We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent good quality business hotel with friendly service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lyon Gerland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lyon Gerland to your Saves list
Novotel Lyon Gerland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Haarlem, Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Decent good quality business hotel with friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here on business in December 2013.
The location is quite uneventful but the service is good and friendly. A hotel bar is open until midnight.
Breakfast offering is good and plentiful, room is clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    245
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
195
91
32
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Novotel Gerland for 6 nights to attend business meetings. The staff is helpful and accomodating, the rooms nice, and the food good. As others have noted, it is located in a business district and it's a hike to Old Town. The Metro stop isn't that far away, I think some people simply are not used to walking much.

It's a good place for business meetings. Nice meeting rooms and very good refreshments. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as part of a seminar. Hotel is definitely OK for business travellers but location and overall spirit of the hotel would not suit tourists or those wanting to capture the Lyon's touch. A little bit out of town and no eating places anywhere near the hotel. Food from restaurant and room service were truly bad. Room very clean and typical Novotel design.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to the south of France. The check in was smooth, a gift for the kids, and good instruction to close by places to eat. We had a clean room, all the comfort for a 1 night stay. The neighborhood of the hotel is a bit "business like". Not a lot to see or eat, but we found a very good Italian place, and that was all we needed. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening, which was ok, but we preferred the quality of food at the Italian place for lunch.

We booked the hotel to have a pool after a long car ride, and while the pool is small, and the area very crowded on the day we were there, we were still able to enjoy playing in the pool and relaxing in the sun after the drive.

We booked the secure garage, which was convenient to not unload the car. I would recommend this for overnight travellers.

Breakfast was in buffet style, and had a lot of options. Some items (like the pancakes) were indeed not warm, but given the variety of food we had no complaints and were happily surprised by the breakfast. There also was a clown going around making balloon animals for the kids, which they also enjoyed.

Looking back, we probably should have looked for a further stop, as we continued our journey on a Saturday and still got stuck in traffic, but given the quality of the hotel we didn't complain as we felt we had gotten an extra day of vacation out of it at the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a good hotel, mostly clean rooms. I got the slightly better than basic room, which was worth it, as my friend's basic room was tiny. Kind of a hike to the nearest metro stop, and the metro or a taxi is needed to get to the center of town. There isn't much pretty stuff in the area. The breakfast is quite good, with decent coffee. For dinner, the restaurant left a bit to be desired. There was no refrigerator in the room, but there was a safe large enough for a laptop. No bathtub in my room, just a shower, with a rather large step out that is not accessible. Staff were friendly and helpful in setting up transport to train station.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we enjoyed our stay there, pool was very small, but nice. we had a good breakfast and had a lotof time to check out. would like to go again if we go to lyon. nice city had more to see than we thought.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland

Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lyon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lyon Gerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.