We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellant front desk, and large room !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globe et Cecil

Save Saved
You added Globe et Cecil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Globe et Cecil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 rue Gasparin, 69002 Lyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 156 hotels in Lyon
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, excellant front desk, and large room !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was one of the high points to our 5 week France vacation. The hotel was centrally located, rooms exceptionally large and updated, with a friendly front desk !! We really enjoyed the corner room, good breeze and view. Bed was one of the most confortable of our trip. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, the evening breeze is great and you will be above the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
38
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just happened to checking TA reviews for the Globe and Cecil for a friend, and decided to write this note to agree 100% with Murry 08's review. Although we stayed at the Globe et Cecil April 2010, unfortunately, I omitted to write a review at that time! We were also booked in by a business associate, we had a lovely front corner room on a higher floor and found that everyone at the hotel was delightful. We enjoyed breakfast every morning. Madame who looked after the breakfast room was charming. The Globe et Cecil is in a great location for exploring the historic centre of Lyon. Lyon is a safe city for a woman to explore on her own, and safe enough to carry a purse. Speaking French, I thought Lyon and the hotel were lovely places to visit for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband daughter and I recently stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. We used our Rick Steve's book. Had no reservations and walked in last Sunday. We were warmly greeted and checked in to a lovely double room with our college age daughter across the hall in a small room with bed and shower. We loved it here. Everyone very friendly and would return in a heartbeat. Front desk knead knows city and can recommend restaurants and other information. Highlyy recommend

Room Tip: We were at front of hotel. I liked that.elevator very fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was a real disappointment. Our welcome was an extended speach about how expensive the public parking was. It should have been a beautiful hotel but the maintenance was poor and the staff was not welcoming. I was locked in the bathroom our first day when the door handle fell off. After a fuss the desk changed our room without an apology. We knew we had a new room because we found the key on our bed. Our new room had a towel rack that fell off.

We were never made to feel welcome. We noted a very stern looking managerial type woman who ignored us and everyone appeared scared of her. This could explain the staff's less than warm approach. The location was great and the price was very fair. If they only had better customer service and maintence, it would be a great operation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were booked into this hotel via my husband's company. I popped onto Trip Advisor and read all the reviews, so had a great deal of trepidation about it. We couldn't have been more pleased. The location is fabulous with easy access to historical parts of town; in between both rivers; shopping district. Our room was on the 3rd floor, front corner and I can see where it would have been noisy had the weather been warm enough to open the windows. As it was, it was quite quiet. The bed, linens and pillows could not have been better. The decor was great. And the staff? Absolutely welcoming--from those who spoke very good english, to the one who spoke very little. They were friendly, warm, and welcoming. The breakfast was limited, but still fresh and good. Perhaps someone in management there has been reading these reviews and made changes?
I know that when we are in Lyon again, we would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask them for the room you want: Quiet, with a desk, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My empolyer uses this hotel for visitors to their plant outside Lyon. More than adequate altough not outstanding.Room quality is fine. Breakfast is very basic with juice and breads. I would investigate other options in similar price range for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011 via mobile

Nice room decoration
Excellent location
Helpful staff
Internet access is bit complicated with a daily changing access right
Room too light (only transparent curtain)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Globe et Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe et Cecil

Also Known As:
Globe Et Cecil Hotel
Globe Et Cecil Lyon
Globe Et Cecil Hotel Lyon
Address: 21 rue Gasparin, 69002 Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Globe et Cecil 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Globe et Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globe et Cecil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.