We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the lap of luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Lyon Bellecour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL: UP TO 40%OFF
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Lyon
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite the lap of luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is nice and the location is great. The room si a decent size but the decor is not so luxurious or cutting edge. The bathroom is designed as a wet room but the shower is elevated and the water runs out onto the floor where there is no drain. The reception area has a nice look but it does not match the bedrooms. The service comes with attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    347
    117
    36
    21
See reviews for
95
473
74
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Sofitel is very comfortable and serves great breakfast on the 8th floor with great views over the city. rooms have full air conditioning that works and is quiet. There is a free in-room mini-bar and free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nevertheless Sofitel Bellecour had received a award last year, I had felt that something was missing. Specially related with the cleansing and conservation of the rooms. Points go to the concierge service.

Apesar do Sofitel Bellecour ter recebido um prêmio ano passado, senti que algo não estava bem. Especialmente quanto à limpesa e conservação dos quartos. Ponto para o serviço de concierge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Top service level from the politeness of reception staff to the cleanliness of the room. Very well located with all services of top quality, including the restaurants. Besides try the sauna and massage experience..! I have not tried the room service, I have not been to the in-house shopping facilities, I have not used the concierge services.
I do highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just on the bank of the Rhone river near Bellacour place, good location. Staff was nice to clients. Room was old and too small, smaller than usual Sofitel.
No ventilation in the corridor made the air outsider the room stale. No minibar, Believe it or not! But bed was comfy and linen was clean. The maid was generous and prompt to our request. Transfer from the airport was overpriced not as informed in the website: 15 euro for one-way ticket Rhone express not included 1.5 euro for metro, bus or tram for only 1 hour after going out Rhone express. So buy one-day pass (1 jour billet) for 5 euro from the machine at the metro station (in front of Gare Par Dieu) to go further to your hotel and use it to go anywhere you want more and don't bother buying Lyon card cause there are few museums to visit. The river cruise was too long (2 hours) and the pier was far away from Vieux Lyon. Don't buy the advertisement in any websites at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile


Pros: Very helpful staff, good sized room with a pleasant river view (visible only when standing), nice bathroom, linen, gowns etc.; a short walk to some nice restaurants/bars (we found a great French cheese/wine bar just around the corner with a friendly, English speaking waiter - see TA); about 15 min walk to old town which is full of restaurants, cafes, little shops, apartments etc; free water & soft drinks in fridge; window can be opened for fresh air; free wi-fi but dropped out a bit sometimes.

Cons: No coffee/tea making in room like our hotel in Montmartre, Paris & all hotels in Australia; we wanted fresh air during night (room got hot & stuffy even with heater off) but opening window involved raising the automatic blind letting in lots of light...not a big problem as we had an early start; didn't appear to have air con so might be hot in summer??

We enjoyed our time in Lyon. We wanted a small, inexpensive breakfast and the concierge was happy to point us in the right direction - a little place across from McD's. The hotel apparently has a lovely breakfast in the restaurant with a great view but it was so grey during our visit that we gave it a miss. Maybe next time we're in Lyon. Thanks to all the staff!



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I knew when I booked, that this hotel is in the midst of renovating its rooms. Alas, we were given an unrenovated room on the 7th floor, right under the bar, on the river. Whilst we were upgraded to a Junior Suite, the layout and furnishings were VERY tired and took the glow off our first weekend away from our infant children. I did not see a renovated room, but I can only assume they must be an improvement on the old ones, old as they are.
That being said, the bed as very comfortable, and the Hermes toiletries a nice touch.
Room service menus were ok, nothing outstanding. We ate out 2 nights, and in-house only once after a long day of shopping and a big lunch at Bocuse.
The location is excellent, close to the centre and loads of restaurants.
The gym and spa are small but pleasant, and the small bar on top floor was very pleasant.
The staff were efficient and friendly, in all departments of the hotel.
But...I have no idea why the hotel has a machine in the lobby pumping out a fragrance that has the aroma of a cheap mens body spray....you know the one?! It's absolutely horrible and had a holding our breath as we made our way in or out of the hotel. Most strange...

Room Tip: Ask for renovated, but a free upgrade on check-in may give you a bigger room, with chipped old furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#7 Business Hotel in Lyon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.