We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Hotel With A Sofa Bed As The 2nd Bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lyon Gerland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lyon Gerland to your Saves list
Novotel Lyon Gerland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #50 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Another Hotel With A Sofa Bed As The 2nd Bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Despite being quite a well appointed hotel with pleasant staff, nice lobby and breakfast room for this category of hotel, a let down was with the 2nd bed in the room being a sofa bed that I really didn't learn to fancy much. To me, this make-shift bed, is too soft to give me a good night sleep. Again, for 1 night stay, is okay for many I guess, but definitely not to my liking.

Besides, it is not centrally located without any convenience shops or restaurants in sight, it is not easy to gain access to the Vieux Lyon or the Old Town Lyon in case some who would like to spend a little more time in that part of the town on your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    223
    74
    18
    7
See reviews for
180
84
32
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel's worst feature is its location with no local amenities. I walked quite far in one direction and failed to find any restaurant or even as much as a bakery. As other guests have commented the decor is ratherdated. Nonetheless it was clean and the reception staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming (yes even in France - this is not Paris). I did not much enjoy the restaurant lunch (overcooked fish and mushy vegetables) but the breakfast buffet was quite OK. Wi-Fi is provided free of charge and works OK once you are logged on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel is suitable for business being centrally located to Lyon's downtown business district. Accommodations are adequate though the facility definitely needs an update. The desk staff is multi-lingual and accommodating. In-room entertainment does not have much to offer the international traveler, though the internet connection was good. However, good dining choices are not located within convenient walking distance and the part of town where the hotel is located seems somewhat post-industrial. This hotel is adequate for a business trip but is definitely overpriced for the amenities offered. I would recommend another location for leisure stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Staying in room 406

We have complained repeatedly that the guests above us are making far too much noise. Having been travelling and awake since 4am this morning I expect a quiet hotel after 10pm

Staff are not trying hard enough

I can hear kids screaming people running around upstairs.

Stay away

Rooms are basic

Bar is understaffed

Dogs are welcome

Parking us reasonable

No good if you require sleep

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis J, Directeur général at Novotel Lyon Gerland, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client,
Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires, que je vais partager avec mon équipe.
je suis désolé que des bruits d'enfants vous ai derangé apres 10h00 du matin.
Comme je le constate sur votre profil de notation vous etes un cliente tres exgigeant plus de 30% de commentaire mauvais lors de vos visites d'établissements.
Tres cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a Trafalgar tour. Unfortunately, a member of our group had her purse stolen in the breakfast room. A man acting as a tourist unable to speak the language distracted while another person came and took her purse. This, or course, was very traumatizing for her! It is important to watch out for your belongings no matter where you go, but we had this very unfortunate experience at this hotel. Other than that, the hotel was nice and clean. There was free wifi and the water pressure in the shower was good. The breakfast options were good. It was a bit of a walk to use their metro to get to the city center. I would probably choose a hotel closer to the tourist sites in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Responsable réception at Novotel Lyon Gerland, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Than you for your comments.

We wish to add that you travel with a tour operator, in this case the guide is automatically informed and reminds to his group that you should not leave at sight and unattended personal objects in a public place as our restaurant, our hall...
Furthermore, on every table in the breakfast room, we added an information.

Since the 19th february 2014, you could find at 1 minut walking distance a tramway stations with a direct access in Perrache area, next city center.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is located a bit out of the way for the tourist sites we visited. Good thing we were on a tour and had a bus to chauffeur us around. Clean and good breakfast. My friend was never able to connect to wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

On the plus side, the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. For me, the location is also very convenient as I have a client across the road.

I had a junior suite which was decorated in a sort of faux 70s style. The cream, pebbledash walls are, though, everywhere. The suite was quite noisy -- it sounded as if a football game was going on above me for much of the evening. The furniture was worn and the room was not very clean -- I found several hairs in the bathroom and the carpet would have benefitted from a thorough clean. However, I considered myself lucky: my colleague found faeces (presumably from the previous guest) in his toilet.

The gym room is about standard for Lyon but that is not good. Three cardio machines and a multigym is really not good enough.

The Internet just does not work. The staff said that the problems were a result of offering free internet and every guest now logging on but don't bother paying for the "fast option". That doesn't work either. How is it possible for a business hotel in France's second city to have worse connectivity than most hotels in Central Africa?

The espresso machine in the room was nice. The restaurant was fine and the free drink because of my Accor Silver card was very welcome but when I'm travelling for work, email matters more.

Room Tip: There might be some renovated ones -- I think I remember my last stay being better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline C, Responsable commercial at Novotel Lyon Gerland, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We took note of your comments.
For the WiFi, know that everything is back to normal again, the connection works perfectly well.
Looking forward to your next visit
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland

Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#24 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lyon Gerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.