We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great night's sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Lyon Gerland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Lyon Gerland to your Saves list
Novotel Lyon Gerland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Breaks up to 40% off
Ranked #51 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    224
    75
    18
    7
See reviews for
180
85
32
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris, france
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to Aix. Clean, well located, easy to find. Novotel is doing a great job catering to families- rooms that can sleep 4 (rare in France), treats for the kids, goodie bag upon checkout.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice, comfortable and quite rooms with efficient noise isolation. Rooms are equipped with efficient and silent air-conditionning.
Staff is very professional and helpful.
Restaurant is a good place for dining (many options with a perfect price/quality ratio)
Same thing for breakfast (15€).
The only negative point is that there is not a lot to do around the hotel (such as bars or restaurants).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I got there by mistake - I booked a room in a Novotel Confluence nearby and my mighty navigation got me to this hotel. As they had free rooms and they were even cheaper than the ones I booked, I stayed.
Hotel is nicely located, not quite in the city center but good communication nearby, with a nice view over the green area. Rooms are not too big but clean. Standard Novotel decoration - not fancy but comfortable. Nice bar and pool, good breakfast. Price wise very reasonable although in fact the parking is too expensive. I had a special offer (due to the weekend) = 16 EUR, normally it is 24,50 EUR per 24h (8EUR day rate and 16,50 night rate). Breakfast costs 15 EUR. Free wifi, which is appreciable. Overall nice hotel with nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here on business for 2 nights during the week whilst attending a meeting at the ecole superior which was a easy 5 minute walk away. Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to see any of the city. The taxi to get here from the airport Saint Exupery took about 20 mins and was rather expensive, about 69 euros but it was after 11 in the evening. The hotel had a nice feel, modern and clean in all areas. The breakfast 15 euros, a self service buffet, was pretty comprehensive and tasty offering hot bacon, eggs etc and cold meats and cheeses. There was also a good selection patisseries, tea and coffee. The only minor annoying thing was the too designer plates that were impractical to fit anything on without it sliding off whilst putting it on your knife and fork. I had dinner here one night, food was reasonable and really enjoyed my coffee outside by the very peaceful pool /patio area. I spent most of the evening here working on my laptop as it beat sitting in the room. If I could change one thing it was the pillows they were so soft and offered no support and I had a really stiff neck the morning after, something I never normally get. I was disappointed that a 140 euro a night hotel didn't offer any other pillows. Overall a very pleasant hotel, shame about the pillows.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool would be nicer as on the other side it's a bit of a cement square facing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fyn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

stayed at the Novotel Lyon Gerland several times - and no, negative, surprices.
Basic rooms, but you have what you need for a short business stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Modern Novotel, clean rooms. We stayed one night and it was a good choice. Quiet, clean, easy to find. A small pool is available but only when it is really hot outside.
A few things could be improved. A too modern shower can be confusing for a few minutes. A free Wifi connection would have been nice also.
Breakfast was very good with fresh orange juice, large choice of breads, fruits, ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland

Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#24 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Lyon Gerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.