We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Lyon Bellecour to your Saves list
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Lyon
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is truly excellent, all the way down to the smallest detail. The hotel has a beautiful contemporary lobby and very pleasantly designed rooms. In the room, a variety of small details make your stay all the more pleasant, including the bathrobes, loafers and Hermes toiletries.
The hotel is located in the center of Lyon on the shores of the Rhone River. this is certainly a hotel I would come back to.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view to the Rhone River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    378
    125
    38
    22
See reviews for
108
519
81
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second stay at the Sofitel - we'd had a wonderful experience in February, and hoped for the same again.

We stayed one night on November 3, and booked a river view room as a gift for another couple. No complaints about the rooms - one of the few hotels in Europe I've stayed in where I've had a good night's sleep, and quiet.

The bed was very clean and comfortable, the pillows plush. The shower area looked slightly grimier than I remembered, but still in far better shape than others.

The concierge was efficient with our restaurant bookings.

As an Accor member though, my husband was slightly annoyed by how disorganised they were this round – we suspected many of those on duty were trainees.

We'd expected to be in their system but were asked twice by different staff – once when we were told the room wasn’t ready, and another after - whether we'd stayed there before.

Both the porter and the valet didn’t appear to know what to do when we arrived. The porter didn’t give my husband a ticket for our bags, and it was the same with the valet for the car – my husband also had to tell him how to fill the stub so that our car wouldn't end up being given away to someone else. They’re not major issues, but irritating enough when compounded.

The worst part of our stay though, was really our experience with their one Michelin-starred restaurant, which if considered in this review would drag the rating all the way down. As it is, I’ve kept it separate. Because it was late when we finally left the restaurant and we didn't want our guests to feel any worse, we'd signed the bill quickly and asked for a breakdown from the hotel when we checked out. This too, was not available.

Overall, the Sofitel is still a decent hotel, and within walking distance to the old town. But for a five star, they're slipping in service. And you really would find better dining outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The three of us (including baby) stayed in the Lyon Sofitel beginning of November 2012. The hotel is very well located on the Presque Ile, very close to the main plaza and the shopping area. Some rooms have views over the river.

The room was large, the bed very comfortable, lightning adequate, the bathroom good, with a walk-in closet. A nice baby's bed was brought in. Sodas in the mini-bar are free. No boiler for tea or espresso machine - too bad. Our room (fourth floor) was quiet, even though you have an street with heavy trafic right in front.

We would have liked to see a more modern decoration in the room. I believe some rooms/floors have been renovated, but it was not the case of our room on the 4th floor, where some pieces of furniture were a bit worn out.

Staff was very nice, with excellent recommendations from the concierge as to where to eat (e.g., Daniel & Denise and Brasserie de la Cour des Loges, both in the old town). We also ate very well at the hotel's brasserie, with rapid and efficient service.

We didn't try the spa.

Altogether, a good hotel, almost ideally located, but with room's decoration slightly disappointing.

The city deserves at least a two-day stay.

Room Tip: Ask if some floors/rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMILLE V, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. I am very pleased to receive your feedback, your appraisal is very rewarding for us ! It will be shared over all our Sofitel ambassadors !

We took in consideration your remarks regarding the decorationand really appreciate your sharing your experience with us.
It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue to serve you in the near future at Sofitel Lyon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in Sofitel Bellecour during a recent two night stay in Lyon. Hotel is centrally located near most of the city sights and amenities. Hotel well appointed. Bedrooms very nice, quiet, with a complementary 'dry' minibar. Would have liked a kettle in room but otherwise no complaints. The Restaurant and Bar are on eight floor with panoramic views. Staff very professional. Can can very little to fault with this hotel. Would definitely recommend to others wanting good quality accommodation in central Lyon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMILLE V, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. I am very pleased to receive your feedback, your appraisal is very rewarding for us ! It will be shared over all our Sofitel ambassadors !

We were very much delighted to have you with us for in Lyon. We hope that it has given you good memories and to make you want to come back to see us !

We appreciate your sharing your experience with us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue to serve you in the near future at Sofitel Lyon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been staying a few days a week during the last cople of months at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecourt. Nice renovated rooms (very quiet), good food (great breakfast). I have been especially impressed by the staff: nice and service orientated which is not always the norm in France. They try to give me the same room every time I come.
I warmly recommend this hotel, to me the best in Lyon

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMILLE V, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. I am very pleased to receive your feedback, your appraisal is very rewarding for us ! It will be shared over all our Sofitel ambassadors !

We appreciate your sharing your experience with us, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to continue to serve you in the near future at Sofitel Lyon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOIRON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When making my reservation to spend one night in this 5 star luxury hotel, I was definitely sure that my stay would be memorable, the typical place you want to stay to celebrate a 25th anniversary of your mariage...Unfortunately, one night in this 5 star luxury hotel, turned out to be worse than most of the nights I have spend in 3 or 4 star hotels.
The room even though well positionned with a nice view on the Rhône, was very small, with almost no space to walk around the very littly tiny bed 1.40m. Television reception quality was worse than it was 25 years ago but frankly for the 6 channels the hotel offered for "free" this was not a very big issue.
Bad and restroom not separated. When sitting on the toilet, my knees touched the bath tube. Very comfortable. The bathroom in itself was not very clean and the tile joints were old and dirty.
When talking with the receptionist about this, I got the following reply : "We are sorry but this is because the rooms are old and not renovated yet, this will start next year but we can offer you a cup of coffee...."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMILLE V, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Protima Daryanani,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. And as you were told (on a worong way) we are actually working on a renovation plan.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#9 Business Hotel in Lyon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#16 Family Hotel in Lyon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Venere, Splendia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.