We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lyon Bellecour to your Saves list
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #23 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“always impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

every time that I stay here I am impressed. Rooms excellent with huge shower and great beds. Staff well trained and very professional. Food superb and a great cosy bar on the 8th floor with magnificent views over the river and the city. Superb.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    391
    130
    39
    23
See reviews for
109
537
84
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This Sofitel facility is well located in downtown Lyon. Most sights are in short walking distances.
However the building is rather old and needs an urgent outside refurbishment.
Despite being refurbished (probably a few years ago) the room we had was OK but nothing to write home about.
Staff is OK but not outstanding.
We very much appreciated the bar open from 17:00 on the top floor. The view is wonderful.
This is a good hotel but certainly not a "luxury" or a true 5 star place as Sofitel would like to be seen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful location in Lyon, well within walking distance of much. Our post-Christmas 3-day stay was lovely, with stellar holiday decorations. I booked a room with a view of the river for an anniversary celebration that was terrific, even if it rained a fair amount. Been to Lyon before, and stayed at a competing hotel, but would definitely return here. Breakfast on the 8th floor is not to be missed! A little costly, but totally wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed during new years eve and had two different rooms - one was refurbished and one was more than 30 years old. Our friends had the new one, we the old one with bath-tube and dropping water. Check-in was ok but our receptionist did not recognise, different names and she was a little bit helpless with our booking over opodo. Check-out was not better. For the hole staff: friedliness would be helpful to satisfy guests needs in a so called 5-star hotel. Both rooms had the booked riverside but aircondition did not cool down and with open window you could not sleep because of the six-lane-road along the Rhone.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms are on lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Another stay in this hotel and everything was perfect.
Staffs are very nice and professional.
The hotel rooms are not big but have everything you need.
Breakfast is one of the best have seen.
Position of this hotel is perfect, right in the centre and has car park facility.

Room Tip: If you don't want spend on river view go to the top bar, fabulous at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way from Belgium to the Provence an we would only stay for one night. We stayed 4 because we loved it so much. the hotel is near all the best streets to shop and dine. thanks to this hotel we became to love Lyon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

You get what you expect - a large Sofitel in a post-war building, so don't expect charme or character, but we were happy with our room (river view, well isolated against the constant traffic along the Rhône) and truly enjoyed the breakfast which is being served on the top floor with windows opening up over the river and the old town; the buffet is well stocked with standards as well as local specialities (cheese, cold cuts etc). Service was attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#10 Business Hotel in Lyon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.