We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Artistes to your Saves list
Hotel des Artistes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue Gaspard-Andre, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 191 Hotels in Lyon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service and wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of old Lyon, just off the river Saone, surrounded by stylish shops, bars and restaurants. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had asked prior to our visit for the concierge to make a reservation at a local bouchon for us, however, it was full and the helpful lady on reception offered to make an alternative reservation for us - the meal was fantastic and we were so grateful for the suggestion from the hotel. The hotel lobby is very stylish and well presented. The rooms are modern and extremely clean. The bathrooms were a comfortable size and the shower was very good. We did feel the room was a bit on the small side (although we weren't in it much), when visiting again I would book a larger room. However, this did not dampen my view of the hotel as I was aware of this before booking and compared with the good value offered we could not complain. We opted out of breakfast at the hotel, choosing instead to walk about the city for coffee and a croissant after reading reviews that it was perhaps over priced. The only negative point I have is that the room was a little hot, and we couldn't work the air conditioning, therefore had to sleep with the windows open, but I'm sure if you asked reception they would be extremely helpful as they were with every other request we had. Overall it was a wonderful trip at an extremely good hotel, offering fantastic service and a brilliant location - I would most definitely stay here again and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room if you are worried about space, standard is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    119
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
97
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The room was clean and neat. Location is excellent and on a less busy street. Really nice between the shopping square and the river. We enjoyed being able to walk so easily to many parts of the city and it was an easy walk to the metro. The service was excellent; particularly the front desk girl our first night (August 20th). We asked for help with making a restaurant reservation at a place I had found, they were closed for holiday, so she choose a new restaurant and booked us a reservation. It was a great dinner and such a relief to have the reservation so easily on our first night after the long plane ride. She was a such a help and really made a great impression..we could not have had a better welcome. Would book this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Located in the nice side of Lyon's peninsula, the hotel has a nice presentation, all details are well done and it can compete with many 5 stars hotel, even if it isn't one. The service was great and I would like to especially mention one of the employee at the counter desk who gave us an outstanding service, going the extra mile to help us. She was slim with slightly long hair, in her 20's-30's.
The rooms were a bit small but very clean, nice bed. The bathroom were really modern. For its price I would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Set in the heart of old Lyon this delightful hotel is a gem! It is quiet with excellent,friendly staff, super clean and with the most comfortable beds I've slept in for a long time! My only reservations are the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, breakfast is not included and on the expensive side and there is no hotel bar - although it is perfectly easy to find what you want in the myriad of great cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The area is steeped in history, great architecture, parks, fountains and chic shopping! A perfect base from which to explore this wonderful city.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We walked everywhere. We enjoyed the open air market near the river less than a block from the hotel. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Our small rooms were clean and well air conditioned. We enjoyed several nearby cafes for breakfast. I'd certainly book this again if I returned to Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

hotel des artistes is a small 3 star hotel, situated near the theatre des celestins in the heart of the better shopping area of the presqu'il in Lyon. Although very centrlly located, the hotel itself is very quiet. Public underground parking just in front of the hotel. Shops, restaurants, le vieux Lyon, theatres, musea,.. all in walking distance.
we had a small but very clean room with a nice bathroom. air conditioning also OK
recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really nice, tastefully decorated, relaxing city hotel, with reasonably priced underground parking within 50 metres. Comfortable, quiet, aircon rooms. Facing almost next to the river and Cathedral and the important tourist sites. so you forget your car and enjoy wandering around old town Lyon. Staff very helpful and charming. A great one/two night break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: 8 rue Gaspard-Andre, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Lyon
#34 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.