We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy Holiday Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Lyon Bellecour to your Saves list
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
western australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Doggy Holiday Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice comfortable hotel near river and Ballecour Square. The staff were really excellent, concierge desk staff a credit. I was surprised by the number of clipped and leashed dogs in the hotel staying as guests, I guess they use the bathroom facilities as well! Was hoping to see a dog fight in the lobby but missed out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    391
    129
    39
    23
See reviews for
109
536
84
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

i've been in the hotel in 15 june 2012 i enjoyed the hotel , great experience and excelent service , i've been in room 503 for one night only and it was wonderfull night with a great river view and room service . i advice you to have breakfast at the 8th floor looking over te river .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Upon arrival we went to our standard room. This could not be called a room. More a shoe box. After complaining and agreeing to pay more, we were given a bigger shoe box. On a floor where the carpets were smelly and the interior felt years and years out of date.
Overall this is a Novotel with Sofitel in desperate need of TLC. Tender Loving Care.
I did complain and received a nice message back: "Apologies and hope you will give us a try next time".
This is not a 5 star hotel by any means. The only plus point is the location.
No I won't go back.

Room Tip: check out room before you go there with all your luggage!!!!! If you want to sleep with open windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently, and have to admit the hotel is not as great as we expected given all the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. The one thing we cannot fault in the least is the staff - who were all incredibly pleasant, friendly, and helpful.

The free wifi in-room was unreliable, turning off and on frequently. Although it was free, I feel like a certain standard of functionality should be maintained. If the internet cannot reliably be offered for free, they should consider only offering paid options.

We thought the parking at 24 euros/day was excessive though it may very well be competitively priced for the area.

As for the hotel itself, it certainly has a very 70s style to it (though you can tell it's been renovated to look that way). The perfumed lobby was pretty strong - the staff must go home with headaches every day after a day of full immersion in it.

The drinks in the mini bar (water, juice, coke) were free - a nice touch.

We had an issue with housekeeping one day where the staff entered our room only to refill the mini bar and did not make the bed/clean the garbage can/refresh the towels. We had been out of the room from 8:30am-3:30pm, so it's not as if the staff did not have an opportunity to clean. We did call the front desk, who sent a maid up to clean the room properly.

There also seemed to be some form of miscommunication with the room service staff who mistakenly knocked on our door and attempted to enter 2/3 nights between 9:45 and 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent hotel in a great location. Within walking distance of all the main attractions and the metro was an easy few minutes walk away.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite (Room No. 203 on the 2nd floor) with river view which was excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable and we had the most beautiful complimentary chocolates waiting for us in the room.

Nevertheless, if you looked more closely you could see that some of the furnishings and fittings were quite worn and ragged such as the carpet, blinds, etc. and the sofa was actually a sofa bed and the cushions would keep sliding off the sofa the longer you sat in them. Also, although there was a coffee machine there were no tea making facilities.

Otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay and the staff were great. We would definitely go back again the next time we are in Lyon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of an after package with Tauck tours. We were very pleased with the hotel. The location was perfect for us - by the river and close to the square, shops and restaurants.

The hotel is upscale and modern and has a strong business clientele. Rooms are on the larger side and the bathrooms are very spacious. You may want to try and get a room with a view. We had a partial view of the river which was nice.

The concierge staff was wonderful, especially Sebastien. He secured a reservation for us at a Paul Bocuse restaurant that was fully booked, and most importantly he untangled some airline reservation issues that were complicated. He took away all of our stress and we got a good night's sleep before our early morning departure.

I actually rate this hotel a 4.5. Quite nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20, quai Gailleton, 69002 Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#10 Business Hotel in Lyon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.