experience with the un invited guest in his room.
The price I paid for an Ibis hotel was a premium price and yet, they do not have proper room air conditioning system. If it is a budget hotel, then it is ok, however, it did not claim itself to be a budget hotel.
Luckily ( for me only ) , I did bot go for the full package with breakfast. I wanted to try their breakfast before committing. Once try twice shy. Why... Not my taste. What is a breakfast with any eggs. Not was offered and not will be given when asked, in which I did.
Probably eggs are difficult to find in Lyon due to the demand for it in the Steak Tartar.
The staff were really friendly though and the best part was they could speak English.
I remember walking out of 3 restaurants before I found one with English speaking staff.
I spent 3 night having my dinner in this restaurant. And they shook my hand when I walked in on my 3 rd visit.

I am not from England but from South East Asia.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Air conditioning.a least you could set the temperature to 20 or 21 deg. For a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in this lovely modern hotel convenient to the Part Dieu Railway Station. Food and service were excellent. No air conditioning, fridge or tea and coffee in room but the budget price reflects this. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles

Address: 78 rue de Bonnel, 69003 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles hotel is in the center of Lyon, opposite the Halles Paul Bocuse and a stone's throw from Lyon Part-Dieu (shopping center) and the auditorium. A 10 minute walk from the train station and 35 minutes from the airport on the Rhonexpress, the hotel is ideal for business, urban or cultural stays (Bellecour, Hotel de Ville and Old Lyons are 15 minutes away on the metro-tram). 216 Renovated rooms, round-the-clock reception, bar and ibis kitchen restaurant. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.